9th Aug 2006, 13:29

Performance marks 4/10

Reliability marks 0/10

Comfort marks 2/10

Dealer Service marks 2/10

Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5/10.

4 for performance.

This person is obviously just blowing off steam. Wish people would stop doing that on this site. It doesn't help anyone.

So many reviews are someone complaining about how their after market wheels rub on their fenders, and how that means they won't ever buy that brand again.

This car sounds like it has issues. Cars will over heat when you drive it off the lot and power brake it while still in break in period.

The comments about "didn't put anything on it" suggests to me that he is a hot rodder that blew his engine. Possibly on purpose after finding out he can't afford the car he got.

9th Aug 2006, 18:51

Your GTO is actually a Holden.

The only thing Pontiac about it, is the nameplates on it.

11th Aug 2006, 16:01

I work at a Pontiac dealership and I am sure this entire review is just fake. Id almost bet it was some kid bored just making stuff up and like someone said on an earlier comment that is not helping anyone on this site.

12th Aug 2006, 11:48

Can the reviewer post the VIN? I'd be interested to see the history of this car.

21st Aug 2006, 07:44

I have an 04 and it is perfect. nothing ever has gone out on it with 50,000 on the odometer except tires. Don't blame the manufacturer blame the driver's maintenance.

24th Aug 2006, 13:35

I also have an 04 with 33K on it, and no problems whatsoever. I believe there can always be a bad apple in a bushel. However, the GTO, in my opinion, is one of the best cars ever built by "GM" - probably because it's made by Holden GM division in Australia.

Superior fit, finish, and reliability so far for me. I'm very sorry for those who have had bad experiences with their GTO's - but I personally am a die-hard fan, this car will be with me for a long time to come!

26th Aug 2006, 21:26

I could be wrong, but I smell abuse of this car. Some people seem to think you can buy a new car tear the guts out of it and nothing should go wrong. If the new engine over heated like the first one I would say it is being abused. There is nothing harder on a car than "burnouts" or break stands. Leave them to the guys with lots of money. Dealers can now tell what kind of abuse a car has had by plugging into the computer. They can see max engine RPM, Speed, Temp, ect..So if you are abusing it they can tell, they've got the print outs. Good luck in court.

25th Nov 2006, 00:09

I have a 2001 grand prix and 1996 bonneville all I can say is that they're perfect my next car is going to be GTO 6.0L.

3rd Jan 2007, 09:16

WOW!!! this has to be a little kid who stinks at driving. See when you peel out of every stop light and then slam on your breaks 2 feet before the stop light THAT Isn't GOOD FOR THE CAR! I have a 97 Bonneville and my baby a supercharged Grand Prix. I race that a lot and beat he crap out of it, the only thing that went wrong is the spark plugs needed to be changed twice. But hey I'm a teenager and I am a bad driver and I know that these cars can handle it. this kid is just wow, but hey go buy a dodge caravan if you don't like it!

29th Jan 2007, 12:23

I smell BS on this one and it stinks BAD!!!

This has to be a joke lol!!!

19th Apr 2007, 13:46

I'm a mechanical engineer and have a lot of trouble seeing how one car that is representative of several thousand made in a given year can have all these issues, and continue to have them with an engine change. There could be something else going on, like a gerbil in the radiator that plugs up the return line from time to time...

I drive the heck out of my stock '05, and have never had a heating problem or anything else. I also have been doing the research in advance of installing a supercharger, and even the guys who have done this (there are lots of them) have no complaints about the drive train or overheating of the engine. The most any of them do to enhance the car after a supercharger conversion is in the rear end, and the suspension, and that's only if they have enough mods to push it over 500 RWHP.

Gary L.

4th May 2007, 04:06

FAKE FAKE FAKE FAKE!!

Why are you people so gullible?

There is no doubt this is a fake review and should be removed.

