2000 Pontiac Montana Reviews - Page 11 of 13

2000 Pontiac Montana extended 3.4L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance74000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

A Family hauling machine

Faults:

The service engine light goes on and off intermittently with no solution to the problem.

Rear latch handle replaced under warranty.

Electronics and lights pulse on a fairly consistent basis. Not a major problem just annoying.

Rust starting under rear hatch.

Seat belts are easily twisted and do not always retract back in their holders. A real pain especially when you are putting three kids in the vehicle.

General Comments:

Overall a very comfortable van for long drives. Fuel economy is good. Lots of room to throw all of your stuff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

28th Apr 2005, 18:16

As far as changing the plugs, I couldn't get the back plugs changed myself, so I went to a local reputable shop. They only charged me $62.00 (I supplied the plugs).

15th Aug 2005, 14:50

The problems with the check engine lights can be solved quite easily. The reason they come on is due to the gas cap not being tight and it takes 3 more fills for the computer to reset itself. Thus, make sure the cap is on tight each time you fill up and the light will not come on anymore.

2000 Pontiac Montana Extended 6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Best van I've ever owned

Faults:

Power door recalled.

Driver automatic door lock broke.

A/C fan motor broke and left me with only one speed.

General Comments:

Excellent van!!

The cabin is very roomy and quiet.

The extended version gives me more than adequate space for long trips.

Love the captain's chairs in the middle row.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2003

2000 Pontiac Montana Extended 3.4 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired53226 miles
Most recent distance54380 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

Nice size van great for all families. Great for long road trips

Faults:

Rear sliding door doesn't function. When you put the car in reverse it make a buzzing noise.

Things would come on by their selfs.

The air conditioning would stay on even when the car was stopped and they key was out of the ignition.

General Comments:

I am very impressed by this Pontiac besides the problems that have gone wrong. My children have rear air and stereo controls and they love listening to their CD's on their headphones. It has leather witch is a nice plus and it is very comfortable. The carpet it very easy to get stains out of. Just spray a carpet clean one or two times scrub lightly about 5 times and the stain was out and the carpet looked new again. I was surprised when my friend from work spilled a whole cup of coffee on the floor I just sprayed some carpet clean and scrubbed lightly and the carpet was like new. I highly recommend this van to any family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2003

2000 Pontiac Montana 3.4L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

A disappointing compromise

Faults:

Water collects in the overhead electronics console (only when it rains).

Rear shock absorbers do not work properly. Dealer agrees, but not covered by warranty.

Airbag/seatbelt light illuminates intermittently.

Rear windshield wiper does not do a very good job of wiping the windshield.

Drivers seat not aligned correctly with the steering column. (Could be an illusion, but still annoying.)

General Comments:

This car does everything it was advertised to do.

It does so slowly and at the expense of quality.

This car handles very poorly. I am willing to call it unsafe at highway speeds.

Fuel economy is average.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd December, 2002

16th Feb 2006, 23:00

I am a windshield tech and I have seen many of these vans come in with water leaking from the consul. And 9 times out off ten it is the windshield leaking. It can be caused by a hole the size of a pin head. Can be fix easy by local shop. It is not by a bad install the urethane can carry air in the seal and can pop which causes the hole. Hope this may help.

2000 Pontiac Montana Extended 3.4L 185 Horse from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L 185 Horse Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Looks good, rides nice, but not built very well, must have got the Friday Midnight shift lemon

Faults:

Our 2000 Montana started to have problems at 62,000 km. The motor was not running smoothly and the engine light would come on from time to time and upon review by Pontiac Dealer, we were told that we had a bad valve. Cost to fix $800, of course not covered by warranty.

Next the fuel gauge went cost to fix $500, again not covered.

Transmission went last week at 80,000 km. Cost to fix $3800. Again not covered, although the dealer was kind enough to offer me a 50/50 split on a reconditioned tranny with a 90 day warranty! Cost to us $1800. Not much of a decision.

New tranny has an 80,000 km warranty on it, which is 20,000 more than the original equipment. You think GM thinks they might have a problem here??

General Comments:

Should have spent the extra $4000 and bought a Honda Van. Keep up the good work domestics!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2002

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 45 reviews