1999 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 11 of 78

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Distance when acquired68000 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

I am happy with the performance of my car, though it requires servicing more and more often

Faults:

Volume knob may go up or down.

Drivers power window works only sometimes.

Plastic intake housing cracked, leaking coolant.

Fan only works on 3, 4, and 5.

Ignition wearing out.

General Comments:

I agree that all of these service issues seem relatively normal. I can't understand a guy complaining that he only got 175,000 miles out of what started out as a low end vehicle. I'd say that's pretty good. I have had many of these problems, which are a nuisance, but a nuisance to be expected with any low end car with 100,000 plus miles. Fortunately, I make most of my own repairs, so it isn't as expensive for me. I had to change pads and rotors, but it only cost like 100 bucks for the parts. My passenger side was getting water and I found that the side mirror assembly was cracked and water was getting in there, 35 bucks and ten minutes... all better. Don't get me wrong, I wish I had a better car, but I don't... I have a 99 Grand Am SE with 125,000 miles, so I anticipate service issues, as should anyone buying any car for a couple grand that has over 100,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th August, 2008

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Would buy again, too bad their stopping production soon

Faults:

Head gasket went when under warranty of previous owner - fixed by GM, no problems since.

Replaced battery when I got it - 1st battery change (expected repair)

Front driver side bearing wore out at 120,000.

Replaced serpentine belt at 80,000 and at 130000 - 1st was expected repair from previous owner, 2nd time the GoodYear belt had a flaw and broke. Replaced with GM belt.

Replaced spark plugs and wires at 110,000 - expected repair.

Radio display went out about 6 months ago - radio still functions good except for that.

Damage to interior from sun - parked out side for 9 years so its expected.

Struts are starting to show signs of wear - expected at this mileage.

Brakes replaced at 75,000 mile for first time by 1st owner and were upgraded to better brakes at the time.

General Comments:

Car handles great. Very reliable and gets mid-upper 20s for fuel economy. Comfortable and roomy for a mid-sized/small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2008

23rd Jul 2008, 17:57

Yes, the Grand Am went away 3 years ago, and I regret it. My current 2001 Grand Am SE-1 is the best car I've ever owned, and still looks and runs as good as new.

After driving the dog-ugly, slow G-6, (the V-6 was slower than my Quad 4) I decided to drive my GA another 200,000 miles and then try to find another good used one. I love the sporty styling and body side cladding, which sets the car apart from the boring, mundane compact sedans everyone else has.

When Pontiac cheapened the GA in 2003 by dropping the cladding, it became basically a cheap fleet car. Only the sporty GT lasted until 2005.

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A great car, but much too problematic

Faults:

Drivers side window motor broken.

Volume goes up when turned down.

O2 sensor malfunctioned.

When I come to a stop sign/light and then press the accelerator, the car stalls.

The CD player will not play. After I put a CD in, it kicks back out with a "E20" message.

The 1st and 2nd level of AC/Heat does not work.

General Comments:

My Grand Am is great on the road. I have driven it for 11 hours straight with no problems. It just seems to be problematic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd June, 2008

22nd Jul 2008, 22:28

I just got a Grand Am, and I came to a stop sign/light, and my car just shut off on me.

1999 Pontiac Grand Am from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

Pontiac Grand Ams have bad windows

Faults:

OK, so I've only had my car now for a couple of years now. I drive a 99 Pontiac Grand Am.

The problem that I have with it is all three windows, except my drivers side window, have fallen into the door.

I got the car from my Mom during my junior year in high school. When it was hers, the drivers and passenger windows fell in. She then got them repaired. Some months after that, the back windows both fell in.

During my senior year in high school, the passenger window fell in again. Ever since then, my windows have just been on and off.

My drivers window hasn't fallen yet again, but tends not to open every once in a while.

I've heard that Grand Ams have always had problems with their windows. If I had the money I would go out and buy another car. Seems as if the repairs cost more than the car itself costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd June, 2008

2nd Jun 2008, 22:43

First of all, YES, the window clips on Grand Ams ARE weak. HOWEVER, as a mechanic and owner of a totally flawless 2001 Grand Am SE-1, I can assure you the clips WON'T break if your passengers DON'T SLAM THE DOORS. I make it very clear to anyone riding in my car that they ARE NOT TO SLAM THE DOORS. In almost 8 years NONE of my window clips has EVER broken. In fact, in 8 years and 70,000+ miles, all I have EVER had to do on this car was replace the battery once, and replace the brake pads at 70,000 miles on the front (the rear linings are still original).

These are some of the finest cars GM has ever built. They are fast, sporty, have a great ride, and with tires upgraded to high-traction, low profile tires they handle like a sports car.

I also own a 2007 4.0 Mustang, and this Grand Am actually is more fun to drive. I traded an '89 Mustang 5.0 V-8 in on the Grand Am, and was shocked at how much better the Grand Am drove and how LITTLE I gave up in the performance department.

Make your rowdy friends stop slamming your doors, and enjoy one of the best sporty compacts ever made.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 264 reviews