2005 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2005 Pontiac Sunfire Sporttec 2.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles

Summary:

Great for the price

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

It is my first car, and so far so good. It's nice and sporty, excellent on gas, accelerates fast, is spacious, and has lots of room in the trunk for road trips.

It looks good - definitely a good price for a little sporty car. I have no complaints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th March, 2006

1st Jul 2006, 17:00

I have read all of the reviews for Pontiac Sunfire, and with all the comments together the car sounds like a liability! My daughter owned a 1997 Pontiac Sunfire, bought it used with about 20,000 kms on it in 2002, and the first thing that went was the transmission. She was told it had an odd defect in it, and the dealership went half and half with her on the expense of replacing it after much haggling!

Then in May of 2004, the motor and transmission broke down together, all of a sudden it started burning humongous amounts of oil and the gears were not shifting properly! She took it in to get a quote on the cost of repair, and the quote was so high, they just took it to a Chevrolet dealership and traded it in on a new 2004 Cavalier, which has given my daughter and her husband good service to this point in time!

I don't know why General Motors doesn't improve the quality of the Sunfire, it is a good looking little car that delivers no value for its cost! Some people bought it thinking it was an alternative look to the Cavalier with the same quality performance, and what a let down they received! If that doesn't cause a customer to buy foreign cars, I don't what would, no wonder the big three no longer even get on the market map!

The Pontiac Sunfire certainly hasn't, and doesn't give GM any credibility!

2nd Jul 2006, 09:40

An engine and transmission just doesn't suddenly self-destruct. There are warning signs that things are going. The engine will loose coolant, knock, idle funny and the transmission will slip or not downshift gears. That is unless the driver is abusing the car then all bets are off. This guy has is happy with his car and has had no problems. The fact that you've had bad luck with a vehicle doesn't mean you should hijack his review and carry on about what crap GM is. At the same time I'm sorry to hear about the problems with your car.

20th Sep 2006, 14:40

I have a 2005 SLX Full load it has been awesome I have had no problems what so ever and it has 70,000 kms.

2005 Pontiac Sunfire Coupe 2.2 ecotec from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 ecotec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired200 kilometres
Most recent distance4000 kilometres

Summary:

Overall I would definitely recommend this car

Faults:

No problems with it yet.

General Comments:

Bought my 2005 Sunfire coupe about 8 months ago. It is a base model, except for a power sunroof and aluminum wheels. Not a single problem with it yet. The best part is definitely the engine, which is both very good on gas, and fairly fast. It's no Corvette, but it will outaccelerate Civics, Corollas, and the like. The engine is also extremely quiet and smooth. You can't even hear it at a red light. But as with any car, be sure to keep it under 2500 rpm until the temperature needle is in the normal range if you want it to last long.

I do have a few complaints tho:

First, the wipers have only 3 speeds: lo, hi, and delay. I can't believe a car built in 2005 still doesn't have fully intermittent wipers.

Second, there is no way to adjust the passenger side mirror from the inside.

Third, the interior quality is pretty low, with various squeeks and rattles coming from the dash, and the car isn't even a year old. The interior plastic also looks pretty cheap, and the sun visor hits the rearview mirror when you fold it down. But I guess a low quality interior is something you should expect in a car that costs only $13,000 brand new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2006

4th Mar 2006, 10:44

You can pivot the rear view mirror from the back and adjust it so the visors clear it. Take a close look and you'll see.

27th Apr 2006, 08:03

I agree with the complaints.

When you need to pull down the visor in a hurry - such as when you round a corner on an off ramp - you don't have time to adjust the rear view to accommodate it. This is a very poor design that could be considered a safety hazard.

The manual passenger side view can be a hazard if for any reason you need to adjust it while on the highway.

I like the manual windows, though. That means no expensive regulator to die just before inspection time. The windows on a coupe tend to be too expansive and heavy for the regulators typically used on vehicles with power windows.

Also, I find the back end to be extremely light, which means that turns taken with any speed or bumps will result in a drift effect as the back end bounces up and then chases the front end. It took me a while to get used to that. Fortunately, because this vehicle is/has front wheel drive, the slide will not continue into the next turn.

The interior vinyl looks cheap when it's dusty, but if you Armorall it on a regular basis, it's not that bad looking.

Being a dog owner, I hate the fabric on the seats. Dog hair sticks to it with a vengeance. If Fido travels with you, keep the seats well covered at all times.

But the car is fun to drive and with tires made for northeast snowstorms, even winter driving can be a pleasure.

I wish the gas mileage was better, though. Compared to my old Toyota, the Sunfire's 4-cylinder is a gas hog.

2005 Pontiac Sunfire SL 2.2 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Overall the car is fun to drive, comfortable and sporty. I enjoy the car. For the price, A+!

Faults:

No problems with this car yet, except for the crunching sound from the brakes. Which from the previous reviews appears to be cheap brake pads. I will change them later.

General Comments:

I bought this car with 60 km's on it from a dealer. So far it's proven to be reliable. It's pretty economical on gas, which is great since gas prices are astronomical right now. I like the split down rear seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2005

2005 Pontiac Sunfire SL 2.2 Eco-tec from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Eco-tec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42 kilometres
Most recent distance2382 kilometres

Summary:

Sporty, yet Economical!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The car accelerates quickly and has great handling characteristics. But is is still good on gas.

The sport package makes the car look very sporty.

The trim and workmanship are not the greatest however, at the current blowout prices this is a deal one can't refuse.

Lots of trunk and cargo space (with the fold down seats) and fairly good leg room in the front and rear seats (2- door).

But it is a little hard to get in and out of the car. especially since it sits fairly low on the ground.

All in all it is a fabulous car and is the best value for the money spent. It is an economical and simple mode of transportation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2005

4th Aug 2005, 08:04

I purchased a 2005 Sunfire. I really like the looks of it. My main complaint about it is the brakes are so loud and they groan a lot, especially after sitting for any length of time, I had the dealership look at the brakes and they said they were just fine. Now I have to continue to listen to the brakes and it is very frustrating to have a new vehicle that sounds like this. I am trying to find someone else out there that maybe had or has this problem with their Sunfire and maybe give me some idea on why this is happening.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 14 reviews