2006 Pontiac Wave Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2006 Pontiac Wave Base with air 1.6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Faults:

So far no problem. This is a great little base car.

It seems to get great mileage, although you have to drive very slow to get what they subscribe for mileage.

Really nice to drive in the city. It handles great... and sits very happy at 75 mph on the hwy.

So far a nice basic car. I'm happy. Notes to follow..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th September, 2008

2006 Pontiac Wave 1.6L 16v 4cy E-TEC II from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6L 16v 4cy E-TEC II Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired250 kilometres
Most recent distance71500 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile 88

Summary:

Awesome car in the snow!

Faults:

Two problems. Last year, the car stalled and wouldn't restart for 2 minutes. Nothing wrong under the hood. After restarting, the check engine light went on for a day then it went out. The airbag light went on after and has been on ever since. No other stalls since then. Number 2: a scraping sound from the left-front wheel comes and goes. The dealer suggested a brake cleaning service last time (which was about 14 months ago) and it cleared up until today (change in season?)

General Comments:

Apart from the two problems, the car has been quite reliable. My commute every day is 100km round-trip. I get the rated 6L/100km on the highway (80 km/h zone) and 8L/100km in the city. I have my oil and filter changed every three months and the only thing I have a complaint about is that I should have opted for a CD-player instead of a plain AM/FM radio.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2008

2006 Pontiac Wave from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired96 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres

Summary:

Love hate relationship

Faults:

Plugged my electric starter in, and the car still did not start in winter time.

Clock resets to 1:00 randomly. This has started when the car was first bought.

General Comments:

Seating area is very roomy and controls are easily accessible when driving.

It is easy to park vehicle. Windows are big and able to see surroundings very clearly compared to other cars.

Reasonablely priced.

It is dangerous to merge in Toronto traffic because the pick-up and acceleration is slow.

Driving the vehicle is smooth, but leave lots of extra room for braking because the brakes aren't very responsive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd October, 2007

2006 Pontiac Wave from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic

Faults:

My up-level 2006 Wave ended up in the Dealers garage just over a week ago after the cold spell. The car when starting to drive would not rev up at all. I shut the car off and started it again and it worked fine, but the next day would start then stop and would not start again for a few minutes. The Dealer says its the computer and they ordered some, but so far have not been able to tell me when they are coming in. Anyone else with these problems?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th January, 2007

8th Feb 2007, 08:38

I had the exact same problem this morning with my Pontiac Wave (5 door 2006). The mechanic said that it was the third one he had seen this year!!

9th Feb 2007, 11:18

The dealer finally got the new Computer in for my car and fixed it, but now the car has very poor gas mileage and the auto transmission does not shift properly. Its back in at the Dealer again.

2006 Pontiac Wave WI Up level 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Distance when acquired80 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Venture

Faults:

Nothing wrong so far!

General Comments:

Hello all, I have just purchased a 2007 Pontiac wave 5. It has all the bells and whistles and I am generally impressed with the look and feel of the car. My one big disappointment looks like it is going to be gas mileage! YIKES! I know it has less than 200 KM's on it, but I just had to check. The result is 22.5 Imperial miles per gallon! I can only imagine that with the 5 speed that this should go up, way up. I know all the Blah Blah blah about driving habits, but really from a rating of 36 all the way down to 22? I have owned a number of new vehicles in the past, but none that have ever been so far off the mark right from the get go. My friend has a 2007 with an auto and is only getting between 18/19 (PUKE) Break in period you say! ha! That is absurd gas mileage, almost half the rating. Her first tank returned 31 mpg in September before it got really cold. She doesn't let it warm up for more than 3 min so it is not being idled away. I wonder if these cars need a winter front to bet the operating temp up? I have no idea where the temp gauge sits in warmer weather, but they seem to sit just below half in sub zero temps.

The dealer says of course, come back in a few thousand Km's.

Oh well just my.02 cents worth. I will be updating.

Ps. I was getting 18 mpg in town with my chevy venture! I bet you could get that in in a 4 wheel drive avalanche!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th December, 2006

12th Nov 2008, 01:48

I've also got a 2007 Wave 5 with all the bells and whistles, and yes it is a very nice little car, but for what you get in a car, the fuel mileage is not good at all.

The best I've gotten yet is about 35 mpg, and that was all highway driving in 25 degree C weather without the A/C on... and it has 28000 km on it.

550 km to a tank is about what I get, pretty sure that that is way below factory specs.

7th Jun 2009, 13:29

I get about 640 kms to a tank in my 2006 Wave 5.

I find that the highway mileage is not bad, however you need to keep your speed at or below 100 km/h. Anything above 100 km/h and it really starts to suck the fuel back.

2nd Mar 2010, 09:48

I was considering one of these, they look decent and inexpensive, but when I saw the consumption figures on the website, 27/34 mpg, which is around 7/9 L/100 km, that's not at all impressive, considering a 1.6 L engine.

7th Apr 2011, 05:44

I have a 2006 Pontiac Wave 5 door, manual transmission, up level.

So far it has been a great little car with a few annoyances. Biggest two are the clunking windshield wipers and the ignition chime that won't shut off unless you remove the key. This means you can't listen to the radio or wait in the car without removing the key.

Fuel mileage averages 38MPG imperial with normal driving.

Other than that, not a bad car.

2006 Pontiac Wave from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres

Summary:

Sweet Ride

General Comments:

This is my first car and I love it!!!

I have the 5 door hatch back, Silver dove in colour.

The best part is getting people to sit in it for the first time and see their faces when they realise how spacious it is.

I like how you can park in tiny spaces.

My car came with a great stereo and ac at no extra cost.

Not much power when going up hills.

This is a great cheap car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th September, 2006

2006 Pontiac Wave Up Level from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired374 kilometres
Most recent distance2995 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

Loving my car

Faults:

The gas mileage isn't as good as you'd think (though still very very good). The worst thing about this car has to be the service from the dealer. This might be a problem with my location only.

General Comments:

Great car!!! I love it. It's small, but has lots of power. It's pretty good on gas, and it's got everything (cd, air, etc.). The price was definitely right too. I don't know what the long range is on it, but I can see myself owning it for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th June, 2006

2006 Pontiac Wave from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired480 kilometres
Most recent distance2890 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Van

Summary:

Gotta love it!

Faults:

Nothing yet - brand new.

General Comments:

We purchased this vehicle brand new from our local Pontiac dealer. We needed something cheap and reliable mostly for around town. We have the base model, 5 spd. and decided on the sedan model. The first tank of gas that was purely city driving we got 29 MPG. Gotta love it. The room inside these small cars is unbelievable. The 5 speed is great fun to drive and shifts very easily. We did replace the stereo with an after market CD for $140, this was still cheaper than getting the 'up level'. We are very happy with this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2006

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews