1989 Pontiac LeMans LE from North America

Summary:

Not worth it if they paid you to take it

Faults:

The head gasket.

The brakes.

The steering.

The tape player (radio still works).

The passenger door (doesn't open from the outside).

The trunk (lock broke).

The ignition.

General Comments:

It's a very unreliable car. The lack of power steering doesn't help matters at all. You can't take off at any reasonable speed - you either creep out or fly out.

Half the time, it sounds like it's not gonna start. Half the time in the dampness, it stalls at least twice before you get it out of park.

The distributor cap never was right on it, my mechanic had to fit the cap from a Ford Escort (!) to make it work properly - before that you didn't make it out of the driveway if there was moisture in the air.

I see now why this car was given to me: the people knew they couldn't sell it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th September, 2001

1989 Pontiac LeMans 1.6 Liter from North America

Summary:

A great investment for a first time car

Faults:

Brakes.

Brake caliper.

Wipers.

Starter.

Manifold.

All exhaust parts.

Water pump.

Timing belt

Gear box.

Thermostat.

General Comments:

Not a bad car for free, all I had to replace was the battery and alternator and it was mine. It's not large, so don't expect much, great first time car.

Not so bad on gas, like most cars, service every 15K or so. I'll probably drive the crap out of it until it dies, then put a new motor in it, and drive it till I die.

It's a great first time car, cheap, and is okay. Beware on repairs, usually expensive for replacement parts, but go to a junk yard and strip that car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th March, 2001

16th May 2001, 11:45

I had to change the alternator on mine too, did you have a problem putting the alternator belt back on??? Or did someone else do it for you??? I am having that problem. Please help me.

talldark6m@hotmail.com

1989 Pontiac LeMans LE Aerocoupe 1.6L from North America

Summary:

Cheap wheels, and good reliability if it is treated with love, and a huge trunk/hatch for moving!

Faults:

One dead battery.

One set of brakes.

New rear brake cylinders (wheel was locking up).

Three new exhaust systems till the thermostat was just changed.

Drivers door lock that sticks.

Knocks on days below zero when starting up.

General Comments:

I bought this car as a freshman in high school and I still drive it as a junior in college today! It isn't the greatest car in the world, but it is cheap to operate (gas, my dad's the mechanic, and insurance) and most importantly - it has never neve,r never left me stranded!!! Newer cars have been towed and jumped by my trusty LeMans.

I think I will drive it till it doesn't run anymore!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

22nd Apr 2007, 09:45

1989 VL Aerocoupe:

Pros:

• Quick for a 1.6 liter engine

• More than 40 mpg on the highway!

• Very solid body: I got rear-ended by a 280Z so hard that the tape popped out of the cassette player: the front end of the Z was a mess, but there was literally only a scratch on my rear bumper.

• Rear seat folds down, creating considerable storage space.

• In the winter, I’d let it idle with the front defroster on full and with the rear defroster going, and it would be snow-free in about 15 minutes.

• If the timing belt fails, the internal engine parts are not damaged; just need to install a new belt, and you’re on your way.

• Seat fabric very durable, easily cleaned

• Handled very well, and very stable on the highway; could cruise at 100 mph.

Cons:

• The blower motor failed regularly, and cost about $125 back then. I wasn’t happy when I had to wait a week for the dealership to get one in, IN JANUARY!

• Brakes wore unevenly

• Starting troubles in damp weather

• Thermostat failed regularly: replacement involves removing the timing belt.

• Cheap GM plastic interior parts.

I maintained the car regularly (since I was making my living delivering pizza when I bought it new) ; finally gave it to the local salvage yard after 7 years and 175k miles.

1989 Pontiac LeMans LE 1.6 from North America

Faults:

The brakes on this car are horrible, every 1000 miles or so it's back in the shop for you guessed it, brake work. When it's running I love my "Stella"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st July, 2000

12th May 2001, 14:01

To make the brakes better you can put on some high performance brakes, they only cost $40.

1989 Pontiac LeMans from North America

Faults:

I think I might take the time and just mention the things that didn't go wrong with the car. It would be A LOT shorter list. Everything imaginable went wrong with it since I bought it.

General Comments:

I cannot wait until I can get rid of this car. It never is running how it should be. I put more money into this car than I would have put into 5 other ones.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th June, 1999

25th Nov 2000, 21:58

I had a 90 and had all the same things go wrong. It was a piece of crap and only made it to 78K.

1st Dec 2000, 20:11

On mine it was the starter, the alternator, the brakes, the passenger side wiper arm (which no one has a replacement for), the exhaust had a leak, the speakers sucked, the radiator fan, the water pump, my lower radiator hose and of course, all the plastic dohickies on the inside of the car (including the handle on the driver's side door).

Every part I wanted had to be special ordered. I've gotten parts from Japan, Texas, Arizona, you name it. I never thought I'd be so happy to total a car! DON'T BUY IT!