1991 Pontiac Sunbird GT 3.1 from North America


A good and relabel starter sport car


Paint on the wing started to fade after the car hade been on the road for 6 years

The fog light bolts broke and I had to replace them in 2003

Paint is starting to fade off of the cars front bumper.

General Comments:

It took 14 years for the alternate to go bad on the car

The paint stile looks like new and yes it is the factory paint

The intier stile looks like new

All of the lights work and have never been changed

Less has gone wrong than have gone bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st November, 2005

22nd Nov 2005, 11:22

What? First what are you trying to tell us? Finally, sorry to disappoint you, the Sunbird is not a sports car.

22nd Jun 2006, 00:39

I just bought my 3rd 'Bird. My first was an 88 GT Turbo Convertible, the second was a 92 SE and this one is a 91 LE.

The first two were 4cyl, this is the first 6cyl.

As for reliability, I think the fact that I have owned 3 speaks for itself.

My only complains relating to the car are the seats are abit too low to the floor, weak original struts and shocks, unusual feel of the brakes, and the turn signal arm breaks frequently. But, I also have to say in all fairness, that these issues apply to all of Pontiac's mid-sized autos.

While these are not performance cars or sport cars, for the size, I think they perform well with proper maintence. Neglect the little car and it WILL let you know. Transversely, take care of it, and it will take care of you.

Overall, I would say it is a very good car and well worth owning if you do not plan to abuse or neglect it. They make great little first cars or student cars, but often times, this is where the abuse and neglect starts.

If you stay on top of everything and not delay on repairs, the 'Bird will serve you well.

1991 Pontiac Sunbird SE 2.0 Liter from North America


Tough little car, very impressive


The front wheel bearings went bad. The transmission is rough shifting out of park. The A/C is out.

General Comments:

I can't kill this car. My radiator leaks, but I didn't want to spend the money on repairing it since I was looking for a new car. I have overheated the car several times, but it will not die. I drive this car hard, I have driven it through a foot of water and it just keeps going. I am truly impressed. Great basic transportation! If the looks of this car were better I would probably still drive it daily, now it's my backup vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2005

1991 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0L 4 Cylinder from North America


Not A Bad Car


The dash is separating right above the radio.

Car doesn't like to start in winter.

Rear defrost makes a funny noise after a few minutes of use.

Car runs rough, at times seem as if it will stall.

General Comments:

I purchased this car from a family friend who owns a car dealership after totaling my 1998 Pontiac Sunfire. The mileage was low and the body for the year it is, is in excellent shape.

All in all the car isn't too bad. For being one of the last true Pontiac 2.0 engines, it has get up and go. It gets good gas mileage (27 mph city, 30 mph highway).

There are minor problems, but most of them are due to the fact that it sat around and was only drove 19,000 miles in the last 10 years.

The cabin isn't very comfortable, but once you change out the seats, it's quite comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2005

1991 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2 dr Sedan 3.1L V6 Multi-Port FI from North America


Good sporty little commuter car with decent MPG for engine; reliable IF treated right!


Heater core went out at 230,000 or so; 2nd time has had to be replaced from what previous owner said.

Front left tire has been suddenly going flat; have to put air in tire every day.

Interior is starting to show wear; dash panels are separating, etc.

Transmission now shifts through gears roughly, but not so much it hinders driving.

Once I get the car up to 75 MPH+, it rattles horribly. Any suggestions to fix this?

Idles roughly and sometimes seems like it is going to die at idle.

Back right speaker has some problem where it crackles when I turn things on in the car, at start, when accelerating, etc.

Radiator has small leak in it, wasn't a big problem until now; now the car is starting to overheat after a month with the problem, luckily, it doesn't get any farther up the gauge then a little above halfway, but it used to sit at the 1/4 line. And, the low coolant light comes on all the time, and I have to keep a gallon of water with me to make sure and fill up the coolant tank, which I have to do every time I drive the car. Any suggestions?

General Comments:

I got the car from a friend at work that took very good care of it, unfortunately, I don't know that much about cars and I can't afford to take it into a mechanic, so I do what little I can, but with this many miles on the car, I am glad it is running at all.

It still gets 20-22 MPG depending on whether I am driving around town or on the freeway.

The interior IS uncomfortable (and cramped!), but not so bad that I couldn't drive it for a long period of time. And no cup holders make for a troublesome adventure with drinks!

The appeal for me in this car is that still it is my 2nd car and is miles ahead of my last car which I have finally sold. And I still get an exhilarating feel when I gun the engine on the freeway and the 3.1L V6 takes off.

Overall, I am glad that the car is running and it is still a good little car, especially when compared to my last car; a 77 Grand Prix with a LOT of problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2005

25th Feb 2005, 21:21

First off, a 2 door is called a "coupe" and sedan means 4 doors.

Your tire could have either gotten misaligned with the wheel, or simply need replacement.

Have you ever had your transmission flushed? Old fluid can gum up over time, making shifting rougher, and shortening the life of your tranny.

Your rattling could be an alignment issue, or possibly a number of suspension components. If you align it, and it drives fine for a bit then starts rattling again soon, it's definitely the suspension, and is a costly replacement, but will help extend tire life, and reduce or eliminate rattling.

The idle problem is likely carbon (or other foreign material) deposits built up throughout your fuel system. Get a thorough flush done by a mechanic (not a simple gas tank additive, but a throgough flushing, cleaning your intake, throttle-body, combustion chambers, everything). Also check into replacing the fuel filter to help your fuel system stay clean. That will restore fuel flow, and keep the engine running smoother, lasting longer, as well as boosting your gas mileage. You should be able to get close to 30 mpg in that car.

As for your cooling system... You keep water with you? Do you mix it 50/50 with coolant/antifreeze? Water alone will make the coolant mix too lean, and reduce cooling efficiency. Your best bet would be to have the leak patched up and get your cooling system flushed.

Drop a grand on your car, and it should be running good as new, and last you as long as you want it to.

Also... Change the oil every 3k miles, using a high mileage oil, like Valvoline Maxlife or equivalent. That will expand seals in the engine, lubricate it better, and clean it better. And if you do it yourself, make sure you get a good oil filter, too. The cheap ones (cough cough FRAM cough) don't filter as well, and will allow more harmful crud to flow through your engine.

1000 bucks or so to keep your car in tip top shape is a lot cheaper than buying another one. And after that investment, it'll run a lot better, and a lot longer, than any other car in the 1000 dollar price range.

13th Jul 2008, 19:35

About the leaky radiator, Mythbusters showed that you can stop a radiator leak with an egg. I do not know the long term effects of putting an egg in your radiator, however.

2nd May 2016, 03:36

A coupe has no window frame on the door, but a sedan does. There are 2 door hard tops/coupes and there are 4 door hard tops and 4 door sedans. And I've never had any problems with, cough, cough, Fram filters. And I've used them for 40 years.

2nd May 2016, 12:34

A '91 Sunbird two door is more correctly called a sedan, but considering how the term "coupe" has been subverted by marketing (like Nissan calling the Maxima sedan a "four door sports coupe" and other absurdities), it has lost much of its meaning. Much like like how any old car that is more than 20 years old is now called a "classic".

Re Fram filters: you may want to go to www.bobistheoilguy.com and see what they have to say about them, based on objective comparisons.