1996 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.4 from North America


Hope it does well


ABS system.

Traction system.

Brakes wear out fast.

Air conditioner.

Ignition problems.

General Comments:

I have no choice but to keep this car. Was taken off the road due to many problems, but is in the process of being readied for another round.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th January, 2010

1996 Pontiac Grand Am SE 4 cylinder from North America




I have had this car for about 3 years now. I put on it 30,000 miles.

This car is terrible.

I have had the AC fixed 3 times.

Check engine lights always come on.

Motor mounter had to be changed.

Always leaking engine coolant, and a lot more that I can't remember.

General Comments:

They wonder why US car manufacturers are doing bad? Because next time I am buying Japanese like my friends.

When they start making real good cars, I will buy American. For now Toyota and Honda are my choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2009

1996 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1 V6 from North America




Heater core.

Front brakes and rotors.

Rear brakes.

Rear brake line.

Rear wheel cylinder.

Exhaust from cat back.

Floor floods in the winter.

Windows are off the track.

Check engine light comes on and off.

Seat belt and airbag light stay on.

Paint is starting to chip pretty bad.

General Comments:

I bought my Grand Am for 1,000 2 years ago. I've had to put some money in it, but besides that it has been a great car.

The V6 has tons of power and I never have any problem passing.

The driver seat is the most comfortable seat of any car I've ever owned.

The paint is chipping around the wheel wells, but when I wash the car it still shines.

The automatic headlights are a great thing to have.

I would love to find a set of factory mag rims.

The one big concern that I have is the way the floor floods in the winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2009

30th May 2009, 11:00

All these problems and your car is great, why? Don't get me wrong, it's nice to see a customer who accepts that their car is going to break at times and still love the car, but man!!! That things a money pit!!

2nd Jun 2009, 23:16

I do all the work myself, and all the problems have been minor, and I couldn't ask for more with a car over 130,000 miles.

1996 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 twin cam from North America


Just needs to be made better in certain areas


My windows are all messed up. They're off but roll up. The biggest thing I think made it that way was my ex-whatever you want to call her. You fill that in. She rolled them down and they froze to the seal. Just had to smoke that cig.

Doors leak water through the trunk too. So I have a swimming pool every time it rains.

My headlights dim when I brake, which is always weird.

Lower control arm bushings have been busted since I bought it, just recently found it when I got new tires" Guess that's why you're shaken at 60 miles an hour duh.." It's not just the brakes all the time. That area is good.. Nor the tie rods. Yep! replaced them.. Bushing!!!

Engine wise mine is absolutely perfect.. No leak anywhere, trust me, I've looked. It has over 200.000 miles on it. I took a fiber optic scope and looked inside it, and it looked to only have 60.000 miles on it..

Trans, is just as strong as it was when I bought it.

To sum it up, her ticker is good, and she just needs a face lift and a tuck and roll here and there..

Guys, you can rant and rave about your cars, but they are like women, they have to be kept up. Just like your house. And really guys, you would go out if ya baby was looking all jacked up.. I'll fix mine up a bit and show her off.

General Comments:

You gotta keep them up or they'll fall apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2009

22nd Sep 2011, 22:30

I have a 1996, bought used. She is running about 300k on the engine, and still going strong.

I also have problems with the floor flooding and key releasing problems.

At this point I believe there is a problem with the front driver's side axle; it makes a clapping noise.

It has been a great car, and a lot of miles have been put on it. I did have to change the heater core on it about a year ago, and with the front axle problem I believe it's time to put her to rest. Very comfortable car to drive, and always handled awesome. I wish I bought it brand new instead of used. The 96 model lasted me a long time, over 5 years. Found it to be a great car for the small price I paid, and the small amount of money it took to keep it up and running.

23rd Sep 2011, 16:37

As a former Grand Am owner, I am not at all surprised that you were pleased with yours and got great service from it. Mine was absolutely flawless. These cars are the absolute best value on the used car market. They are rugged, reliable and will run forever if properly cared for. The 2.4 engine is especially reliable and trouble-free. Mine never required anything beyond brake pads, tires and batteries.