1999 Pontiac Grand Am SE from North America - Comments

24th Jan 2006, 14:32

Power steering went out twice, brake system is poor, molding and trim all over is coming off. I have been to the dealer several times for the oxygen sensor, I have also had the rotors changed and the ABS fixed twice. The radio CD player don't work the fuel gauge display don't work and the head lights don't fit in the holes right. Please don't buy this car.

10th Aug 2006, 06:03

Hey, I'm the writer of the initial review on this page. My Grand Am has 80,000 miles now and since I wrote the review I have had to replace the steering rack and 3 sets of brakes. The car won't pass NYS inspection due too many issues.

But most recently the accelerator cable frayed inside the plastic hose/housing and caused the throttle to stay open while driving. Downshifting just revved the engine and shifting to neutral redlined it. I was able to get into a parking lot and shut the engine down in neutral without power brakes and steering.

22nd Dec 2006, 22:25

I have a 99 grand am v6. when I bought it, it had 104,000 miles on it. its just been a week I bought it, the steering rack if gone. the dealer told that it would cost $ 320 to replace the rack (new rack). he would give a warranty for 1 month on the part.

Can anyone tell please me if the rack is worth $320 and what the standard warranty for the part is.

Thanks a lot.

29th Dec 2006, 23:06

Here are my .02 for the problems that I have encountered with the 1999 Grand Am. I should note that the vehicle was purchased brand new from a Pontiac Dealer and the maintenance schedule was adhered to.

1. Replaced brake rotors 3X with brake pads going out every 9 months

2. Replaced weather stripping back doors and trunk @ 62,000 miles

3. CD player and fuel gauge went out at 40,000 miles

4. Control module in the steering column replaced 2X

5. Horn spring in the steering column replaced

6. Interior dashboard delaminating

7. Driver side lock switch replaced 2X

8. Valve job @ 58,000 miles

9. Ignition coil packs replaced @ 85,000 miles

It’s safe to say that this is probably not one of the best choices of vehicles that I have made in the past several years. Ironically, I owned an 89 Grand Am which had over 175,000 miles on it with no problems whatsoever.

13th Feb 2007, 08:43

I have a 99 Grand Am GT, V6. I have had several problems with this car. The stock CD player wouldn't rarely work, it skipped even with new Cd's. I bought an after market CD player. The fuel pump has been replaced. I constantly see my Low Coolant light. The "leather" is coming detached from the back door panels. The air conditioner quit working, paid a fortune to have it fixed and it quit working, again. The window controls for the back doors don't work, one will go down, but not back up. The E-Brake doesn't work. The tensioner needs replaced. I love the look of the car and the power, but I don't like the problems.

7th Oct 2007, 08:20

I've only had my '99 grand am for a year and have already spent A LOT of money on it. I have so far had to replace the alternator and the battery as well all of the belts and the compressor hose for the power steering. Also, currently my car overheats way too easily and when I turn my cruise control on and then step on the break, my car accelerates on it's own terms. It's junk and I think next time i'll be buying myself a foreign car.

7th Oct 2007, 12:47

To 8:20.

Replacing the alternator, battery and hoses on a 8 year old car is called "routine maintenance". As for the overheating, have you flushed the radiator recently? If this is all that is wrong with your vehicle, then I am impressed given your lack of care.

9th Oct 2007, 14:32

I'm having a problem with the one I recently purchased and wondered if anyone has encountered this and found the solution, as it seems a mystery to anyone trying to diagnose it.

3 times now the car has stalled (well, twice attempted to stall). Each time it was after the car had been driven maybe 50 to 60 miles give or take.

The first time, I was at a stop and the engine started to act like it was going to stall. I gunned it and after some hesitation, it went and seemed OK.

The second time I was driving up a rather steep long grade and my Trac Off light came on and I suddenly lost major engine power. I coasted to the shoulder and turned it off. After a few minutes I restarted it and went a couple of miles before having to stop to cross traffic... and it stalled in the intersection. Before it stalled all my dash lights dimmed out, came back on and it just died. At that point the battery, oil pressure, trac off, and service engine soon light were on. The key locked up so I couldn't try to restart.

After a few minutes I started it and pulled into a parking lot. A guy pulled in next to me to help and he thought the engine sounded like it was choking on fuel and assured me it wasn't the alternator. After sitting there for maybe 2 hours, it started up and I got home fine. Before I left tho another guy said it sounded like alternator to him.

So anyway, I go to Autozone and they run the code check and it comes back "system too lean" and they said I may have an O2 sensor going, but at that point the Service Engine light went out and they said wait till it does go for sure. The alternator and battery tested out fine and they said the O2 sensor wouldn't affect the lights and stuff like happened or cause it to stall. Of course it was running just fine at that point. They said they doubted a garage could really give me much more information than that.

Someone else suggested changing the fuel filter. Does anyone have an idea? I really love this car, but I'm worrying now that I'm in for more than I bargained for.

18th Oct 2007, 22:58

I have a 99 grand am se. Reason for blower motor failing electrical problems, because water runs down windshield around the drain, and dumps onto the blower motor. Made make shift guard out of sheet metal to help the problem. This also ruined my turn signals, have to press hazard lights to get the signals to work properly. Need to electrical harness due to water damage. Also water would leak onto passenger side floor. Window regulator went that was bound to happen I'm a smoker in Ny. Window sticks due to ice. Brake replace 2 times/ rotors as well. Read all the problem with engines. Anyone who drives their car thinking a coolant will last 100,000 is crazy. Dexcool is garbage I flushed that out at 30,000 miles.

17th Feb 2008, 20:33

I had this car for over a year now and I am so disappointed in it. I have a Pontiac Grand Am Gt 1999. Pontiac's don't make good quality cars by 100,000 miles I have fixed almost everything in it. My suggestion to people who own these cars they should get rid of the car as soon as possible. Its also very unreliable the engine keeps shutting off the electrical system also went bad and much, much more.

My suggestion get a Japanese car something like Toyota, Acura, Lexus, or Honda.