2004 Pontiac Grand Prix GT1 from North America - Comments

3rd Sep 2004, 00:31

I own a GT2 and it is loaded with leather, CD changer, heads up display, Xm radio, and a sun roof and I only payed 18,500 on the road. I haven't had any the of the problems that were listed either. I really love my Pontiac it has been a good car.

6th Sep 2004, 18:24

I bought a 2004 GT2 in June, 04. I have 1,500 miles on it, and have had no problems. I didn't get the HUD nor XM radio, but got everything else. I love the way it rides and handles. Wife loves it, too. My only complaint is the blind spots when backing. Otherwise, it's great. Still own my 1995 Bonneville SSE, 85,000 miles, so thought the GT2 would be a good buy, as well. Got it for $21,500.

9th Jun 2005, 10:01

To the Original Poster - So if I understand your post correctly you took back your 2004 Grand Prix and got back your 1998 Grand Prix.

Did you have to pay lots of money to the dealer to unwind the deal?? Did it cost you through the nose to get out of that deal??

31st Jan 2006, 13:06

I just purchased a 2004 Pontiac Grand Prix. I find that it is a very reliable car. My only complaint is the lack of space in the back seat, but I don't ride back there so it's not much of a problem for me. Out of about 5 stars, I'd give it a 4 1/2.

20th Mar 2008, 16:57

I bought a 2004 GTP Comp G -- love the car, and have had no real problems except the passenger seat squeaks (from the seat track).

Every once in a while I get a charging failure message with the defrost on full, the heated seats and the rear defroster on. I also get a weird whine from the tranny when I first back it out of the driveway.

The car has 120 000 kms -- paid 12 000 with a 3 year extended powertrain warranty -- but I do love smoking Mustangs and Camaros in the Stoplight Wars!!

27th Nov 2008, 22:36

I've had 3 Grand Prixs. A 1997, 2001 and 2002 GTP's and have loved all of them!

The 01' was sadly rear-ended and totaled so I bought the 02'. I have about 140k on the 02' with original engine and trans and still runs like new. I have had stupid, typical GM problems like knobs breaking and had to replace the blower motor resistor, etc. I did have the problem with my 97' with water leaking on the floor. But it was the weather strip piece came off the cowl so water wasn't channeling into the drain. But everything else I have had done was normal, routine maintenance.

As to the people who have had all the problems, I don't know what to say. I use to work for GM as a technician and I think some people think they bought a Lexus or Mercedes when they bought a Pontiac. Sure the foreign cars may not have as many stupid, little issues. But when it comes time to repairing foreign cars, you're gonna pay out!

Overall I think the Grand Prix is a good car. I have worked for both domestic and foreign dealers and I have owned nothing but GM cars. My parents had a 99' Bonneville with 212,000 on it!!! Original engine and trans! No leaks! No burning oil! They would still be driving it if that was totaled in an accident.

Overall if you take good care of your car, your car will take care of you. Sure there are some things you can't prevent from breaking. But if you do what is recommended per owners manual and your local mechanic, your car should give you a good, long trouble free life.

12th Jan 2009, 02:38

I bought my 2004 Grand Prix GT1 in March 2007. I love my car dearly, and it is a dream to drive.

I bought it used with 72k miles on it with a 3 year extended warranty, but the warranty paid for itself. After I bought the car, the rear defrost stopped working, the dealer had said that the motor that runs it had broken somehow. But since then, I noticed that the passenger side floor gets wet when the car sits in the rain. One day I found a puddle that was 2 inches deep, but there was no sign of the water coming in from anywhere, I even pulled up the carpet, but no clue where. I noticed someone else has been experiencing the same problem.

Due to that problem, I took the car into the dealership, and they said that it wasn't covered under my warranty, so needless to say, I just keep the car parked in the garage.

The interior of the car is all made of plastic, which of course squeaks, but you assume that will happen.

Gas mileage is great, sporty look, wonderful, speed speed speed, very fast.

I love the interior lights.

The car is not good in the snow on the Michigan roads. My model has traction control, but it doesn't seem to help at all. I get stuck on my street every time we get more than 3 inches of snow, and have to turn the traction control off, and "floor it" just to get out of the subdivision.

I was recently in a small accident, and the car handled the impact quite well, as opposed to my previous cars. The last car I owned was a 1999 Pontiac Grand Am, which was totaled in a drunk driving incident, but the car handled better in the snow even though it was lighter, but the car did give me a few problems, so the Grand Prix is a serious step up. I have always driven GM cars, and I love them dearly. As much as I love my Grand Prix, I would probably buy an SUV with 4x4 capabilities for the Michigan winters, but if you want a roomy car, that's comfortable with lots of speed, then the Grand Prix is right for you.

13th Mar 2009, 16:46

85,000 miles on my '04 Grand Prix GTP Comp G. Awesome car. Yes, the headlights bounced for some and GM fixed that issue for free under warranty. I haven't had any other problem in the 5 years I've driven the car. As for the rest of the review, the writer obviously doesn't know much about cars. He paid $32,000 for a GT2??? Holy cow! Do some homework before buying a car man!

15th Sep 2009, 17:51

I have a 04 GTP comp g. Really fast car, burning everybody on the light.

Only two problems; the engine heat gauge goes up and down, and upon cold start there's a squeal in the serpentine belt area, but after 5 minutes it goes away. Other than that it's a sweet car... turns heads.

28th Sep 2009, 20:09

04 Grand Prix GTP Comp G owner with 120,000 miles on the car.

The GP has the bouncing head lights, noise in the front suspension, and overheating issue if the cooling system is a drop low on antifreeze.

It is blast to drive, but does it eat tires up, and the brakes and rotors get changed every year.

The climate control shorted out and the XM radio never worked properly from the day I bought it.

The only way the car can be driven in snow and ice is with dedicated winter tires, otherwise it is like trying to run on a sheet of ice.

Other than that, the car has a great sound system, good exhaust tones, great power, gas mileage is 28 on the highway running 75mph, but only 19 around town. Not bad for a 3.6L supercharged engine.