1986 Porsche 944 Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1986 Porsche 944 Turbo 2.5 Intercooled turbo from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Intercooled turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Previous carPorsche 944

Summary:

The more you drive this car- the more obsessive the ownership experience becomes

Faults:

Oil, coolant leaks abound.

Seats, dash worn badly.

Power mirrors need to be rewired.

Sunroof leaks, and partially operable.

Poor road conditions resulted in bent tie rod end.

Shifter in need of refreshing (bushings, adjust linkage)

General Comments:

Seriously fast in stock form, rivaling 90% of new cars built today.

Decent fuel consumption.

Turbo boost is addictive, with intense pull at full boost- other vehicles just disappear rapidly.

Timeless good looks, that never fails to turn heads even today- I still cannot find a single bad angle to view this car at.

Handling is what you would expect from cars costing $100,000 or more.

Extremely easy to self-service.

Build quality is excellent throughout.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

25th May 2005, 23:23

My experience with my 1986 Turbo was that I was down $12,000 in repairs in maintenance in 2 years. Yes, it's a great car to drive, but part of the "obsessiveness" will be in regard to the amount it costs to service a car like this.

I owned mine from 1998 until 2000 - 100,0000 miles until 126,000. They were fun - and very expensive miles.

25th Oct 2005, 23:25

"Extremely easy to self-service."

What service have you been performing? This car is easily one of the most complex front-engine cars from the 80's. I have come to terms with the fact that physical injury will often result from working on my 951.

14th Aug 2012, 22:39

I have a 1986 944 Turbo. I am experiencing the following problem. Sometimes it will crank up, I drive about, then stop, park and go to dinner etc., and the car will not start. I have put a good bit of money and time into this car. I am wondering if anyone else has experienced this problem? I am thinking it is either fuel pump or ignition issue.

1986 Porsche 944 turbo from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired188000 miles
Previous carPorsche 944

Summary:

On top of the driving world... in my Porsche

Faults:

Sunroof not working.

Power mirrors inoperable.

Car overheated, due to leaking radiator hose.

Timing belt in desperate need of replacement.

Cooling fan thermo switch not working.

Dash cracked.

Seats very worn, and driver's power function was minimal.

Alignment needed.

Minor bodywork required.

General Comments:

Considering all the items listed that were wrong with the car- I was able to purchase the car for an unheard of amount of $1380USD. Plus, I was able to safely drive it home!

I purchased it- despite its flaws.. because the engine was not a tired, or very worn one. I wanted a project car to restore.

Turbo boost is a sensation to be experienced- from the drivers seat. Very few cars on the road can compete with the turbo 944... even today!

The handling of this car is that of $200,000+ super cars. Nowhere will you find such road holding finesse, for the money spent.

At 18 years old, this car still has the stance, the poise, and the looks that newer car owners still remark about today. Porsche's timeless design has made another statement!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2004

1986 Porsche 944 Turbo 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carPorsche 944

Summary:

Supercar performance and image at low cost

Faults:

Leaking sunroof, must get a new seal which is about £50.

New exhaust needed and after much searching around the after parts market, found that the only sure way to get to correct flange fittings etc. was to buy and have fitted by a main dealer.

General Comments:

Excellent all round fun at little cost.

Rust free still after now 18 years old.

Still turns heads, many think it looks more exotic than current Porsche models.

Insurance and servicing very affordable if you shop around. At 18 years old is it worth still paying main dealer rates?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2004

20th Jan 2005, 11:20

I had Hayward and Scott make a stainless rear exhaust for my 944T. It fitted perfectly, beautifully made and much cheaper than the standard part. It also sounds great, but not so loud as to be offensive for everyday use.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 27 reviews