1995 Pontiac Trans Sport Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1995 Pontiac Trans Sport SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Good value, when maintained properly will last for years

Faults:

Wiper motor at 99,000km.

Transmission at 99,000km.

Rear hatch lock at 99,000 - 101,000 - 124,000km.

Ball joints & upper control arms at 120,000km.

Rear air switch at 125,000km.

Replaced all shocks at 115,000km.

General Comments:

Due to the plastic body panels, the van squeaks.

Lots of wind noise when driving, poor weather striping on doors, hard to adjust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2001

19th Jan 2003, 16:07

Transmisson replaced 53000 WHY?

23rd Nov 2003, 07:43

Comment concerning the 115,000 km Shock replacement:

If I am correct, that would be about 71,500 miles - which is really really good wear for a set of shocks! (C:

7th Aug 2010, 10:50

I too would like to know why the transmission went out at 53K miles?

8th Aug 2010, 11:56

On an import yes, but none of my domestics has ever had the shocks replaced before 150,000 miles. One was driven over 300,000 with the original shocks, and two had right at a quarter of a million miles with the original shocks. Our current GM has 90,000 miles and has not even had a brake job yet, let alone shocks. Shocks should last way longer than 70,000 miles, unless all the driving is on very rough roads. I have virtually never had ANY repairs on my domestic vehicles in 100,000 miles.

1995 Pontiac Trans Sport SE 3.1 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 kilometres
Most recent distance183000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Faults:

Gas pump changed twice, second time after 35,000 kilometers.

Rear door lock too easy to be break.

Air conditioning compressor damaged at 165,000 kilometers.

Alternator damaged at 118,000 kilometers.

Most parts of the front shock absorber and stabilizer bar.

Ball joint, etc. fail after 125,000km.

General Comments:

This is a big truck for the family, but too expensive to maintain due to the price of parts at the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th January, 2001

1995 Pontiac Trans Sport SE 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carPontiac 88

Summary:

Sure. But do your homework and see if it is right for you

Faults:

Engine rear seal went bad resulting in a slight oil leak (repaired under warranty).

Power sliding door did not operate. This was due to me leaving the interior lights on and draining the battery which freaked out the power module. Pulled the battery terminal and waited a few minutes, reconnected the battery and the power door worked fine. Killed a battery because I left the interior lights on overnight too many times :)

General Comments:

Had been a great vehicle for our family. Great power for a minivan and very comfortable.

No door dings in the body panels because they are plastic - car looks like new after 5 years.

I used this car to haul building materials AND paving bricks weighing over 1400 lbs (several times)!

Still a relatively quiet ride and solid. Very happy with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

26th Oct 2002, 13:56

Who ever filled out this survey, thanks a bunch. You just saved me from tearing apart the door, the wiring, and the back interior (which houses the power door motor). I was having trouble with the door not operating. Having found this survey reminded me that I had this problem before and it was related to the battery running down. Anyway pulled the negative terminal, waiting, reconnected and after a couple of pushes on the button, the door started to operate again. My thanks.

12th Feb 2003, 17:14

Had the same problem with the power door after the battery crapped out... Door wouldn't fully close or open, until the battery was replaced, then it worked fine, and has ever since.

1995 Pontiac Trans Sport SE 3.8 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Station Wagon

Summary:

Disappointed

Faults:

I cannot begin to list the things, it would take too long for starters.

The tranny went the second week I had it.

Windshield wiper motor.

The back hatch knob on the outside broke off in my hand, could not use the back door at all.

Driver's door lock.

Sliding door leaks.

My latest is the cable to the gas pedal snapped??? Wonder what will be next!!!!!!

General Comments:

I like the look of the car but am beginning to think it is not safe. I have two small children, what if that gas pedal cable broke while driving down the highway (the car just died), what then??

I would not recommend Pontiac to anybody and if I overheard someone talking about purchasing a Pontiac I would butt in and tell them my experiences!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 15 reviews