2005 Pontiac GTO 6.0 from North America


Best car I have ever owned


Horn will sound spontaniously

General Comments:

I love this car, real fast when I want it to be and the seats are great. Very comfortable and fun. No problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2007

2nd Feb 2007, 21:52

Have you been able to find out anything about the spontaneous horn issue? I have an 06 which I really enjoy, but it has a quirk that every once in a blue moon the horn will randomly beep briefly. I took it to the shop, but they didn't find anything, which doesn't surprise me as I cannot reproduce it and it happens only like 1x/month. This is the first I've seen mention of someone else experiencing this issue.

15th Jul 2007, 03:47

I have a same problem, as you say.. it only really happened once in the while, and I have no idea why.

2005 Pontiac GTO from North America


Balancing and alignment ruining tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th October, 2006

2005 Pontiac GTO 8 cylinder 6.0L from North America


I will never buy another Pontiac


Over heated the first day I brought it home at 30 miles or so.

Battery died at less than 1000 miles or so.

Over heated again at around the 2000 mile mark.

Over heated again at the 2500 mile mark.

Blew the motor at 3,100 mile mark.

Over heated again at 4,500 mile mark or so. Dealer said everything was okay.

Over heated again at 5,050 mile mark.

General Comments:

Well where do I begin. The first day that I drove the car home, it over heated. That was around 30 miles or so. I took it to the dealer and nothing showed up on the diagnostic scan.

The next thing was the battery died. Took it in, they charged it and gave it back to me. Then it over heated again 2x before I BLEW up my motor.

Now remember this is a stock car with less than 4000 miles. I had nothing put on this car, not even a tint. I never even got to enjoy this vehicle.

They put in a brand new motor, which took a couple of weeks, and they gave it back to me and I drove it around for about a 1000 miles, and guess what it, over heated again 2x.

Now I have an attorney and he has requested full refund, and they should be lucky that I haven't charged them for my inconvenience.

I would never buy another PONTIAC, no matter what. Good luck if you're looking for a GTO. Don't waste your time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2006

9th Aug 2006, 13:13

That's too bad, not typical.. but happens to the best of them.

Good luck with that refund. I highly doubt you'd succeed.

9th Aug 2006, 13:17

So you bought a 2005 GTO in august of 06?

I smell a rat. This is a used car. You can't blame a junky used car on the brand.

It's a "muscle car" some 16 year old probably ragged the heck out of it.

It overheated 30 miles after you bought it? or 30 miles on the odo.

People sell their problems.. you bought one. These cars probably have at least 85% of them being used at the drag strip. Possibly even used to be turbo or super charged, blew up and was sold after being made good enough to run.

2005 Pontiac GTO 6.0 400hp from North America


The Pontiac GTO is amazing, you can't go wrong with an instant classic -THE LEGION OF THE GOAT



General Comments:

I test drove a Dodge Charger, Ford Mustang GT, Chevy Corvette, Porsche Boxster, and a Pontiac GTO. The GTO is a Corvette with four bucket seats and the heart of a demon. Even Cobra drivers leave me alone.

But if you want to suffer with a lack of space and impending wear and tear on a feeble frame, go ahead and buy the Porsche - I see them in my rear view mirror everyday!

The GTO is fun and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2006

28th Mar 2006, 16:11

Yeh, it's so good that Pontiac has decided to quit making it.

28th Mar 2006, 20:43

Quit making it? What are you talking about. They're bringing the GTO back in 2009 along with the Chevy Camaro. But hey, why let facts get in the way of a snippy comeback.

29th Mar 2006, 15:42

The only mistake that GM made with the GTO is the fact that they named it after an iconic muscle car. Had they called it something different it wouldn't be so hated. It's luxury sports coupe and less cheap old school muscle.