1998 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 7 of 11

1998 Pontiac Sunfire Convert. 2.4 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

This car is an oversized golf cart

Faults:

The windows stopped working on both sides.

The convertible top doesn't work half of the time.

The car dies at red lights and occasionally at idle.

The car runs very poorly, even upon regular maintenance.

General Comments:

I cannot stand this car. I am 6 ft 4 and it is way to small. Its my girlfriends car and we are going to trade it in today. Never another pontiac again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2006

26th May 2006, 17:11

No Pontiacs because you hate your girlfriend's Sunfire? Not entirely logical, wouldn't you agree? Pontiac makes some great cars like the G6 or GTO.

29th May 2006, 14:48

Hmmm lets look at the miles on this car... its been well used and seems to have made it for quite some time. Now we have this car expert who decides he hates it and we should not buy any pontiacs becase his girlfriends.. not his, but his girlfriends Sunfire is starting to show its age... lets not forget this car is over ten years old now and it was a less expensive model to start with. What a joke are there people like 15 years old that are making up these reviews???

1st Jan 2007, 22:33

You say the Pontiac sun fire is too small for you because you are 6'4, well I would assume so... just like everything else there are different sizes for different people. This car was made for someone with a small petite build. So you need to buy a bigger car! And for it stalling out, it probably just needed a tuneup or something, you have to take care of a car if you want it to take care of you. Can't believe you would say all Pontiac's are junk after just that one car! I'm thinking of getting one of these or a Pontiac grand prix or grand am.

1998 Pontiac Sunfire LX 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Great car, reliable, and sporty

Faults:

- Radio lights went out at 75,000 miles.

- Alternator replaced at 80,000 miles.

- Battery replaced at 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

Great car. We would like to purchase a 2006 Pontiac Sunfire, but the dealer said that Pontiac is not manufacturing the model... That's a shame.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2005

23rd Feb 2006, 09:55

I have a 1998 Sun fire Pontiac and I'm having wheel problems.

The right side has a loud noise coming from it. I changed tires, rims, etc. still there pleaseeeeee help me figure out the problem.

23rd Mar 2011, 16:20

To previous poster, you have a bad wheel bearing.

1998 Pontiac Sunfire GT from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Previous carFord Taurus

Faults:

The gas pedal in my Sunfire sticks on hot and humid days, or more generally in the summer. This problem never occurs during the winter or cooler months. We have taken it to the dealership and every time like anything else that needs fixing, it works fine. Nobody really believes that this is happening. It feels like there is a brick behind the pedal enabling us to push for a moment and then suddenly it jerks and goes forward.

General Comments:

Otherwise the car isn't that bad. Sure the car has it small problems like any other one does, but the pedal is the more serious issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2004

17th Jan 2005, 20:23

The floor mat slides up after getting in and out of the car.

This causes the pedals to stick because the floor mat gets pushed up to much.

17th May 2005, 21:12

The floor mat in my car does the same thing affecting the pedals.

1998 Pontiac Sunfire gtx 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5800 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great car great car great car and again great car

Faults:

Headlight dimmer switch, $150 cdn to replace, driver seat wearing, but I am in and out a lot.

General Comments:

I can't say enough good about this car, it handles great.

Gets great fuel mileage.

Very snappy for a four cylinder

Seats could be more comfortable on a long drive.

Not much head room for anyone over 6 feet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

1998 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carEagle Premier

Summary:

A nice, cheap car for a teenager

Faults:

My tilt steering has broken 4 times. This causes the steering wheel to move up and down.

The paint scratches very easily, very prone to door dings.

General Comments:

The interior is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd April, 2004

13th Apr 2006, 14:36

Okay you put a bad face review for the Sun fire, but those few problems you had don't make it a bad car. What else happened to it? If what you listed is it, that doesn't make it a bad car and your review isn't helpful at all.

20th Nov 2008, 20:19

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think the happy/sad/undecided face is based on whether the person would buy a Pontiac (or whatever kind of car again), not if they liked the car they had.

7th Jan 2011, 23:15

If your tilt steering wheel has broken four times, it is either being treated badly, or the mechanic doesn't know how to correctly install the tilt mechanism.

And when a replacement part keeps getting broke, it usually is the person behind the wheel that is at fault for the part to continuously break. If ya are treating the vehicle good, then have a different mechanic replace the tilt mechanism! If you're treating the vehicle bad, then quit treating it bad and it won't keep breaking!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 47 reviews