2000 Pontiac Montana Reviews - Page 9 of 13

2000 Pontiac Montana Ext 3.0L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired500 kilometres
Most recent distance45400 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Less reliable than expected, OK gas mileage

Faults:

1. Jan/02 (11256km) :

Rear hatch handle broken and replaced under warranty.

2. Nov/02 (18149km) :

Seat belt retractor for middle right had to be replaced.

(Jan/05) - It has since again not been working properly and needs replacing.

Both rear tires found to have flat spots. I noticed it previously, but neglected to mention it at service time (dummy me!). Dealer stated it was from driving with the emergency brakes on - not a chance as my wife and I are conscientious drivers. My prognosis is that the vehicle was not strapped down tight enough during transport to dealer and the tires wore flat from side-to-side motion. We are still driving with the thumping sound until the tires wear more and then will be replaced by me.

Right sliding door needed adjustment to allow it to hold open on an incline.

3. Feb/03 (19,980km) :

Brakes had to be chamfered to eliminate grinding noise.

Intake and oil pump drive seals had to be resealed to eliminate coolant leak.

Water leak around rear door was repaired.

4. Dec/03 (33527 km) :

Driver side power window switch failed and needed replacing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st January, 2005

2000 Pontiac Montana from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

This is the worst engineered automobile I have ever driven

Faults:

June 2001 - The power sliding door unlatch actuator was replaced as part of a recall.

June 2001 - The right front daylight running light worked only intermittently. The dealer could not duplicate the problem.

June 2001 - The left rear brake light was burned out. The dealer replaced the bulb, lamp assembly, and the left turn signal.

July 2001 - The right front daylight running light stopped working. The dealer replaced the lamp assembly.

February 2002 - The right brake light stopped working. The dealer replaced the bulb.

February 2002 - The Low Coolant light stayed on all the time. The dealer performed a dye test and replaced the radiator cap.

February 2002 - The driver side seat warmer stopped working. The dealer replaced the seat cushion.

February 2002 - There was a loud squeal when the steering wheel was turned. This was caused by a fluid leak.

April 2002 - The airbag light stayed on for one week then it went out. The dealer replaced the right front seat belt buckle.

April 2002 - The right turn signal was flashing very quickly. The right front turn bulb was replaced.

September 2002 - Once again, the right turn signal was flashing very quickly. Once again, the right front turn bulb was replaced.

April 2, 2003 - There was an oil leak caused by a bad intake manifold gasket.

April 2, 2003 - Once again, the right turn signal was flashing very quickly. Once again, the right front turn bulb was replaced.

April 23, 2003 - A piece of door trim fell off. The dealer glued it back on.

April 23, 2003 - Yet again, the right turn signal was flashing very quickly. Yet again, the right front turn bulb was replaced.

April 23, 2003 - The airbag light came on intermittently while driving. The dealer replaced the drivers seat belt buckle.

April 2004 - For the fifth time, the right turn signal was flashing very quickly. For the fifth time, the right front turn bulb was replaced.

April 2004 - The air conditioner stopped working. The dealer replaced the compressor clutch and recharged the system.

May 2004 - The glove box door fell off. The dealer wanted $200 to repair it. ($100 for the parts and paint, $100 for the labor). Needless to say, the door is still off.

November 2004 - For the sixth time, the right turn signal was flashing very quickly. For the sixth time, the right front turn bulb was replaced.

November 2004 - Some suspension part was leaking which was causing poor handling. The repair was $350.

In addition to these problems, there have been numerous intermittent electronic gremlins. The radio lights fade out sometimes, the compass says we are headed "C", the check engine light stays on for a week after an oil change, and the hits keep coming.

General Comments:

This van has been riddled with electrical problems since day one. Two of my neighbors have the same year/make/model and they too have similar problems.

Having said all that, the problems have been more of a nuisance than anything else. The van has always started and gotten us where we needed to go. Despite the problems, it has never stranded us.

Whatever you do, don't buy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2004

10th Jan 2005, 21:49

We have had nothing, but problems with our 1999 Montana. The sliding glass door never has worked right. You name it it's been broke. It's my last GM carI will purchase.

22nd Jan 2006, 00:40

Our 1999 Pontiac Montana also has had a continuous stream of electrical problems. The problems originally appeared to be related to the intake of water into the tail light lenses. The bulbs would burn out because they were swimming in water. I got tired of replacing burned out light bulbs and paying for the replacement of tail light assemblies, so I drilled holes at the bottom of the lenses so the water could drain out. We have regularly had problems with all the various warning lights and with the turn signals operating faster than normal as well. The dealer claimed that changing the seat belt assembly would fix the problem because this is what the codes showed. We went elsewhere (because the Pontiac dealership was being shut down within the next week so there would not be any guaranty on the work). I took it elsewhere and there was no discussion about the seat belt assembly, instead I was told that I needed to change two sensors (temp/coolant sensors). After changing both sensors I still have the same electrical problems, especially when it rains. I just recently noticed that my headlights are filling with water when it rains. When it rains it pours.

Our van has now developed intermittent hesitation while driving and trying to accelerate, but only in the morning, and after it rains. I am convinced that this is part of the myriad electrical issues that are intrinsic to this vehicle and the poor sealants used on light assemblies.

Oh, and by the way we have also replaced the manifold gaskets 3 times; unfortunately, only one of those times was under warranty.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 45 reviews