1998 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1998 Pontiac Sunfire GTX 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Good bang for your buck!

Faults:

Shifts hard when it's cold, but otherwise, nothing has really gone wrong.

General Comments:

Great car for young drivers. Decent performance for the price. Cheap and easy to modify and upgrade, as well as maintain.

Feels a little underpowered for the body style, but is relatively quick none the less.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2002

1998 Pontiac Sunfire Sedan 2.2 liter 4-cylnder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter 4-cylnder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired37590 miles
Most recent distance41200 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Affordable family/sports car

Faults:

Transmission shifts very hard from drive to reverse, and vice versa.

Transmission shifts hard while driving up until about 45MPH. After that it's smooth sailing!

General Comments:

The design of this car is intensely styled, however the paint job scratches very easily.

It's fast and sporty with a lot of power for a 4-cylnder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2001

1998 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres

Summary:

Good sporty car for young drivers

Faults:

Oxygen sensor is starting to go bad (not covered by the dealer), muffler needs to be replaced.

Replaced spark plugs and air filter.

General Comments:

Acceleration is quick, handles good, doesn't shake at high speeds. One disadvantage is that speed governor cuts in at 175 km/h.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2001

10th Sep 2001, 19:43

I own a '98 Sunfire Sedan 3-speed automatic and it had 37,000 miles on it when I bought in 2001. The only problem I see is that the transmission shifts very hard from drive to reverse and vice versa. It also shifts hard while I'm driving. Once I get above 45 MPH I don't have anymore trouble. All around it's a really good car. Comfortable ride, cozy but roomy at the same time (scratches very easily too).

29th Nov 2002, 21:37

I love my Sunfire. I was in a bad accident today and I walked away with out a scratch. I think my car is totaled though. A F350 hit me and tailed me into a Celica. The officer said if it was not for the desighn of this car I would be dead. My car had 65,000 miles on it and worked great. I miss her already and I hope she will be OK.

19th Mar 2003, 21:05

3 weeks ago I purchased my first car, a 98 Pontiac Sunfire. I've already fell in love with it. The car has very good gas mileage. I do a lot of driving the gas last me the whole week.

22nd Jun 2003, 23:34

My wife and I both have 98 Sunfires, we got them on the same day. We are now having problems with the EGR valve. The car stalls when we slow down for stop signs, etc. Is anyone else having problems??

This problem isn't covered on warranty and it's a costly problem.

Thanks.

Sunfire Owner.

29th Jul 2004, 18:36

Yes, I have the same problem with the car puttering out. I think its beacuse I got 93,0000 miles on it and it only cuts off when I don't drive it for a long time and its very hot or very cold and only with in the first 3-5 minutes of driving. After that it's a perfect ride. To fix this problem I leave my car on for 3-4 minutes before I leave for work in the mornings. I think a lot of people have problems with the car warming up. That's life. heh.

1998 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.4 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carMerkur Scorpio

Faults:

Nothing yet, my window are manual and sometimes the driver's side acts like it doesn't want to roll down, but it never has stuck.

The transmission, if driven hard, gets loose and makes some funny, stomach sinking sounds. Other than that, it's a great car.

General Comments:

I really like my car. I've never been very satisfied with domestic's and really had to settle for this car cause I wanted a Honda Civic, but it hasn't let me down.

The performance seems a little slow, but my last car had a race tuned Cosworth V6, so it's natural for me to feel unsatisfied in that department. Other than that, it's a great car for Pontiac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2001

1998 Pontiac Sunfire Coupe from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles

Summary:

High performance bargain

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with the car except that it's no good in the snow. It's always been very reliable and never let me down. The 5 speed transmission has good pick-up for such a cheap version of a Pontiac.

General Comments:

This car is sporty and comfortable. Handles well on windy roads. More of a girls car :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

1998 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.4 DOHC 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 DOHC 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 kilometres
Most recent distance72000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Shelby Charger

Summary:

A step up from my last car with modern tech and looks

Faults:

Passenger light switch rattles, difficult to change the front signal lights (must remove entire headlight assembly).

General Comments:

Altogether I am happy but I'm a little worried about the tranny... I've heard they like to expire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th February, 2001

29th Aug 2001, 17:25

I had to have my transmission rebuilt at 65,000 miles. Yikes!

1998 Pontiac Sunfire SE Coupe 2.2 L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance15500 miles
Previous carVolvo 264 GL

Summary:

It's a Keeper!!

Faults:

Right outside mirror wouldn't stay in position - replaced.

No other problems!

General Comments:

Best built car I have owned. Enjoyable on trips and around town. Particularly pleased with 4-speed automatic. 3 year/36,000 mile warranty was a selling point.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2000

1998 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.4L? from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.4L?
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10

Faults:

This car was new and the dealer took six month to find that the oxygen sensor was defective!

General Comments:

After the dealer replaced the oxygen sensor the car has been great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 47 reviews