2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2 3.4 from North America


My Grand Am is awesome!


My directional has been replaced... it needs to be replaced again... has been recalled.

Water pump has been replaced.

The serpentine belt has been replaced... just put another one on.

New plugs, rotors, brakes, just the usual... but I did have the gaskets on the motor done, but my mileage was 81,000.

General Comments:

My Pontiac Grand Am is a great car. I took it to Florida and had no problems... ran like a kitten... the gas mileage was fair... and the ride was more comfortable than I thought it would be.

This has been a very dependable car for me. I got it at a fair price, and have had few problems. I couldn't have gotten a better car for transporting my family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2006

2000 Pontiac Grand Am 3.4L from North America


Crappy... for sure


Intake gasket.

Head gasket.




Wheel bearings.

Strut bearings.. and mounts.


Turn signal switch.

Heater fan sensor.

Doesn't stop good at all... unless you throw a anchor out the window...

General Comments:

Will never buy a GM again... enough is enough... they are built to break.. fast...

Go import.. ie.. Honda..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd July, 2006

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America


Great Vehicle!!!


I have not had a whole lot go wrong with this car. I have had to replace the normal brakes and tires. The only costly things that have had to be replaced was the drivers side window motor and a gasket that was causing me to loose coolant. I had to have my turn signals repaired, but this was some kind of recall.

General Comments:

I love this car! I recommend buying this car to anyone. It is very well built. I hit a deer head on in this vehicle doing about 45 mph and it held up well. I had it repaired and am still driving it. I make sure to keep on the maintenance on this car like getting my oil and fluids changed. Overall this is a great family vehicle without having to look like your driving a family vehicle. Buying this car was one of the best deciscion I have ever made!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2006

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4L from North America


If you take care of this car it will take care of you


The water pump, and ac the has gone out but was fixed reasonable cheap. For the price I paid for the car it is real nice and a great high millage car.

General Comments:

I really like the way the car drives, and the car has a very long life span..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2006

2000 Pontiac Grand Am from North America


I have 2000 grand am gt, I noticed others are having the same probles, my security lights blinks on and off and it won't start I already know that if you unhook the battery cable and/or turn key on for 10-15 minutes than it will start, but does anyone actually know how to fix this problem, cause its starting to happen twice a day now really annoying lol. I have taken it to 4 shops and no one knows please help!! thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th May, 2006

2000 Pontiac Grand Am from North America




I don't even know where to start. I purchased this car in May of 2000. It was my first 'real' car. Within the first couple of months, the speedometer quit working. After yelling with the dealership, they fixed it for free since it was covered by warranty.

In the last six years, I have put front and back brakes on at least seven times and replaced the rotors three times.

Both window motors have been broke two times a piece.

The fan only works on 3, 4, and 5. I have no clue why it quit working on 1 and 2.

There is a constant coolant leak. It is actually getting worse now.

The electronic switch on the driver seat no longer works.

The blinkers quit working, but were fixed through a recall.

The horn honks when the car is in park for about 15 seconds. No idea what is up with that.

I've had to replace the battery once after it exploded, the wheel bearings once, the alternator once, and the water pump once.

The door locks will constantly lock and unlock when driving down the highway... starting to think that the car is possessed.

The new thing now is Service Vehicle Soon, ABS, and Trac off lights are now on. I'm almost scared to see what's wrong with it because I have put so much money into this car.

General Comments:

I loved this car when I first bought it. Being only 19 and finally purchasing my first new car, I was so excited. I didn't know 6 years later, I would have had this many problems with it. Don't get me wrong, it looks nice, but looks are so deceiving!! I have talked several people out of buying this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th May, 2006

5th May 2006, 14:10

Was that thing a first model year or something (for a redesign)? Why'd you have to yell at the dealer about the speedometer?

5th May 2006, 16:50

Just remove the offending dash light bulbs and sell the wreck on guy.

5th May 2006, 23:14

Buy something substantial if you're buying new next time. Not some economy car. Buy those used.