2002 Proton Perdana perdana v6 6A12TT from Malaysia


Very good super saloon


The car so far has been serving me as a very good servant. There are no problems at all with the car. Except that the front seats are not very comfortable for long distance driving or when stuck in jam. The leather used to cover the seats seemed to expand. There was no problem with the suspension accept that it has to be changed to a better suspension like TEIN with better spring for better traction and stability.

General Comments:

The Perdana V6 is indeed a very good car in it's class. Its worth it to pay 100k for this 2.0 litre car. It's a smooth car with quite a good handling at almost every cornering. However interior needs 'redecoration' especially on the dashboard and seats.

My dear friends, don't buy a Perdana V6 if you have lots of cash. If its possible, please stop with the grumblings and complains by comparing a Perdana V6 with a BMW X5 or any other continental cars as there is a big gap between the price of these cars. Thank you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

24th Oct 2004, 05:19

May I know which model of TEIN absorbers you bought for your PV6? And which springs you compliment it with for street performance. Thank you.

21st Dec 2005, 22:05

I used to drive a 2003 Proton Perdana V6 and found it to be a good car until I met a friend who offered me to test drive his 2000 BMW 523i. I became envious of his car although the BMW seems to be slightly less roomy than my Perdana. Then I met my former boss who showed me his Mercedes E270 CDI when we were in Genting with our families. Within 5 months, I bought an avantgarde Mercedes E270 CDI. I am very happy with my choice still. Mind you, the Proton Perdana isn't a bad car though, just in a different class altogether.

1999 Proton Perdana 2.0 from Singapore


Don't waste money on a Proton until another new model arrives


The car looks cheap. The plastics feel very tacky. Although it has been facelifted, it does not look any better as it still looks very slab-sided. I preferred my Espero as it was more comfortable and responsive.

The Perdana should be given a new model instead of a facelift as the international markets desire for something more adventurous and up to standard such as the Nissan Cefiro, or at least, the Hyundai Sonata.

The Wira is hopeless as it is already like 12 years old. Change it, please. The Waja (Impian) is a fine effort, better than the Perdana, but, the exterior design should be more cutting-edge and sporty.

Proton should really revamp its range as people desire for cars with high standards at a budget price. I believe that Proton can do much better than this.

Now, I am driving a Daewoo Tacuma as I feel that it is more satisfying to drive than any Proton, and at a budget price too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th February, 2004

2002 Proton Perdana V6 2L from Malaysia


Overpowered car with a reasonable price


Squeking noise from rear wheel suspension.

General Comments:

The headlamps are a major disappointment as they are very dim and do not light the road well.

The car is quick and responsive.

However, the transmission is a bit jerky and not smooth for a car in the 2 liter V6 engine class.

Driver seat is uncomfortable and could do well with better lumbar support.

Finishing is a bit on the weak side as rattling noise could be heard even when traveling at low speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

9th Mar 2005, 09:44

Oh my, a v6 with 150 hp that jerks when you step on it...

Proton will not survive this way. Watch my words.

2000 Proton Perdana V6 2.0 litre petrol from Malaysia


About the best driving Proton car at the moment (better than the Waja even)


The suspension system appears to have deteriorated quite early. Tyres off-balanced and sent for balancing numerous times, but problem persisted. Car was superb when new, effortlessly reaching 190kph with no fuss. Now, vibration from unbalanced wheels makes it uncomfortable to go beyond 140kph. Would be interested to know if others driving this model experienced the same.

General Comments:

The car pulls off from standstill very strongly, also while in any gear at any speed for that matter.

Gives good adrenaline flow if you're an excitable driver, but not so comfortable if you're chauffer driven around.

Gearbox is responsive while engine sweet sounding and never strained, makes for very relaxed and confident driving. Would appreciate views from others?...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2002

24th Jun 2002, 10:49

The Proton Perdana V6 is one of the best cars that I have ever bought. It's very comfortable, silent and luxurious looking in-spite of all that the price is not too high.

29th Jun 2002, 08:54

I have owned the Perdana V6 for the past 2 years already and I must say that so far, I have not experienced any major problems with it, unfortunately I must highlight that most of what is said about its performance (by certain motoring reviews and advertisements) are exaggerated. I for one was quite disappointed when I got the car as its performance, especially its "pick-up" from stand-still was rather disappointing. Totally contrary to all the hype about its performance in the ads. On top of that there were certain minor defects that needed rectification, something that is not common in Japanese and European makes, but I must admit that it still gives the best value for money.