1999 Pontiac Grand Prix Reviews - Page 10 of 16

1999 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Looks better than it really is

Faults:

All the fuel injectors have been replaced. One of them twice.

On board computer display replaced.

Speakers fade in and out.

Front and rear rotors replaced at 25k and at 50k.

Tires wear out faster than normal.

Condensation in headlights.

General Comments:

The performance is pretty good, but it takes a second or two to accelerate.

The seats aren't that comfortable to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2004

6th Jan 2005, 16:41

Check you power steering fluid very often. The 3.8 is notorious for eating it up. When you lose fluid, it can cause hesitations and erratic shifting. Some people are even replacing transmissions for $3,000 and don't realize they just needed a half a quart of power steering fluid.

29th Mar 2005, 07:34

That's a good observation in regards to the hesitation. I am concern about my transmission and its seems as though over a periond of time it goes back to a hard shift even at a low speed. Do you think this would still be the case with the power steering fluid being low? I do hear a winding sound from time to time and it sounds like a the fluid is low.

27th May 2006, 14:21

Power steering and transmission fluid are not one and the same.

1999 Pontiac Grand Prix GTX 3.8 supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

The next best thing to a V8!

Faults:

The day drove the car off the dealer's lot, the check engine light turned on. The catalytic converter went bad, but it was still under the manufacturer's warranty (till 80,000mi).

The driver's side window grinds while going up and down. Sometimes I need to pull it up because it won't make it on its own.

The exterior temperature on the climate control is barely ever right. It usually reads about 30 degrees, even it's 100 degrees outside.

General Comments:

The minor gripes about this car are no match for my list of compliments!

It has the SLP (Street Legal Performance) GTX package, which includes 17" chrome wheels, stainless steel exaust, ram air hood, cold air intake, GTX badges, and GTX floor mats. It isn't really much faster than a GTP, but it looks very cool!

I have no other modifications to the car right now, and it beat my 1989 IROC-Z Camaro with a 350 (which was close), and it blew my buddy's 1992 Mustang GT away like nothing!

I have as good as 34 miles per gallon on a 100 mile trip going 55 miles per hour on a calm day.

It also handles very well for a stock car with 74,000 miles.

My last car was a 2 door 1997 Grand Prix GT, which was great, but this car was well worth the trade!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2004

28th Aug 2004, 11:48

I have a 1999 grand prix gt and I like my car a lot, very good car the only thing I don't like its that its not standard, other than that is a very nice car. i have to try the 2005. I recomend.

1st Apr 2005, 23:23

I think we did. The GTX is a special add-on package for SE, GT, and GTPs. The base GTX includes the functional composite hood with ram air induction, GTX nameplates, and key fobs.

1999 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance134000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Oldsmobile

Summary:

Looks and feels great!!!

Faults:

Not many, it has a few ongoing problems.

My horn which is directly connected to a security alarm, goes off by itself and continues to be a mystery to the dealership. Currently have fuse pulled.

The heads up display fades in and out.

The steering was so bad I could not turn the car to the right without extreme effort (both hands). The entire rack and pinion was replaced. Its fine now...

Replaced the CD player, motor burned out.

Engine Light is always on... no performance issues though.

Passenger window shorts out.

General Comments:

The car is a DREAM to drive. Minor problems overall, and would buy another in a minute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2004

9th Jul 2004, 12:56

OK OK OK... Now we know what have gone wrong with the car, now how about some information on what isn't wrong with it? I think people would like to get a good idea of what they're in for if they buy one.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 60 reviews