1999 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 5 of 78

1999 Pontiac Grand Am GT from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

I LOVE this car

Faults:

It needed a new manifold head gasket right after I purchased it, but the dealer covered the costs of that.

Ever since that repair, I have not had to have anything fixed at all on my Grand Am.

General Comments:

This car has been amazing for my needs. I commute to work and school daily, putting on over 100 miles per day and it has held up great. The only money I ever put into it is gas and oil changes. I have not needed to do any other repairs on it, and I have had it for almost three years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2009

1999 Pontiac Grand Am 3.4 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 miles
Most recent distance257000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

The car is great

Faults:

A/C 1-2 don't work.

Just replaced brake lines and had to replace the alternator.

Driver's side front window doesn't go down.

General Comments:

I love my car and would buy another. Only paid $500.00 for the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2009

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

Reliable car with excellent power and pep

Faults:

Alternator just went out of the car, but that's not so bad considering that the car is 10 years old. We bought it from a good friend who bought it brand new back in 99. She didn't have any issues with it and only had it taken to the garage for oil changes and tune-ups. We're fixing the alternator today.

General Comments:

One thing I've noticed people complaining about is the "airplane" noise coming from either the front or back from one side or the other. We also had this, and having some experience with cars, I was able to 'diagnose' the problem as being a ball bearing. Sure enough, we had the brakes replaced and specifically asked for the ball bearing to be checked, and it was what was causing the noise.

It's been a great and reliable car ever since, although beware of electrical 'anomalies' (e.g. idiot lights coming on at random moments then flicking off. Exiting the car and having it honk at you even though no security system is installed, etc.) This usually means the alternator is going out.

Overall, we love the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2009

9th Jul 2009, 14:11

I hope you never have to change a water pump on that engine. You gotta take the damn timing chain off to get at it, and that's not an easy job at all.

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.4 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Car has been decent so far, but starting to see the light!

Faults:

I bought this car used from a friend of mine about a year ago as is for $1,500. The engine had been replaced with about 40K when I took the car over. Basically, everything was fine other than this constant time bomb type ticking coming from the dash area.

About 3 months after buying it, I noticed that when I apply the brakes, there's a squealing sound as well as when I make left turns. I had the front brakes replaced, however, the noise has continued.

Both driver side windows are being held up in place by blocks of wood.

The A/C went out and I had to replace the A/C hose assembly (leak) and have the compressor rebuilt. The A/C fan does not work on 1 and 2, when I have it set on 4 and lower it to 3, the fan will stop blowing after about 5 minutes in that position and will not work again until I shut the car off and wait several hours.

The dash under the windshield on driver side starting to lift more and more.

Both driver and passenger front door panel material separating from the doors.

When I first start the car, whether it's been running just prior or not, it has a knocking sound, kinda like it's pinging when you have bad fuel. It goes away once I start driving though. I use Chevron 87 or 89 fuel.

Now, I need to replace windshield due to small chip that has cracked its way from the bottom all the way to the top within about a weeks time.

Other than that, I have no other issues, YET?

Oh yeah, don't know if this is normal or not, but it seems to operate at such a high temperature, usually 200-210 without A/C on, and up to 220 while running A/C on long distance, 225-230 when in town. Is this normal? I have driven this car once from SoCal to St George, Ut (about 900 miles round trip) with no issues, other than the A/C was out and it was in high 90's up and back.

General Comments:

As far as the comfort level, I'm 5'10"/260 lbs and it is a b***h to get in and out of car. So low to the ground. The seats in front are next to zero in comfort (no more cushion left). I have plenty of room as far as belly to steering wheel ratio, but long drives are a killer on the back and rear end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 2009

19th Sep 2009, 01:05

That pinging noise, aka a knock, is not from your fuel just to let you know. You said your "friends" told you that the engine was replaced. But how good friends are they, and also how mechanically inclined are your friends, are very good questions at this moment. Because that ping noise is your engines internals. If it's ticking when you start it and goes away when you drive or rev the engine, then it's your wrist pins wearing out (that connect your pistons to your rods). If the ticking sound gets louder when you rev it, then it's not that big of a problem. The thing about getting your engine replaced is WHO knows where that engine came from and under what conditions that engine was under. I've been a mechanic for years, so trust me.

14th Nov 2011, 14:28

Sorry, but I'm going to have to argue with you, as I'm a GM mechanic! It's not wrist pin wear, but piston slap, which happens on almost all 2.8, 3.1, 3.4, & 3.8L engines. It's caused because the piston has less of a skirt than a conventional piston does, and rocks back and forth just enough to cause noise. GM uses a teflon coating on the pistons, but that wears out eventually, then the piston slap/knocking happens till the engine warms up (piston expands from the heat and stops rocking in the cylinder).

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 264 reviews