2007 Pontiac Wave SE 1.6L from North America


I would never buy another car from GM!


I have just purchased a Pontiac Wave (4) SE on October 9,2007. I was told that car was a great car, got all the upgrades with the sunroof, spoiler, crome handles etc. I was also told the gas mileage was GREAT on the car. I looked at the specs on the window and it looked like a good deal. However the first tank of gas I got 530/km city driving.. then I was getting 241/km to a tank. I didn't change the fuel at any time. It has gone through 1 oil change. I brought the car in for them to look at, the thermostat was stuck open, well why didn't the check engine light go on? Still got bad mileage same 250/km to the tank full. GM is now looking into the problem asking me to write down and keep receipts of the gas. That's great, but I'm not getting what the specs on the car state. This gas problem seems to be a big issue with the Pontiac Waves!

General Comments:

The car doesn't get to a warm temperature for 20 minutes after driving it.

The seats are some what uncomfortable and stiff.

The gas mileage is terrible!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2008

16th Apr 2008, 12:55

I have same problem; gas mileage. I expected to drive two hours most days 215 round trip $21 at $1.15 per liter.

11th Mar 2010, 12:04

My gas mileage is also terrible! I have to fill up approximately 200km... not what I expected.

My car has had several issues... GM has "never seen this before". For example, the passenger airbag light stays ON even with someone in the seat.

Also, there was an issue with the computer that caused my engine to rock, rev the RPMs and shoot the car at crazy speeds. It also died when I was merging onto the highway.

Recently, my horn started going off when the car was locked & not turned on. It had been parked for over 20 minutes. We couldn't get it to stop!

Oh, and the headlight is sporadic. I would almost GIVE the car away.

2007 Pontiac Wave Base 1.6 from North America


Great little commuter, easy on gas


So far my Wave has been very reliable.

General Comments:

Fun little car to drive!

Door armrests are rock hard, sore elbow when going long distances.

Auto transmission doesn't want to shift up when going up hills, wants to stay in lower gear?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2008

2nd Sep 2013, 20:21

I own a 2007 Pontiac Wave, and wish I had never bought it. You have to buy the expensive tires for it, the ones that are mentioned in the owner's manual. I went through 3 sets of tires in less than one year.

My Wave is on its fifth set of wheel bearings. Not a cheap way to get around.

The rear axle arms that attach to the frame, the rubber mounts tore away from the metal that they were attached to, and that cost $1,300 to replace and labour.

I was told that I had to replace the timing belt, which I did, and the mechanic put it in wrong, causing the push rods to get bent, holes in the pistons, and cracks all throughout the head. Because I am a woman, he figured that I should have just driven it any way.

I will buy only used cars from now on, when all of the bugs have been worked out of it by the previous owner.

2007 Pontiac Wave Wi uplevel 1.6L l-4 from North America


Boy racer in need of aftermarket support


Only problems I have had with the car, are the front seat belts and the rear doors that won't unlock with the power door locks when cold.

Had an 04 Malibu Maxx that was in the shop every month of ownership for CD changer and starting problems, so I can live with busted seat belts and reaching for the door lock from the inside.

General Comments:

Fun car that takes abuse and still returns decent mileage.

Kart like handling at speed, spidery reflexes while navigating city streets and alleys. Got beat by a dad in a Toyota Yaris 4 door sedan. A little disappointed, needs passing power.

If you buy this car, a 5 speed, sunroof and MP3/CD player are a must (buy the Wi package). Having no ABS in Canada's winter time didn't make a difference.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd May, 2007

2007 Pontiac Wave 5-door hatchback from North America


It is a potentially good starter vehicle, if there are no other options.


The spark plugs had to be replaced.

Computer programming had to be fixed.

A gas valve had to be replaced.

Plus sundry other, smaller problems.

General Comments:

At first the car seemed amazing, given its size. It handles well, even on snowy days.

Given that it is a compact car, it does not get as many kilometers to the litre as would be expected -approximately 38km/L.

Stitching on the seats is pretty poor.

Within 5 months of purchasing the car, problems began (see above) - the car is now 7 months old, and has spent the majority of the past 4 months in the shop. The problems have (so far)all been defects and therefore covered by warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th April, 2007

25th Aug 2007, 12:43

As an update to my review...

My Wave has has again been back to the garage.

-The CD/Radio has had to be replaced due to the fact that it kept quitting. Now the new stereo won't play all CDs.

-The driver side door was partially replaced because the armrest became loose (it could actually be lifted apart).

This car is not yet a year old, and things continue to break! Though I have it on 5 year financing, I am planning to rid myself of it within the next 2 years.

9th Oct 2007, 19:13

If you want a good subcompact GM car, stick with a Chevrolet Chevette or Pontiac Acadian. They're cheap on the interior parts and a bit old (over 20 years now) but if you find a good one, they're incredibly reliable.