2000 Pontiac Montana Reviews - Page 6 of 13

2000 Pontiac Montana Base 3.4L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Nice van except for gasket problem

Faults:

Brakes

Tires

Intake/Head Gasket.

General Comments:

I was impressed with the Montana when I first saw them. I especially like the plastic mouldings around the vehicle. I was lucky enough to pick up a lease back with only 21K, and believed I had a vehicle that would last me 10 years. Then I woke up from my dream! I had no idea there was a problem with the intake gaskets. It came as a shock when I realized that my van too, was starting to use too much coolant, and my fears were confirmed when our GM dealer tested it. After paying $1400 cdn it was still using coolant and the dealer said the head gasket was leaking. The job was $2300 cdn, but because there was some dispute over whether this was the original problem, they deducted the initial $1400 and we paid the rest. 4 months later now, and it is still using too much coolant. Soon after getting fixed, we went on vacation, and it started jerking as soon as we hit the highway. After returning I changed the 3 coil packs, and discovered plugs 5 and 2 were switched around on one of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2006

7th Jan 2007, 19:33

Coming up to a year since the head gasket was replaced, and the van is running really sweet now. It's not losing any coolant now, so I'm really happy it appears to be fixed. I did notice a leak from the motor that is beside the reservoir tank. I replaced this for $30 from a breakers yard. Would have cost $150 from GM! Other minor things are the LED's on the CD/radio, which burnt out. I bought replacement bulbs on Ebay and fixed this myself. Not as difficult as I thought it would be. The plastic strap on the rear tail gate also broke, so I replaced that with a leather belt and a couple nuts and bolts, believe it or not. Works really well I must say. I suppose I can say the interior is partially leather now? OK, nice try... Definitely would not buy another one of these vans though. We've still only driven 65Kms in it!

1st Mar 2009, 22:20

Update: Started leaking coolant again at 70k so we got rid of it. I would advise against buying one of these, no matter how cheap it's being sold for. A total piece of junk.

2000 Pontiac Montana from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance77569 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Not reliable

Faults:

Front Calipers, Numerous Electrical, Several Sensors, Intake Manifold Gaskets, Lots of rattles.

General Comments:

Bought this car for a family vehicle and it has performed that function, but very, very disappointed in the quality of this van.

I take very good care of my vehicles and this one is just falling apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd May, 2006

2000 Pontiac Montana ext from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carDodge B2500

Summary:

Chapter 7 it

Faults:

Transmission.

General Comments:

Very roomy and comfortable to drive. However the electric transmission, will worry you all the time.

Very undependable. i see why GM is going bankrupt. Serves them right as owning a Montana drove me to Bankruptcy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2006

26th Sep 2006, 19:21

I agee with you about the MONTANA. Mine is an electrical nightmare. Never again!!!

19th Feb 2007, 09:08

I agree re: electronic issues, I was debating whether to trade or spend $2000 on a new tranny, but my mind is made up now!!

Also, does anyone else have a "ghost" that locks & unlocks the doors at random??? We have read the codes in the manual over & over trying to change the lock sequence, but no matter what setting, the "ghost" still locks & unlocks it at will.!!!

2000 Pontiac Montana montana extended 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3900 miles
Most recent distance74900 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Quite good- pleased

Faults:

Driver side window inoperable

Rear hydraulic shocks replaced

Steering rack rebuilt

A/c condenser replaced

Presently in shop for loss of coolant, suspect gasket leak.

Overall it's been a very reliable vehicle with 74000 k at present.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2006

2000 Pontiac Montana from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carFord pontiac montana 2000

Summary:

Sell it fast while you still can

Faults:

To much to list, some common problems were intake leaks, transmission, wipers staying in up right position, valve job ect...

General Comments:

If it was a horse it would be shot long ago!Spend a little more and buy a Honda or Toyota. This is the worst car I ever had and will never buy a GM again!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th March, 2006

6th Sep 2006, 20:44

I agree with you on the electrical part of this vehicle.

I too have wiper problems along with others.

Clock doesn't work.

Low coolant light for no reason comes on along with the air bag light and many others.

I'm looking at the new Hyundai Entourage. An awful lot for your money and look at the warranty. Now GM is upping their warranty from 3 to 5 years -- Big DEAL. 10 years and 100k miles. That's where I'm going.

9th Mar 2007, 19:52

I have a 2000 Montana. I also, have the low coolant warning light on and the air bag light stays on. Now the gas gauge goes up and down as if was full then empty. It's like an electrical yoyo. It does ride comfortably. I've already put more into it then it's worth on as a trade in. I don't recommend this van to anyone. I have trouble with the power lock. I've replaced them a number of time. The weather stripping has come off the sliding doors. I've been told the head gasket needs replace. My brakes have to be replaced every year. I've been told the master cylinder is failing.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 45 reviews