2004 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2004 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance11500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Nice looking sporty car

Faults:

The driver's side window was making a cracking noise when I would raise or lower it. Had it repaired at the dealer, took 1 day

General Comments:

The Grand Am GT is a pretty good car overall and enjoyable to drive.

The seats are a bit uncomfortable after sitting in the car for more than 30 min.

The brakes could be better.

The engine sounds like it's going to blow up before the transmission shifts gears, basically it over revs when I floor it.

Sometimes I have to turn the key 2-3 times to get it to start, could have been bad gas, most of the time it's starts right away.

Pretty good gas mileage.

Good stereo, heating and A/C.

Good handling and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th April, 2005

4th May 2005, 10:56

Mine does the samething with the hard start. They told me its normal.

4th Jun 2005, 22:35

Does anyone have trouble with the trunk popping open by itself. other than that I am extremely happy with it. GT HO! over 127,000 miles and still hauls ___...well, you know. love it thus far. smooth sound, nice get up and go. changed the oil and light is still on. actually does rather well in the snow to my surprise. trac system does wonders.

2004 Pontiac Grand Am SE2 3.4 V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5500 kilometres
Most recent distance17250 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Well equipped, reliable, comfy, and inexpensive, too!

Faults:

Windshield leaked : Was removed and reinstalled by dealer.

Otherwise, everything has worked great.

General Comments:

The car handles well and is comfortable, though the "lumpy" dash design is a little overkill.

Despite keeping a light foot on the accelerator, gas mileage is far less than expected: as low as 15 mpg in town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2005

21st Sep 2005, 00:00

What are the differences between the SE, SE1 and SE2? I am looking to buy a 2004-2005 white Grand Am. The GT is very hard to find in BC, so it looks like I will need to move on to a second choice Grand Am. I can't seem to find any info online regarding the differences. I would appreciate your input if possible. Thanks.

2004 Pontiac Grand Am SE 1 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

I don't regret my purchase

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car yet!

General Comments:

Terrific Car!

The car handles great.

It is a V6, looks great and picks up speed well. I feel like everyone is looking at what a great car it is.

I was nervous about buying something out of my normal make (Dodge), but this car makes me feel 'happy'.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2005

30th Sep 2005, 15:22

You must remember the the 3400 SFI motor is an overhead valve design. It produces less horsepower than and overhead cam engine, but makes an abundance of low rev torque and is more reliable in terms of design (no rubber belt holding your valves, etc from crashing into each other.) Put a cold air intake, mass airflow sensor and a cat back exhaust on it and you'll be close to 200hp at the crank. Besides a '04 grand am costs a lot less than a '04 accord. So for roughly 8-10k less you get a nice torquey V6 and a lot of room to modify it if you so desire. Besides it is way sexier than a japanese car and less money to maintain than a european vehicle.

As for the interior I personally like it. It's old school Pontiac. My SE1 has an automatic down feature with the drivers side window. As for steering wheel mounted audio controls the SE2 has those as an option.

Why did you buy this car if you hate the interior and dislike the engine so much? I am very happy with my '04 grand am and believe I made a solid purchase.

2004 Pontiac Grand Am Ram Air V6 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance11205 miles

Summary:

Just plain awesome

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

Every time I go outside and look at the big sporty Grand Am Ram Air in my driveway, I smile because this is without a doubt the best car I've owned.

Of course this is also the first new car I have owned so that may have a bit of an impact on my judgment.

This car is fast, good looking, comfortable, and surprisingly it gets good gas mileage. (25-29)

This car has a timid enough engine to drive happily into town, and when you want, it has enough power to pass just about anything.

The only feature I am annoyed with on this car are the automatic locks. I can never figure out how to unlock this car and get out. I've had it for about 6 months, and I still get stuck in it for a few seconds.

In all, it's a great buy and I would recommend this car to most people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2004

23rd Oct 2004, 14:18

I think it is a good car I want it now!

30th Jan 2005, 11:47

I couldn't agree with you more. In April of '04 I bought a 2004 Grand Am GT with SC/T (special hood, sunroof and spoiler) package and I love it to death. The only beef I have with your review is that the engine is in fact a 3.4: Ram-Air V6, not a 3.8.

Cheers,

Kirk in Vancouver.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 21 reviews