1996 Pontiac Grand Am SE Chevrolet 3.1L V6 from North America


Great Powerful Sports Sedan


Intake manifold gasket blew at 115000 miles.

Interior lights are a nightmare - they come on and stay on after the door is opened and closed.

The display panel on the stereo head unit is non-functional.

The front struts had to be replaced.

The transmission is very sloppy as it shifts between gears.

(Mind you, the previous owner did not take care of the vehicle at all. If she had, it might be in better shape.)

General Comments:

The interior is very cozy and comfortable. The seats are nice and soft without completely deflating as soon as you sit down.

The interior is also very quiet and peaceful.

All of the accessories work perfectly.

The odometer numbers had small silver strips between them, indicating it had been tampered with before we bought it and found out the silver lines in a GM car meant tampering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2005

1996 Pontiac Grand Am SE Twin Cam from North America


(1) Buy it used, (2) buy an extended warranty, and (3) don't let your daughter drive it alone.


Water pump replaced under warranty at 37,000 miles.

Motor mount replaced at 45,000 miles.

Mass airflow sensor replaced at 60,000 miles.

Fuel pump replaced at about 80,000 miles.

Ignition module rebuilt at about 90,000 miles.

Radio light not operational.

General Comments:


Cheap to purchase, particularly when purchased used.

Good power.

Good fuel economy.

Theft resistant (no one wants to steal it).

Decent handling.

Repairs have been comparatively inexpensive (except the fuel pump).

Decent looking (at least, compared to its sibling Achieva and Skylark).

Interior is well designed.


Cheap engine peripheral parts.

The car has pooped out without any warning whatsoever twice (and stranding me).

Non-existent resale value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th April, 2005

15th Apr 2005, 09:20

So what does this review have to do with a daughter driving alone?

20th Apr 2005, 13:50

I was referring to the fact that the car has a habit of breaking down without warning ... a habit that has stranded me on two occasions.

A car with that kind of habit is not a car I'd want my daughter driving around ... at least not any distance from home.

26th Sep 2005, 14:59

I am the daughter that drives it alone for an extended distance, and it has died without warning on me twice as well. I agree, good little car, but my fuel pump was really expensive, and it eats alternators.

10th Mar 2006, 20:29

I am looking at a 1996 Pontiac Grandam SE with 200,000 miles, they are asking $2950. Canadian funds. Is there any life left in this vehicle? Car looks good, but I'm leery about mileage and price. thanks.

11th Mar 2006, 14:05

A 10-year-old Grand Am with 200,000 miles I think would be due for some problems. I would be thinking more in the range of $1,000-$1,500 US for a car like this. Less if it has rust, cracked lenses, and is otherwise beat up. My friend bought an '88 Grand Am for about $300 (yes, hundred), with shot wheel bearings so the wheels wobbled, and intermittent running problems. Well worth it for $500 to drive to work and back, though.

1996 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.1 V6 from North America


It looks sophisticated, but it will beat any rice rocket it comes by


I realized that of all of the people that had wrote a review on this car, there were none from the "lead foot" point of view ;)

To be honest I drive my car hard. lots of acceleration, a few burnouts, and some hand-brake turns haven't done anything to notice.

Only things since I have bought it was.

It needed some transmission fluid.

The upholstery is starting to separate from the doors.

Front brakes replaced by previous owner (inevitable)

And it is too damn sexy.

General Comments:

This car rocks, it is fast, handles well, and can still fit all your friends.

The thing that I don't like about it is that the car's governor kicks on at 106-108 miles per hour. I know it has a lot more balls after even that mark.

Looks as fast as it drives, but not so fast that a cop will take a second glance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

16th Sep 2005, 23:50


I have a 1996 Pontiac GrandAm GT also, and my car does not slow down at 106-108 miles an hour. I don't think my car was built with a govenor, because this car has been in my family since day 1 and they have never gotten it taken out. But I have been told that the GrandAm's made earlier then May of 1996 were built with a govenor, and my car was built in June, 1996. Maybe that's it then... because I have consulted the Pontiac dealer about this situation also.