2008 Pontiac Montana SV6 RWB from North America - Comments

15th Nov 2008, 10:19

I purchased a new RWD 2008 SV6 at the end on Sept this year - purely on price - 2nd day - Left front tire sensor went - fixed next day under warranty - next week right front tire sensor went - also On Star could not download a trip routing (never worked) - then the left front signal light would not work when the headlights were on - apparently a bulb was burnt - also went to wax the Van and found 5 spots on the roof, all small, down to the metal. Everything fixed 2 weeks ago, with no further problems. 3900 Kms as of today. Planning on going to Florida in February - hope I have no problems!! Will post this Spring when I am back home.

7th Jan 2009, 12:25

I purchased a 2008 SV6 in May of 2008. I have 25000 klms on it as of Jan 2009. I love it, have had no problems with it mechanically or other wise.

Did have the strange signal light problem as the comment above. They replaced the bulb, free of charge, about 3 months later it did it again, so they replaced the whole head lamp thingy. Haven't had the problem since.

My husband drives the holy crap out of this van, and it takes it, no problem. The remote start works great, didn't get the automatic doors, and wish I had, just to keep the kids from slamming the doors.

I give this van a 2 thumbs up. It is great on gas as well am very happy that I bought it, and very sad to hear that the US is unable to buy them.

9th Jan 2009, 20:55

Well... I purchased an 08 EXT with 29k kms on it... purely on price. So far so good... but then again these bread and butter vans have been around forever...

My only complaint... since GM stopped at model year 2006, there is nothing available for the 08-09s and they went to a TOTALLY different bolt pattern for the wheels... HOW STUPID IS THAT?? Can't buy after market wheels at ANY decent price... if I wanna put 20" or 22" I can find SOME... but will not pay 1/4 of the vans price to put rims and tires on there.

The rest... pure GM plastic... but for $15k fully loaded...couldn't go wrong... so I gave to my wife :) and now I drive the PT Cruiser GT... more fun, more guts... but WAY less practical.

On a 1 to 10 this van is a 6.5 no more no less... it moves people... it carries stuff... it was cheap... and cheap to fix...

Cheers!

14th Jan 2009, 21:41

Bought 08 Ext Montana in July and raced it across the Rockies west to Vancouver and then east through the states. Great way to get to your first 5,000 service quickly.

Then came the winter and had my first issue that could have got me stranded in the wilds of Northern Ontario. Engine block heater cable screws with the electronics when used overnight. Nearly impossible to get restarted after shutting off. Can only use the heater cable for up to 2 hours and its minus 40 tonight. No cure yet other than a cable replacement under warranty and guessing when you are going to use the vehicle next.

Also, remote start does not work in these temperatures and you have to go out and clear the snow off to enter and start by key.

Oh yes, window De-icing does not happen except by scraper internal windshield useless for driving away with a clear windshield.

So far the Montana is definitely not a convenient winter vehicle.

10th Apr 2009, 09:12

My name is Brian and I'm, buying a Montana, 2008 extended. So far I like what I read and the looks on the brochure. My Buddy who owns a 2006 Montana has over 300 000 km and still purrs like a kitten.

14th Nov 2009, 19:42

In March of this year I purchased a 2009 Pontiac Montana SV6. The only real issue I have with it is the "idle problem". When you take you foot off the break (especially on an incline) the van shakes or appears to idle rough. I am told it is caused by the transmission, and it had to do with the the high stall torque converter. And I'm told it is and operational characteristic of this van. But I don't believe it. Has anyone else noticed this problem? They started using this torque converter in the late 2007 models and newer. I wonder if I just have a rare dud, and they don't want to replace it. The only other complaint is lack of storage space.. but I knew that when I bought it.. I can live with it. Overall I love to drive it.

16th Nov 2009, 22:28

If anyone has experienced the operational characteristic listed in the previous comment, please let me know. I am fighting to get this problem fixed, but I need to know if I'm the only one with this issue. Thanks.

28th Nov 2009, 10:02

I have a 2008 Montana SV6 (Here in Canada)

Mine does EXACTLY the same thing! ALWAYS DID from the DAY I bought it.

ALSO funny enough, I had a 2004 Montana, and I was in an accident, and it was written off.

During that period the dealer rented me a 2008 Extended fully loaded SV6, and it did the SAME THING.

I chocked it up to being a RENTAL, but was quite surprised that my BRAND NEW 08 did the same thing!

I have just lived with it!!..

Now my engine light is on and the vehicle is idling very rough, and accelerates like CRAP now!...

What could it be??

28th Nov 2009, 12:45

Here's your problem: It's a GM!

29th Jan 2010, 13:57

I'm looking at buying an 08 Montana SV6. It's going up on a hoist later today to be examined by a mechanic. Already I suspect there might be an electrical issue. The engine light is on, and one of the power locks doesn't work. I'm still driving the '99 Venture we've had since '01. We never had any major problems with it, so I'm willing to give the Montana a fair shake.

It drives smoothly, handles pretty nicely and there doesn't seem to be a lot of road noise in the cabin. So far I've gotten two opinions from other mechanics, both sight unseen... one mechanic doesn't even want to see it, "too many problems with Chev and Pontiac vans overall" he says... and the other guy says he hasn't seen any major issues with them. I'll let you know what the guy under the hoist says when he's done.

13th Jun 2010, 13:37

I just bought the 2008 Montana SV6, and I'm having the same problem with engine light showing up in the early hours and then disappearing after 11 am, and it shakes when idle, especially at intersections while waiting for green light.

It's still under warranty, and do you guys think I should give it back to the dealer and get my money back, or get a new van from them? Or will they give me one?

It's just because I am not comfortable seeing the engine light keep popping up. I took it to their mechanic, and they said it's a spark plug, but it wasn't, so it's still showing up.