1998 Porsche Boxster Reviews

1998 Porsche Boxster 2.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.5 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carPorsche 968

Summary:

Buy one. Life is too short to dream

Faults:

Brakes stopped working at 100,000km.

Needed new discs and pads all around.

Tiptonic box needed new oil (service).

Seat worn on driver's side.

Factory radio stop working at 40,000km.

Needed new roof at 80,000km. Seals went on motor, in QLD on holidays. I was told it was from the hot weather. Keep eye on that.

Oil got into spark plugs from cover gasket. Done at 100,000km service.

General Comments:

10 out of 10 marks... excellent sports car. When you're out on open roads, it comes to life the way German sports cars do. After a hard day at the office, just get into the Boxster, go for long drive, and hit the freeway just clear my head. Always take the long way home :)

Parts are cheap if you know where to shop.

Wherever I turn up to a BBQ with friends and family, people always ask me "still got that Boxster?".

The note of the motor is excellent; you can never get sick of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2012

1998 Porsche Boxster 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Fun little car

Faults:

The Cruise Control does not work.

General Comments:

This car is fairly quick, depending on how much weight, humidity, etc.

The handling is excellent, especially with traction control. When the back end slides, the traction control will kick in at the exact point that I need to go straight.

The hardtop is a definite plus. The car has a total different look depending on if you have the hard top, soft top, or no top!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2004

12th Aug 2004, 23:27

Boxter doesn't have a 1.8ltr engine! LOL.

1998 Porsche Boxster 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A fun and cheap way to own a legend

Faults:

I tried lowering the roof when it was 2 degrees outside, and cracked the rear window. Porsche then said I had to buy a whole new roof, rather than just the window.

2 Days after purchase, my rear tyre blew at 100MPH on the M25, sending me careering across 3 lanes.

The roof lowering mechanism stopped working after a couple of years, turned out to be a cut wire.

The fact that the car can do 140 MPH got me banned from driving in the UK.

General Comments:

The handling is excellent, but I would appreciate a bit more grunt in the 0 - 60, which is why I am building an Ultima GTR at the moment. This car does give off a lot of sex appeal though, and if you want a car that can make women drop their pants, this is it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2002

30th Jan 2003, 00:36

Well I would probably agree that this type of woman should be avoided, only... that's sort of how I met my husband!

I saw this cute lookin' guy drive in to the service station and I started talking to him (and marveling at his Astra convertible!!) and I gave him my number and he called me and asked me out...

We are now VERY happily married... and so ends the enchanting tale from Australia!!!

22nd Sep 2006, 08:51

Do they really drop there pants, i need to change my car pronto and get me a boxter, then again I'm in enough bother as it is.

16th Dec 2006, 23:28

I'm going to buy a porsche jest to get the ladies and I'm only seventeen and geting a porsche.WOW.

19th Jan 2008, 17:46

It is a charming car with superb handling. I crashed it two times.. surprisingly still alive. And oh, if a car could have a smiley face on it... this is it!

-Raf

1998 Porsche Boxster Hardtop 2.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 300SL 24v

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

Engine started to blow out water, cure was to replace the engine at 3000 miles.

Aug 1st 1998 removed the hardtop, powered up the roof and then it stuck in the up position - the electric motors had seperated from the mechanism.

Indicator had a water ingress, this was also changed.

General Comments:

This is a great car, after having the original problems sorted by 3500 miles this car has not missed a beat and I would recommend anyone to buy one, this car has so much street cred.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2000

28th Jan 2003, 23:37

The website states that the car is a '98 Boxster. I'm confused about the comment of the engine blowing out water since the Boxster wasn't water-cooled until 2000 (?)

30th Jan 2003, 05:12

Errr, hello?

ALL Boxsters are water cooled.

23rd Oct 2008, 15:49

To the previous commenter. You're thinking of the 911 model. All 911's were air cooled until 1998. Since then, they're all water cooled. As for the Boxster, what a fun car. I own mine for over 5 years. Other than the usual maintenance and the engine blowing at 50,000 miles, I love my car. only wish I could turbo it or something.

Sincerely,

Proud Porsche enthusiast.

If you can afford one. Get it. I highly recommend this vehicle.

Other toy's include 07' R63, 06' RS4 and my baby 83' 911sc modified (yes, air cooled).

1998 Porsche Boxster 2.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance16500 miles
Previous carBMW 328i

Summary:

A bargain at 40,000ukp

Faults:

Smell of petrol when first bought. Fault down to an ill fitting seal on the petrol cap.

General Comments:

Superb car. The handling and performance is superb, with plenty of storage space for weekends away.

Cannot fault the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2000

1998 Porsche Boxster 2.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carPorsche 911

Summary:

Sweet

Faults:

Small panel behind the drivers door fell off.

Broke the wind deflector trying to take it off.

Drivers footrest broke.

One of the panel strips on the hardtop is starting to peel away.

A number of other small annoying things have broken.

General Comments:

Love the car, but expected better build quality from Porsche. Having said that I have no intention of getting rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2000

31st Dec 2000, 12:02

March 1997 registered Boxster.

One of the panel strips on the hardtop is starting to peel away. I have glued it back down with impact adhesive.

Water leaks onto both carpets - rectified by replacing a membrane in the door? or outer window seals free of charge (FOC) by Rivervale.

Doors can drop slightly and cause a leak - again rectified FOC by rivervale.

12th Mar 2005, 13:19

Try a 1999+ Boxster if you're disappointed with your early boxster, when they improved the build quality, sound and Performance at this point.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews