1989 Pontiac LeMans Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1989 Pontiac LeMans 4 cyclinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cyclinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles

Summary:

A cheap good school car

Faults:

The engine has died once in awhile when it is cold and it won't shift very good in the cold either.

Radiator has near blown two or three times.

General Comments:

This car performs very well from 0-60 for the kind of car it is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2003

1989 Pontiac LeMans GSE 1.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 1.4L Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Previous carMerkur Scorpio

Summary:

Great car after modifying!!

Faults:

ECU failed at 800 miles.

General Comments:

I acquired my GSE and was dissapointed with the poor performance, so while in the UK on business I purchased a Vauxhall GSi engine (150 hp)and transmission (150hp), which I installed, along with a tubular exhaust with free-flow muffler, Bilstein shocks, all Opel Kadett exterior badges,and H4 headlamps. Sold the car in '91 and purchased a Miata

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2003

1989 Pontiac LeMans LE 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

I like the car, but, it needs a lot of T.L.C.!! (Tender Loving Care)

Faults:

The seats are worn. (I feel like I am sitting on cardboard.)

My CV boots; right and left, both went bad at about 90,000 miles.

I had to replace the clutch cable at 95,000 miles.

My vehicle is currently parked because of the transmission and clutch.

My shift boot is always falling off. This can be bad because there is so much dirt and grime stuck down inside because of the exposure to cigarettes, food, etc.

General Comments:

This car wasn't designed for upgrading a stereo system. I had some trouble, but I did manage to finish the job.

This car has a poor design. When you open both driver and passenger doors all of the way the front fenders will bend inward and begin to rust.

The interior is very small and cheap. However; if maintained or upgraded, it could be very nice.

This car has a sporty feel to it. I think it would be cool if someone out there would "hook it up!".

This car is a good "first timer standard shift (manual) " vehicle. The feel of the clutch is very different.

The clutch is hard to master, but, it can be done with time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2002

6th Dec 2004, 18:37

The car is a good little project car. I'm going to "hook up" one of these cars. It will have a T4 turbo in it with a front mount intercooler and a few thousand under the hood controlling it all; Greddy boost controller, HKS blow off, HKS wastegate, etc. Also plan on going to Bass Competition in the future with it too. Going to have 2 PBX 12's with 4000 watts pushing them. It is a good SPL competition car. Sorry about your luck with the car.

1989 Pontiac LeMans le aero coupe 1.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles

Summary:

Great first car

Faults:

The seat padding has begun to wear out.

Factory paint gone at 120000 miles.

Exhaust system went bad before I purchased the car, and was replaced.

The engine had to be replaced at 100000 miles.

Some rust over back wheel wells.

General Comments:

Very quick for a car with a 1.3 L engine.

Fun car to drive.

A great first car.

There are some problems in the higher miles, but that is to be expected from any economy car.

This car does not look out of date, it looks somewhat modern.

With a few personal touches and fix ups, this is a great car.

This car is a great head turner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2002

1989 Pontiac LeMans LE 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance181000 miles
Previous carMercury Monarch

Summary:

The cost of replacement parts are too high

Faults:

The timing belt slipped at 100,000 miles.

A fuse short circuit to the fuel pump because of a exposed wire that led to the rear defroster switch in the dash board at 101,000 miles.

Failure of the electronic controls on the carburetor which is also known as the throttle body at 102,000 miles.

Driver side brake caliper locked up at 103,000 miles.

The thermostat failed at 103,000 miles.

The distributor went bad at 104,000 miles.

The head cracked in the spark plug hole at 120,000 miles.

The catalytic converter failed at 130,000 miles.

The power steering pump started leaking at 150,000 miles.

The muffler rusted out at 155,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car must be highly maintained in order to function properly.

This car runs great when kept up.

Great on fuel use and low on burning oil.

This car does get up and go for a four cylinder.

After 100,000 miles expect problems.

Learn how to work on it yourself or you will be taken to the bank or have more problems getting it back then when you started.

This car always had a problem passing California's smog tests even after a tune-up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd March, 2002

21st Apr 2003, 04:19

Hi, My Name is Kathy, I have a 1989 Pontiac Lemans Le, 1.6 liter, automatic. My Brother was helping me to replace the head gasket on the car for me, so he had to take off the Timing parts the pulley's and stuff and when he did he forgot to mark down how to reset the timing on my car, and how to line them up again. so if there is anyone out there that could please help me, if they know what the timing setting is, or explain how to line them up again, or has a diagram that shows how to. I would be very Grateful to anyone that can help me with this, if I could leave my email address. which is (kathy_m_b_63@yahoo.com). please send any information to this email. Thank You Sincerely Kathy Balderas.

16th Apr 2009, 10:37

The car does not get up and go at all. The LeMans (1990) was my first car when I was 16, and I don't remember it having any acceleration at all. Go drive an '04-'07 Subaru Impreza WRX STI (my next car), and you'll see what I mean. I got the LeMans with 65,000 miles and had a lot of problems with it. I dumped it after about 10,000 miles because I was sick of replacing parts.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 20 reviews