1997 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 41 of 41

1997 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

Driving Excitement Pontiac - Yeah Right

Faults:

Before the warranty ran out the alternator along with the driver's side window motor and switch needed replaced.

After the warranty: both motors needed replaced, the alternator again and the battery.

The water pump went at 25,000 miles and the very expensive heater hose between the heater core and the block. I have had to replace the heater core (that was manufactured with the plastic lines) once.

The carpet and the seats are worn out now at 78,000 miles.

At 62,000 miles the connecting rod broke at the base of the piston and shoved the rod through the block and broke the starter in half. I called the Pontiac/GM hot line to see if there was anything they could do for me or any recalls on the rods for the 97 year. They said not on the 97's but on the 99's. They refused any help since I did not buy the extended warranty over 60,000 miles. Now before I can sell or off load this car I have to replace both motors again and the window extending arms because they bent when the motors fell off the frame.

The cost of this car has not been worth the monies in repair of the replacement of a motor and window parts. The design stinks. Every time I spend $100. For a part for this Grand Am I laugh at the lyric GM came up with: Driving Excitement Pontiac...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

3rd Oct 2001, 07:20

I agree with this comment. I have a 97 Grand Am and hate it. The brakes are awful, my seats are getting worn, and mine makes a thumping noise nobody has been able to figure out.

1st Nov 2001, 17:42

I also have a 97 Grand Am with only 47,000 miles on it, replaced the front brakes and rotors, and the same needs to be done with the back sometime soon.

My driver's side window is also stuck in the half up position. I have been told it could cost a hundred just trying to diagnose what could be wrong.

Paint is also chipping off the edge of the door. Not too happy about the car!

1997 Pontiac Grand Am GT from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Not worth the money

Faults:

Windows are junk, have replaced the motors in both 2 times each, days after the warranty expired.

Alternator, battery - all went out. New brake pads, all this and the car is rarely driven!

General Comments:

Never know when something else will go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th March, 2001

23rd Jun 2001, 10:15

Yeah, I bought my 97 Pontiac Grand Am right off the showroom floor. I have had no problems with it and I plan on holding on to it until I get through Med school. I will probably buy another Pontiac.

Darren.

10th Jul 2001, 14:43

I bought my '97 Grand Am GT used with 42,000 miles on it, I have had a few minor problems, but all have been fixed, it is a nice car, but for a younger person like myself, who loves cars, and likes to spend a lot of time and money to have something to show for, it is hard because there are no after market products for this particular make and model. over all it is a very good car runs quick, and looks sleek.

1997 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 L4 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4 L4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Better than I expected

Faults:

Front and rear brakes were replaced twice.

Alternator.

Water pump.

O2 sensor.

Fuel rail seal.

Steering knuckles.

Brake rotors twice.

Power door lock actuator.

Battery.

Various outside lights.

Driver's sun visor.

General Comments:

Overall a decent car with a comfortable ride and plenty of power for most situations.

One of the smoothest automatic transmissions I've ever driven.

After 62K all the accessories and standard equipment are still working fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2000

29th Oct 2001, 00:36

What exactly did you expect? This car will basically continue to nickel and dime you to death until you get rid of it.

26th Nov 2001, 19:38

I hope everyone is making OFFICIAL complaints about the electrical system, alternator etc... maybe it will quit nickel and diming us when we get a recall... I for one am sick of getting new parts every 3 months!

1997 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carDodge Rampage

Summary:

Runs and looks as good as the day I bought it

Faults:

AC condenser replaced, brake pads, catalytic converter replaced, coolant line leak, starter, all fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

Nice quiet smooth ride, comfortable seats with good lower back support. Dependable. No rattles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2000

1997 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4L 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4-cylinder
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10

Faults:

Needed transmission replacement AND a water pump at 56,500 miles! Front brake pads rarely lasted more than 18,000 miles! Such repairs are hard to imagine on a car that's driven primarily on the highway (45-50 minute commute).

General Comments:

Good stereo! Nice handling. Traction control a definite plus. Unimpressive gas mileage with the 2.4L 4-cyl. Should have opted for the V6. Dealer service is horrible. If I could do it all over, I'd buy a Saturn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th October, 1999

18th Dec 2000, 15:43

You were wise to choose the 2.4 engine instead of the 3.4 6 cylinder. The six has piston problems. The 4 cylinder runs forever with only minor problems such as water pumps.

14th Feb 2001, 14:05

As well as the six having injector problems, and for that matter because of better transmission gearing, the 2.4 twin cam powered Grand Am is actually quicker. The V6 also has horrible gas mileage (I averaged 18 mpg in mine). All in all, I have no idea why GM kept the V6 as an option in this year as it was a horrible engine.

6th Mar 2005, 16:26

My 4 cylinder car runs pretty good. Bought it used with 84,000 miles. Now has 91,000 or so. The only problem is a clunking noise with the release of the brake. Get pretty good gas mileage- 20 something on the interstate! I love this car and would buy a newer one in a heartbeat.

1997 Pontiac Grand Am SE 6 cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 6 cyl
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Brake pads.

General Comments:

Good overall value. Need to improve seat comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 134 reviews