1989 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America


This car is well worth the price!!!


The only thing that has gone wrong with my car is that when I first got it, the crankshaft sensor was bad. It died 7 times in the first half hour I had it.

The torque strut mounts were bad and had to redo the trunk switch wiring.

General Comments:

I am extremely happy with my car!!! It has 150,000 miles on it and it still runs like a dream. I am looking for a supercharger for it now. But until then it will continue to run like a sewing machine!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2001

8th Jul 2003, 11:54

When you find that supercharger tell me where you got it. My email address is cheezy_05@hotmail.com. My 1989 Grand Prix LE was my first car and I love it. It surprised me when I stomped my friends new Chevy Cavalier.

1989 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 2.8 Liter from North America


Why would you sell this?


The cloth on the roof is falling.

My transmission clunks really hard when shifting into reverse from any gear (could be the motor/transmission mounts).

The front seats have new covers (the seats are torn).

The struts need to be replaced.

Two small spots of paint are missing from the roof.

Air only comes from the defrost vents.

General Comments:

I have just bought this car and I think it will be a lot of fun. I just had it looked over to find all the problems. I am still not sure what is wrong with the transmission. It shifts perfectly in overdrive. For a 2.8 Liter plant it takes off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2001

15th Nov 2002, 23:53

I own a 89 grand prix, 2.8 liter also. You said it needs new struts? How do you know its the struts? Email me at Oddo1@excite.com. my car has 167,000 miles and still running great.

1989 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 2.8 from North America


A pretty sports car in the making


Sub frame mounts seperated (had replaced under recall warranty... 2ce).

Have replaced the alternator twice, within 10,000 km.

Replaced the starter.

Front brakes need replacing, but the rotor retaining bracket is seized.

Inner roof lining is beginning to drop.

General Comments:

The bottom end is moderate, but the top end is impressive from 90km/h to 150km/h.

Tops out at 165 km/h :(

Handles well at high speeds.

Achieves around 650-700 km per fill up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2001

1989 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 2.8 V6 from North America


OK if you don't mind breaking down once a year


2 alternators.

Ignition switch.

2 electronic control modules.

IAC valve.

Turn indicator control broke off.

Passenger seat belt jammed.

Blown cylinder head.

Jammed electric radio antenna.

Broken shift cable - would not reverse.

General Comments:

This car is unreliable, and breaks about one time every year. The level of unreliabilty has been pretty constant since I bought it 12 years ago.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th October, 2001

1989 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 2.8L from North America


Unreliable piece of junk


The car needed an alignment when I first bought it.

The paint was peeling.

The interior roof cloth start falling at the same time.

Rear shocks needed shortly after I bought it.

AC didn't work.

Alternator replaced at 170000 km.

Ignition module and wires replaced at 172000 km. Had a complete tune up.

Tensioner busted two days later.

Coolant and power steering fluid started leaking at 175000 km.

Oil pressure gauge indicated low oil pressure. Replaced the oil pump. It didn't fix the problem.

A lifter went bad at 193000 km.

A second lifter went bad and the engine was replaced at 195000 km.

General Comments:

The car was very comfortable and a joy to drive. But very unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd September, 2001

1989 Pontiac Grand Prix LE 2.8 from North America


Great running, excellent first car!


Power steering was out when I bought it - replaced rack & pinion (didn't fix it), then powwr steering pump - works great.

Paint on hood was faded - brother repainted the front end for my birthday.



Radiator hose.

Two drivers side door handles.

Front & rear brakes at about 146,000.

Rear brakes and rotors at about 155,000.

New alternator at 158,000.

Odometer only works once in a while (digital).

Speedometer doesn't read correct speed (digital).

Struts have been out since I bought it - no big deal.

General Comments:

Great looks.

Good gas mileage.

Careful on the brakes.

Door handles are made very cheap.

Mainly only regular maintenance problems - nothing too major.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2001