1986 Porsche 944 Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1986 Porsche 944 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance149500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Faults:

There's couple things, first two months I had no problem then I changed the front control arms and shocks, then for a long time nothing, and just recently timing belt snapped. I needed to rebuild the engine - very expensive, change the water pump and the alternator went, She ran for about a month, and now I'm in process of changing the flywheel and flex plate, and the steering rack is leaking now.

General Comments:

This puppy is a beautiful car, best handling I've ever experienced. But owning a Porsche, be prepared to get a second job. I paid $3000 for the car and stuffed about $8000 in repairs. But overall this is a very well built car. Horsepower not that great, but handling - aahhhhhh yeah

And girls love it, therefore I love it too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

1986 Porsche 944 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance160654 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

This is one of the greatest cars you can buy for the price

Faults:

I have had to replace the shocks and the struts, but they were bad when I bought the car.

I replaced the center console on the car.

General Comments:

The car is cheap on gas.

The seats are surprisingly comfortable.

The handling in the car is wonderful.

The acceleration is very good also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2001

1986 Porsche 944 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Expensive... but worth it!

Faults:

Clutch.

Oil leak.

Power steering leak.

A/C, and a rear transaxle seal leak.

General Comments:

I bought this car as a toy to work on, but soon found out that anything that goes wrong is nothing I can fix.

I love the looks and the feel of the car, but I wish I could repaint it. Handling is awesome and power is okay. I know that it's not a beast on the road, but it will glide through the curves.

I love my car and even with $3,500 repair bills, it is still a pleasure to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2001

10th Dec 2003, 06:42

I do not agree with th above comment about repair. I am a semi-serious home mechanic, and have had no problems maintaining and repairing my 1986 (Type II) 944. Dealership prices for parts are expensive, but I've gone for good OEM parts. No problems at all. Prices are on par with other exclusive performance cars. It's the shop time that costs the money!

Rob.

1986 Porsche 944 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

An affordable dream car

Faults:

Timing belt.

The rack and pinion start leaking during my first week of ownership! Very expensive.

The battery died.

General Comments:

This car is really fun to drive.

Surprisingly comfortable (on nice roads).

Even if it's 15 years old, people on the streets look at it just as they would do for a Ferrari! Nice looking!

The engine is a little short on power, not a car to race at the green light..

Amazing road handling.

Conclusion:

Those cars are real bargains if you treat them right. Otherwise you'll see that Porsche parts are expensive..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

22nd Jan 2004, 13:47

Almost all Porsche's are not "off the line" cars. They are designed to handle tight at high speed. You won't spank a Mustang from a light, but I'll take my 44 on a tight corner at brisk speeds any day. Regarding the condition and problems, that can happen with any vehicle. My 44 is a 1985 with 78K original and it's been maintained perfectly.

1986 Porsche 944 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired85700 miles
Most recent distance150524 miles
Previous carPorsche 944

Summary:

A classy sports coupe that's fun to drive

Faults:

Alternator.

Clutch.

Water pump.

Radiator.

All in the first 8 months of ownership!

General Comments:

The car handles very well and has enough power to navigate freeway driving and hills.

Taller people may find this car uncomfortable.

Don't be fooled by the inexpensive price tag, this car, like any Porsche will cost you some bucks to keep her maintained. Your love for this car will keep you shelling out cash to keep it running. A very ideal weekend driver if you have to have one and you are on a budget.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2001

3rd Sep 2001, 18:10

Did you know that a Mazda Miata in a good gymkhana course will blow the doors off a 944 Porsche, then you can get in and drive it home trouble free? Who would want an expensive headache when for around $8000-$10000 you can get a nice drophead that doesn't break!!! Is the "word" Porsche worth that much???

1986 Porsche 944 2.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.6L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Superior handling, great looking, reliable Quasi-Exotic

Faults:

Aside from the basic clutch, water pump, timing belt replacement, NOT A DAMNED THING!

General Comments:

If you're looking for a true "SLEEPER" car, this is it. I bought it for $5,500 and it was in mint condition. At its age it still generates positive comments and "Double-Takes" from the ladies. I was able to blow away my neighbors 2001 5 Series BMW on some winding roads so you figure it out. A few engine mods and you're set!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2001

9th Oct 2008, 03:15

Awesome idea! I just bought a 1986 Porsche 944... It seems to have been garaged most of its life. What kind of engine mods can I do? It is already very fun to drive but I'm sure it could be more fun! E-mail GRLWAGLOW@hotmail.com if you have any ideas for me. Thanks!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 27 reviews