1994 Pontiac Trans Sport Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1994 Pontiac Trans Sport SE 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39900 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

A good looking van

Faults:

Electrical problems.

Sensor problems

Windshield wiper motor broke at 100, 000 miles

At 50,000 miles Air-condition compressor went bad.

General Comments:

A very good car.

Very hard to do maintenance.

Second and third row seats are too close to the floor of the car so it is very uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

1994 Pontiac Trans Sport SE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance145243 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A smooth driving van with great gas mileage

Faults:

Sliding door stops working and fuse needs to be replaced.

Low oil pressure.

Radio stopped working, power button went bad.

General Comments:

This van is truly versatile with the removable seats and great on gas due to the light body.

I have recently experienced low oil pressure which I have had checked by two different garages and neither can figure out why the oil pressure is low. I have had the oil pump replaced and it did not correct the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

1994 Pontiac Trans Sport SE 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired274000 kilometres
Most recent distance297000 kilometres
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

A great little van!!

Faults:

I bought this van with a blown engine for $500. A ham-fisted mechanic broke a coolant fitting and it overheated.

I replaced the engine at purchase.

The transmission broke last week.$2300 fora rebuild.

The windshield-wiper motor contact wore out. $70part.

Headlamp adjusters seized-$200.00 part. OUCH!!!

General Comments:

After owning 2 Aerostars, the plastic body is a joy!!

The 3800 engine is spunky - tows our 17foot trailer without complaints.

Highway mileage without trailer is excellent. A bit thirsty with trailer attached.

With almost 300,000km on it now, and a new engine and transmission, I think it shoud last another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st August, 2003

1994 Pontiac Trans Sport SE 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

This is the worst vehicle I have ever owned.

Faults:

The first problem we noticed was that the air conditioning and cruise control failed within the first few days. We took it back and they were able to fix the cruise control, but the air conditioning still won't work to blow air to the back, and the high setting is no different than the medium setting.

Back blower and rear fan control doesn't work.

The side door rattles, always has and they can't fix it. Well, they tighten something that works for about a week, then the rattle starts again.

The alternator went at about 70,000 miles.

It won't consistently start when the weather is at 40 degrees. You have to to turn the ignition key 15-20 times to get it to crank over. All it will do is click the first several times. When it does crank it will start right up.

We were told by the dealer in Moscow, Idaho that our rear main seal was bad, which is why we were using a few quarts of oil every 3,000 miles. So we had it replaced. $500 later we still have the same problem. Consuming lots of oil.

Driver's side door electric lock won't lock, but will unlock.

Left turn signal won't blink on its own, you must flip the switch up and down to get it to blink.

Passenger side door had a problem with the latch. Twice the interior mechanism came apart and I fixed it. The third time I took it to a garage, and they fixed the problem.

Now the passenger side window has rolled down and will not roll back up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2003

4th Jan 2004, 00:06

It looks to me like you drove this vehicle quite a bit was it always this bad? I like mine very well and it has over 130,000 miles on it.

7th May 2004, 21:36

About the poor starting in cold weather... I have a '92 Trans Sport and had the same problem (twice) with EASY fixes... "Probable Cause A" (the easiest fix) : There is a big wire that runs from the battery NEGATIVE terminal, and connects to the Engine with a bolt. The bolt can come loose, making poor contact, and not allowing enough electricity to operate the starter motor. The Engine bolt is located under the front of the car, just behind the radiator. "Probable Cause B" (you have to buy a part) : The wire on the POSITIVE terminal of the battery may look fine, but inside its plastic cover, it is corroded. You can't see the corrosion, but it is there. Usually when this is the problem, the interior lights and radio will work fine, but will dim down when trying to start the Engine. Good luck. (signed) Ralph K. in L. A.

6th Oct 2004, 13:43

I have a 92 trans sport with 204,000 miles on it. everything is operating under original equipment except battery, brakes, tires... obviously. the only problem I have is that the passenger door outside handle is innefective at opening the door. I live in michigan, it has went through 3 teenagers... and is STILL going strong.

15th Aug 2008, 13:33

Again, typical and common problems which could plague ANY vehicle. The emphasis of these reviews should focus primarily on the powertrain reliability & performance, safety & design and chassis components such as brakes, suspension etc. of a vehicle with secondary attention to cabin controls & comfort conveyances such as A/C & power windows.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews