1999 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 13 of 16

1999 Pontiac Grand Prix SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance62500 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Biggest lemon of all time!

Faults:

To start first thing was a coolant leak, diagnosis cracked intake manifold.

Second, a tapping noise turned out to be a bent push rods and valves in cylinders 1 and 3.

Third, after this was fixed they noticed the head was cracked and replaced.

Fourth, the timing chain was stretched and the guide was cracked.

Fifth, the fly wheel was cracked.

Sixth, was a mysterious gas leak, no one could find, result was a new plenum gasket and O ring seals for the injectors (not convinced it is taken care of still a slight gas smell)

Seventh, two window regulators have broken both on the passenger side.

Eighth, the radio only works if the car has been in the sun and is extremely hot after it cools off only the front speakers work.

General Comments:

This has been the worst car I have ever had the privilege of driving, I know who ever had it before me must have dogged it hard. I do have to admit now that the engine has been rebuilt four times in the past thirty days it has some power to it. I would consider buying another Pontiac in the future, but it will be new so I know it is the manufactures fault if it goes wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2003

3rd Apr 2005, 10:32

Sounds to me that your mechanic is taking you to the bank. Any time whey start one major repair and they happen to stumble upon another problem by accident, it's no accident. Try taking it to another dealership for a second opinion.

7th Jun 2006, 09:56

I bought a 99 Grand Prix as a demo from a Pontiac Dealer and had some similar problems. I had a coolant leak into the cylinder. I have three window regulators that do not work (two of them are rear windows and get very little use). The carpets show more wear than they should for the year. In addition, the headlights seemed to have some coating on them that has yellowed and now dim the headlights quite a bit, making it necessary to replace both. My previous vehicle was a Toyota pickup and it just ran. The only thing that broke was a heat adjuster cable. That was after 8-9 years. Think I hate not to buy American again, but the quality is a lot better from Toyota.

1999 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1100 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A lot of car for the money (I'm very satisfied)

Faults:

The resistor that controls the fan speed for the heat/AC blower failed after the warranty was up. A ($15) part from the local dealer fixed the problem, and the cost was lower since I replaced it myself.

I had to replace the brake pads around 43K and suggest anyone who owns one have them inspected before 40K miles.

Pontiac still uses crappy Goodyear tires that wore out at around 45K (the tires on my wife's care went 82K before they needed replacement).

General Comments:

Even the non super-charged version (which I own) has good pick-up.

The four wheel disc brakes are really the way-to-go!

My GP is a four door, and it's as sporty and good looking as any other car out there.

I've driven it to, and from Florida, and I believe it's very comfortable for three... Four might be better fit in a Bonneville.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2003

1999 Pontiac Grand Prix GT from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

This car is very sporty looking, fun on the curvy roads, but a nightmare on long road trips

Faults:

The power steering was defective from the time the car was driven off of the lot. Who has ever heard of power steering so strong that the wheel can be tossed in either direction, spinning freely until it comes up against the stop? It took 4 tries for the dealer to correct this problem.

The climate control system is filled with "bugs" that the dealer insisted were intentional. For instance, while the air conditioning is off, the car blows cold air on my foot on a 90 degree day. Something is running that shouldn't be, but apparently this was not a symptom of something serious enough to be covered by the warranty.

The air conditioning started leaking condensate into the car at about 35000 miles and had to be replaced -- probably because it had been running continuously since the car was new.

The torque converter clutch stopped fully engaging at about 55000 miles.

General Comments:

The cars that I test drove all seemed to perform fine. However, this has not been true of the one that I ordered. I have never driven a car that can handle curves so well, but cannot hold a straight line. The most relaxing driving is generally on the interstate. But this car is literally all over the road at high speeds, requiring constant and complete attention to prevent drifting out of the lane.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st May, 2003

19th Oct 2004, 12:30

As far as your problem with the cold air blowing on your foot goes... ALL GM VEHICLES DO THAT... You also should be paying attention if your driving at high speeds anyways. It's the people that don't that I have to cut out of cars when they wreck.

27th Oct 2004, 09:46

I have owned a gt for 3 years and have 83k on it. Your problem with the high speeds may have more to do with your tires... (air pressure, tire quality and speed rating, need for spin and balance) This plays a significant role in high speed performance.

1st Mar 2005, 01:46

I would like to know what part or parts "needed" to be replaced involving the condensation from the AC leaking into the car. There is a rubber drain with a 90 degree bend on the bulkhead or "firewall" at the rear of the engine compartment. This allows the condensation that gathers on the evaporator core, which is inside the car above the passenger side kick panel, to escape externally. A common problem I noticed while working at a GM dealer is that dirt and road grime can build up in this drain. The only other escape route ends up in your floor. Some of these drains can be reached from above, while others need to be accessed from underneath the vehicle. Just cleaning out this drain is all it takes.

The Grand Prix is not a very light car. The engine performance is good, especially in the GTP (I own a '99 GTP). There are many performance parts available for all V6 engines offered in these cars. If it's handling you would like to improve, start with suspension upgrades. Pay particular attention to the rear.

2nd Mar 2011, 23:44

To previous comment. There is actually an advantage by having the blower motor under the dash on the passenger side, instead of the outside by the firewall. It's that the blower motor is 100% easier to replace than ones on the outside by the firewall. Pretty much anybody can replace the blower motor; just remove the three gold/bronze looking 5.5mm bolts and remove the black hose (only some models have), and then put the new blower motor in, put back the 5.5mm bolts, and plug it in, and it's done.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 60 reviews