2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT V6 Ram Air from North America


I do not recommend this car to anyone!


The upper and lower intake manifold gaskets at less than 5 years and 90,000 miles.

The water pump.

The Blower motor resistor.

Original tires at a lot less than the warranty mileage.

The car over-heats to more than 230 degrees.

Now the car will not start.

The lights work so I don't think it's the battery.

General Comments:

I've had more problems with this car than any other car I've owned.

I am very disappointed with Pontiac and will never purchase another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th August, 2006

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT ram air 3.4 from North America


This is a very bad ass car!


The only thing that as gone wrong with this car is it was leaking coolant. Coolant was leaking from the intake manifold, the gasket was worn. Other than that everything else is fine.

General Comments:

The is the best vehicle I have ever owned! The 2000 Pontiac g/a GT is really quick! Just the other day me and my buddy got it up to 145! NO JOKE! I still had some more pedal left. I've easily out ran V8 mustangs with no problem at all. This is completely stock no mods! I've tied in a race with a 04 trans am. Overall I love this car! If I could I would definatly buy another one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st July, 2006

7th Dec 2006, 18:50

There is no 04 trans am dude.

5th Feb 2007, 20:04

The above comment is all incorrect. the trans am was discontinued in 2004, just after the 35th anniversary edition in 2003. how do I know this? my best friend HAS a 2004 trans am. autotrader has a few 2004's also.

I've gotten 137 MPH out of my grand am gt before, 2 years ago before I sold it. great little car. NO, it couldnt beat my buddies trans am, but it sure put up a hell of a fight.

And thirdly, YES THEY CAN BEAT A MUSTANG GT. I raced a 97 GT and I won, and yes he WAS RACING. it depends on the driver, the car. I'm the driver and I had the car to beat the mustang.

Just because you may not like the car doesn't mean that you have to come over and bash a review thinking you know everything, YOU Don't. obviously you do not own one, and you haven't raced one, so who are you to say what this car can and cannot do?

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE 4 cylinder 2.4 FI from North America


I'll never buy another Pontiac Grand Am


In November of 2004, I traded my lemon in on a 2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE. The car had a little over 54 K miles on it. I had always thought the cars were stylish and I'd driven one for a couple of days in 2000. I had thought they were great cars.

A couple days after I purchased the car, the blinkers had stopped working and the power window in the drivers side front door stopped working also. I had to turn on the four way flashers to get the blinkers to work. Since I had extended warranty (which was for three years or 96,000 miles, which ever come first),I took the car back to the dealership and had a new multi-function switch put in and a new power window motor, which cost $470.00.

A couple months later, the trim on the passenger side of the front windshield had started coming loose from the windshield. I had gone ahead and taken that part of the trim off. So far, it hasn't caused any problems. Now, a rock has hit the windshield and cracked it.

Then, a headlight had blown and while replacing it, the retainer that holds the head lamp in place had broke. Those were cheap and easy to replace. They have to be bought from the dealership.

In August of 2005, I had rolled down the window in the driver's door and the window fell down behind the door panel. The power window regulator had broke. It cost around $235.00 to replace that.

Since I had bought the car, there has been a ticking noise coming from the dash board and we haven't figured out where the noise is coming from. Sometimes you can lock the doors when you exit the car and the horn will chirp and the lights will flash, but there is no key-less entry of alarm on the car.

Now both power window motors in the rear doors has stopped working, the motor in the drivers power seat has stopped working, and the car vibrates when traveling over 60 mph. The low trac light will come on every once in a while and stay on for a few minutes.

A few months ago, I was leaving for work and the car wouldn't start. The security light was flashing. Five minutes later, the car started fine and had given me mo more problems for about a month. Now there seems to be a fuel system failure. The car's engine will shut off while driving down the road. It will take anywhere from 5-30 minutes to restart the car. Then, you may travel one mile or up to 20 miles before the car will shut off again. The check engine light doesn't come on and all of the gauges read fine. I have read similar complaints on here from people having the same problems as me. Now my car has just a little over 97,000 miles on it and my extended warranty has expired. I'm still paying on the car for until November 2007. Looks like my car will sit in the yard for another year and a half.

General Comments:

Other than all of the problem with the car, the car drives great and handles the road perfectly. I wish I was able to get more miles out of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2006

21st Jul 2006, 14:39

Unfortunately that seems to be the case with the 4 cylinder grand am. A few other people I know have had similar problems with their 2000 grand am cars as well. Not to the extent to what you have, but they haven't reached the mileage. I wouldn't write off the grand am entirely because I drive the V6 and have had no problems with it. I keep up on maintenance and it is relatively good on fuel (27 city 32 highway) So I agree the 4 cylinder is a waste of time and money, but the 6 is a better bet.