2005 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews

2005 Pontiac Sunfire Sport/GT Ecotec 2.2 DOHC from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission Ecotec 2.2 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired74971 miles
Most recent distance86500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Best bang for your buck

Faults:

- Both wheel bearings at 86k.

- Tires wear very fast.

- Pads & rotors at 85k.

General Comments:

It's been a great little car for me. Quickest car in its class to this day. Even the auto is quick off the line. The only reason I'm selling is because it is an auto. Handles very well.

0-60 in a respectable 8.5 for an automatic 4 cylinder.

Exhaust note sounds great at high RPM.

Parts are dirt cheap and it is easy to work on. I would definitely trust it on a long trip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2013

23rd May 2013, 21:35

You're selling it "because it is an auto"?

Wasn't that apparent when you bought it?

2005 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance25692 kilometres
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

Do not purchase a GM car

Faults:

Passenger side head lights not working; wiring appears corroded and vinyl covering stained from wiring corrosion. Wires rusted and broken right behind the head lamp unit. It is out of warranty by years not Km, so there is no coverage or recall from GM. They are not interested in any repair I asked. The dealerships are not interested in repair unless you want a diagnostic at your cost, and then repair at your cost.

Can a new wiring harness for the lights be purchased from a parts supply house?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd June, 2008

2005 Pontiac Sunfire SL 2.2 Ecotec from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Ecotec Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance40256 kilometres

Summary:

GM has reached a previously unknown level of cheapness with the Sunfire

Faults:

Fuel Injector failed at 35,000km

Brakes wearing prematurely

Has trouble shifting gears at times.

General Comments:

Build quality is terrible.

Interior finish is possibly the worst I've ever seen.

Terrible line of sight.

Road noise is horrible.

Suspension absorbs NOTHING.

Cheap, cheap cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2008

6th May 2010, 12:15

What do you expect? It was a $14,000 car new! Sounds like you want a $50K Cadillac ride in a $14K Pontiac body. Geesh...

7th May 2010, 18:17

My sister owns a 2001 and I've driven it, it's exactly what it's supposed to be; cheap economical transportation, that's why they are so cheap. Like others before me have said, you get what you pay for.

4th Sep 2010, 17:23

Yeah, you do get what you pay for, at least to some extent. However, you'd think GM could have done better for what was their smallest car for years. Consumer Reports summed up the Sunfire/Cavalier with the quote, "crude, outdated, and unpleasant."

17th May 2013, 13:16

No matter how much you paid for it, a car should be reliable. Injectors should last the life of the car.

2005 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2 Ecotec from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Ecotec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Good vehicle for the price

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with it. I've had no service done to it other than oil changes every 6000 kms, and an air filter change and tire rotation at 20k. And it still runs like the day I bought it.

General Comments:

I bought a new Sunfire in 2005. I paid about 19k after taxes. The only cheaper new cars I could've bought at the time here in Ontario were the Hyundai Accent, Kia Rio, Toyota Echo, or Chevy Aveo, all of which are much smaller and way slower than a Sunfire. A base model Civic would've been about 1.5k more, and had only 115 horsepower compared to the Sunfire's 140.

The Sunfire is a very reliable vehicle and performance-wise it's above average for an economy car. The engine has lots of pep and is good on the highway too. It does not match German or Japanese brands in fit and finish, however. If you care about fit and finish and want to drive in luxury and comfort, you might be better off considering an import. However, if all you need is a reliable car with decent performance (for its class) and great fuel economy, I would strongly recommend a Sunfire. GM cars depreciate fast and a used Sunfire can be had for much less than you'd pay for a Civic or Corolla of the same year and mileage, which is great news for you if you're looking to buy a used car for a low price. Make sure your Sunfire is a 2003 or newer, because only the 03+ have the new Ecotec engine, which is considered one of the best 4 cylinder engines in the world and is now found in all the new GM compact cars.

Although I've been satisfied with my Sunfire I will soon be replacing it with something more upscale, as I've recently landed a new job which pays significantly more than my previous one. I am considering a BMW 3 series, a Lexus IS, or an Infiniti G35.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2008

26th Mar 2008, 11:15

PLEASE, before looking at ANY of those cars you mentioned, look at the new Pontiac G8. It is a world-class car with more power and better quality and reliability.

I considered a G35, but after reading of so many mechanical problems (it is, after all, a Nissan) I steered clear of it.

I'd also be wary of the Lexus (Toyota is on the skids big time in quality), and several BMW models are rated worse than average in reliability.

The new G8 is getting rave reviews, and our local dealership is selling them as fast as they roll off the trucks. The most powerful V-8 model is comparable in price to the Lexus, Infinity and BMW, and outperforms them by a vast margin, with 0-60 times in the 5-second range.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 14 reviews