3rd Jun 2007, 13:35

This is a funny story, but I have seen it before, this GTO is a Holden, but is still GM, I am 100% sure this is what happened: this person has common problem: leaves the parking brakes on!!! well, you can keep putting the new engine, the car rear drive, the parking brake being on will not cause any bad feel to it, so some folks drive it like that over and over again. My suggestion is that Gm should change the design in such a way that when you leave the parking brake on to come a siren and light effects on, also after driving it like that over a mile a retractable metallic arm should reach out from the desh board and brake the nose of the forgetful driver. It is a sound measure, since the engine is light metal so it conducts heat very well.

24th Jul 2007, 19:38

I'm surprised only one person here has mentioned the radiator. I'm *not* surprised he mentioned he is an engineer.

Folks, the reason both motors went bad is b/c the problem was never the motor. Something was probably wrong with the engine cooling system.

10th Feb 2008, 20:52

I have owned my wonderful GTO since March 2005 with no problems until now. The original DELCO battery has died. That's pretty good all things considered, and I just love the car. My former auto also came with a DELCO battery and it too only lasted about three years. Never, NEVER trust a DELCO. They are pretty much junk. The GTO however, has been AWESOME. Best seats GM has ever made, according to my Corvette owning friend. And that engine...LS2...400+ HP... a real gem and a refined, powerful work of art. Nothing else to say, just an awesome ride that I hope to drive for as long as I can afford gasoline.

16th Mar 2008, 14:13

I bought a 05 GTO in June of 05 with 5 miles on it... the next week the speed control sensor failed... so they ordered me a new one... which also failed... I am on the 3rd sensor at 300 miles... LOL OK, the trunk popped open a few weeks later and wouldn't close.

Next, a whole 6 months into my ownership... the air conditioner broke - which I had to beg for a new one since there was no part available. Whatever; at any rate... I am now on the 3rd air conditioner...

I have also had the battery die really early n age... so yeah now it's in the shop again... they are changing the steering column... it's locked in place and won't come un-locked AGAIN... this is steering column #2... did I mention that all my seats have been recovered b/c the leather was too tight... LOL

Yes, I love the car... it's great... however, the money I have spent to own it and it's literally in the shop every 3-4 months... it's not cool... now that I have to wait for the steering column to come in from Australia - I am going to trade it in this week before my factory warranty runs out... I doubt that I can afford the parts for this car.

Good luck to all GTO owners / future GTO Owners... I hope your GTO is much more pleasing than mine.

Oh, just to add... I don't drive my car like a maniac... don't race it... I baby it... and it still craps out.

15th Feb 2009, 17:02

I just bought a 2005 GTO, I have one issue... when I start it up, it intermittently stalls. The remote/key (RKE/Key fob) is now dead--- so, I have to replace it...

I REALLY LOVE THIS CAR!!! Seeing the comments left previously, I will agree with most, if you beat the hell out of a car, it's gonna break down --- and yes, adding coolant checking all the fluids occasionally IS IMPORTANT!!

You can't buy a used vehicle and think it'll be perfect --- I bought mine a month ago with 21k miles on it --- it's in great shape and haven't had it long enough to really know (other than past service history from GM Dealership) what to expect...

I had a 2003 Corvette and a Hummer H3 previously to this --- and this car THRILLS the heck out of me!! Anyone have any takes on the stalling out issue??

1st Jul 2009, 18:56

I had a chance to go to the 2004 GTO nats. Pontiac was there with 8 or 10 GTOs and let anyone who had a driver's licence drive around a road course set up at the Silverdome. After that day I would buy a 04 05 or 06 GTO even if they used a cardboard box for the body.

I have a 1968 GTO, and a 1973 Grand Am and a 1973 Lemans, I will own a "new goat" someday. Hopefully not one that has been beat on or under water after a flood. But if I do get one that won't hold up to my standards, it will go out in a spectacular blaze of glory.

1st Oct 2016, 18:57

A "gerbil in the radiator"?

Is that really a thing?