1992 Pontiac Sunbird Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1992 Pontiac Sunbird SE Convertible 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance103300 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great bargain

Faults:

Within 24 hours the car was stalling at stop signs. Had to have towed to a repair shop. Started on its own within an hour.

Repair shop said the alternator had gone bad. Took it home and replaced the alternator and battery. Still same problem. Called the purchasing dealer and they told us to unplug a wire off the transmission (overdrive?), runs fine now.

Seals on the windows is in bad shape, power door lock on passenger side is bad, back window won't go up (power) without a few attempts. Emergency brake doesn't work.

General Comments:

This car is nice inside except for cracks in the door panels at the tops above the arm rests.

Fun and very sporty and was only 3000.00, has a ton of pep.

Great shape interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th April, 2001

21st Jun 2001, 20:32

Which wire had to be disconnected? I am having the same problem. Thanks.

15th Jul 2001, 15:52

I have a 1994 LE Sedan. Before I bought it I had it inspected at Firestone. They could not find any problems with it, but two days later the radiator busted and I was out a lot of money. A week after that the front speakers blew and the rear speakers are on their way. I have also noticed that the dashboard is starting to warp.

14th Dec 2001, 21:28

I had the same problem with the rear window not going up and it taking a few attempts.

The problem is a quick and easy fix, you just need a new set of window switches! :)

The rears seem to get jammed rather easily.

8th May 2003, 23:14

I had the same problem with my Sunbird that I bought form a used car dealer. I had it idled up and now it doesn't stop. Hopefully, the alternator doesn't start acting up, but the ABS is really crazy... does it need warming up before driving?

13th May 2004, 21:02

I am a 16 year old female, and I bought a '91 Pontiac Sunbird LE convertible from a used car lot. I really love it. The car began acting as if it was going to die when I applied the brakes to go around a sharp curve. One night I went to work and when I went to leave the car would not start. It would start if I applied a little gas, but would die soon after. My dad went up the next morning to see if he could fix it. The exhaust was so bad my dad couldn't hear the motor, so he changed the muffler before he did anything else. After he changed the muffler, the car runs and sounds like a dream!

31st Mar 2009, 16:50

My sixteenth birthday was in June of '08. My dad started working on my car a few months before that to get it ready for me to drive. It's been in my family since it was new.

The gas tank leaks, the transmission went bad and the brakes went bad. He almost has it fixed and I'm so excited because it's adorable, but I'm worried about how it will run when I finally get it.

1992 Pontiac Sunbird GT 3.1L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired169000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Great first car

Faults:

- 3 alternators due to the stereo in the car.

- 2 thermostats.

- The car would stall unpredictably due to a wire short.

- Replaced a crank sensor.

- Replaced all brakes.

- Replaced struts and shocks.

- Seats are wearing along with the belts.

- Dash is warping.

- Sunroof was leaking, but now fixed.

- Replaced 4 tires.

- Input shaft bearing in the transmission is worn out.

- Car was aligned twice.

General Comments:

When I first received the car it was very reliable, that soon changed due to lack of maintenance.

The car is very quick, but I find it oversteers considerably.

If you work on the car yourself it is very difficult to do most easy repairs: ie: changing the spark plugs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2001

31st Jul 2001, 10:12

I did the same repair (unplugging the overdrive). Runs great. Could have been costly with the wrong mechanic, I got it fixed for 30 bucks, great repair eh?

21st Aug 2001, 06:36

I've had bad alternator problems with my 91 Pontiac Sunbird 4 cylinder. I've replaced it about 5 times and not sure of the problem. Since the last time it was replaced, the fuse running to my gauges (odometer, speedometer) has been blowing every couple days. Does anybody have a clue? Thanks.

Jeff

uscjethro@yahoo.com.

25th Oct 2001, 19:16

I bought a 92'Pontiac Sunbird LE in March and I have put about $1000 dollars worth of work into it. I have replaced the alternator, the heater core and a 6 inch "s" shaped hose that ended up costing me $250. Today the car started a slow quiet escalating knocking on the passenger side of the engine. Oh-yeah. Anyway, I made the mistake of turning the car off and now it won't start. It's as if it is out of gas. There is oil in it and gas so I don't know what the knocking is. If anyone has any clue as to what is wrong with it PLEASE e-mail me. Dolar40girl@aol.com.

Thanks

23rd Jun 2002, 20:09

Well it could be a lot of different things that would cause a clunking noise. Check your cylinders, or maybe the headers are cracked. Another thing that makes engines clunk is low-octane fuel... make sure you always get fuel with at least 87 octane. Check your battery... sometimes things get rusty and don't transmit the electricity, but if your battery turns on and the lights and radio work than that's a negative. Your best bet is to have a mechanic look at it... one you can trust.-

Sunbird-Chick.

28th Feb 2003, 13:49

I need a 93 sunbird steering wheel. The only one GM offers is $350!!! Is that absurd or what? Any suggestions? Ugolino1@cs.com.

24th Jul 2003, 11:06

I'd get a steering wheel from the wrecker. I'm sure they won't charge $350 for it!

8th Feb 2005, 20:17

I just purchased a 1992 Sunbird convertible and having problems with the gages not working it will blow a fuse when a new one is put in. HELP!!!Chrystal.

28th Sep 2013, 11:57

I know this is an old post, but I'm having the same problem. As soon as you put a gauge fuse in, it blows. Did you find your problem?

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews