1999 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4 F.I.H.O. from North America

Summary:

Best used car so far!

Faults:

Cold return line from P.S. cracked,

Rear spring broke.

A.C. failed, but was fixed.

Had to change alternator and battery.

Changed calipers 4-5 times.

Got lucky?? I kept up with maintenance and nothing major has gone wrong! Knock on wood.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2010

9th Mar 2010, 15:21

One thing I found that helped was switching to performance rotors (holes and slotted) and ceramic disc pad; three years going no problems.

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.4L from North America

Summary:

Look good, major repairs - blown head gaskets

Faults:

I had to replace the head gasket at 90K. Then again at 120K, and now I have to do it again at 156K. I found out through research that these 3.4L engines are well known to do this.

Outside of normal wear, the vehicle is a good car. discounting the head gasket ongoing issue, which is expensive.

General Comments:

Handles like a sports car. The model I purchased had everything the GT had, but it was an SE.

Cup holder design not good.

Interior is sporty, like the exterior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th February, 2010

16th Feb 2010, 17:28

The GM 3.4 engines have lower intake manifold leaks, not head gasket failures; you may have just confused the two. Now for this to occur 3 times in less than 100,000 km/miles; there is a problem with the gasket itself or the sealant applied to the gasket not adhering properly, because once it is replaced the first time, it's usually good for the rest of the car's life. I hope you flushed out the old Dexcool coolant as well, or that could be a contributing factor to this repeat problem. Either that or the mechanic you're taking the car to is an idiot or a crook.

1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4L twin cam from North America

Summary:

A huge rip off!!! Garbage!

Faults:

So far I've had to replace: ball joints both sides, rotors, axles both sides, struts in the front, bearings on both sides in front, power steering pump, alternator, battery, coil pack, exhaust, radiator and tail light.

I've spent literally thousands of dollars on this car and it is a piece of garbage!! As soon as you fix one thing, another breaks.

Engine stutters, back fires, misfires and stalls especially when idling or backing up. Constant problems, expensive fixes.

General Comments:

This car is garbage!!! These engines (quad 4) are known for many problems. The front end of these cars are junk.

Really the only good thing I can say about this car is when it runs right, it has a lot of power for a 4 cylinder.

Think twice before you buy one, you'll regret it big time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2010

1999 Pontiac Grand Am from North America

Faults:

My red 4 door 99 Pontiac GD had no problems for about 6 years when I first bought it. Then in winter 08, all the head gaskets blew at once and that was a $1700.00 fix..

Then the tensioner and belt fried; that was a $450.00 fix.

Then the water pump went, anti-freeze leaking everywhere, smoke everywhere. That was a few hundred dollar fix.

Now I think there is an electrical problem, because if I start it and let it run, I have to roll the window down a little bit so I can reach my hand in and unlock it, because it locks and unlocks by itself, and the trunk will pop open, and the dash lights will go on and off.. even when I am driving it.

I haven't got that checked out because I am sick of putting money into this car. Seems like a lot of people are having problems with their GD.

I have only replaced the alternator once luckily. But today my service engine soon light came on. I am worried to go get this checked out.

Also the car makes a rattling noise.. everyone says it needs new struts. I have put more money into the car than what I paid for it!!!

I will not get another Pontiac!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st January, 2010

21st Jan 2010, 18:45

Sorry to sound negative but... To get a car to run 6 years problem free, not change anything major on it, is a good car, You got your moneys worth out of it. Most people sell their cars at this point, because over the course of 6 years of wear and tear, things will naturally start to break and fall apart. I still laugh at people who expect cars to last forever. I love my Pontiac and was sad to see them dropped in favour of Buick.

22nd Jan 2010, 00:57

No you won't... GM doesn't make Pontiac any more.