2009 Proton Saga BLM 1.3 petrol from Malaysia




Front left wheel pulling to the left.

5th gear difficult to shift.

Reverse gear always makes a noise when engaging.

Vibration to the steering wheel, accelerator, gear lever.

General Comments:

First, had problems with alignment. Sent to service center. They used my spare tyre to replace the faulty front left tyre. Now I have a faulty spare tyre.

Second incident, 5th gear not smooth to engage. Sent to service center again, they told me it was normal, the design is such. Basically telling me to live with it.

Thirdly, vibration. From the steering wheel, gear lever, throttle. Sent to service center again... told me the same thing... design is such.

Can someone tell me what to do, as I think I've got a defective Proton in my hands. I want a replacement, better still, my money back. Never buy a Proton. In Australia, they are selling it for AUD11,990. The cheapest new car in Australia. It's called S16. 2 SRS airbags. 1.6 (M). How can Proton sell its car for so cheap in Australia and provide the best features, but in Malaysia, we get all the rejects for a much higher price. You get a better quality, cheaper Proton overseas than in your own country. What a rip off!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th February, 2010

20th Jun 2011, 21:57

No matter what they try to do, Proton cars will always be of low quality. Buy one and you'll regret it.

2009 Proton Saga M Line 1.3 A from Malaysia




1. Rattling sound here and there on doors/windows and dashboard.

2. Rear left door not fully aligned when closed.

3. Power steering oil leak and replaced under warranty.

4. The most annoying problem is high pitched jet sound is heard when driving. Even can hear it during idle. Problem is confirmed, but manufacturer/service centre is not able to solve the problem.

General Comments:

The ride comfort is very poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2010

2009 Proton Saga BLM 1.3 from Malaysia


I get more but I pay less, but I want more low rpm torque!


No problem.

General Comments:


- The Saga BLM is very comfortable in terms of ride and handling.

- Very good fuel consumption if we travel long journeys.

- Very good performance for the highway.

- Comfy silence below 110kmh.

- Air conditioning is colder than overseas cars.

- Generous cabin/boot.

- Amazingly and excellent at climbing hills

- The brake is designed to force you to brake earlier and be more careful, force you not to tailgate people. This I treat as a pro, :)

- Tons of modifications in Malaysia.


- Poor engine torque below 3 rpm. This is a typical campro characteristic, and I don't know why it's designed like this.

- Drive by wire delay. It's annoying

- Fuel inefficient for busy city drives.

- Engine noise above 110kmh.

- Slightly not a good looker, doesn't look cool in Malaysia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2009

4th Feb 2010, 09:22

It does not look cool because it is the cheapest 1.3 liter car in Malaysian market. It is however a beautiful car in my eyes compared to PERODUA VIVA or MyVi.

1st Jul 2010, 11:51

May I know what is the petrol cost per km in general? I heard from my friend that the petrol consumed for a new Saga is excessively higher than any other "cheap" Proton car, i.e. Iswara, Satria. Is that true? I thought Proton, cheap car, should be petrol-save?

I would like to hear from those who are using Saga.


4th Jul 2010, 01:30

Manual version is much cheaper than automatic... I really love the manual version, and much more cost effective than a MyVi.

30th Dec 2010, 07:33

2008 Model Automatic P. Saga 1.3 Petrol Consumption surprisingly high - average 20 cents per kilo (RM50 for 250 KM) compared to a Honda City IDSI as low as 12 cents (RM 60 for 500KM).

Starting also very slow and noisy..- like dragging before auto changing gear... that is guggling the petrol I suppose..

Anyone agree with me or my car exception...

Besides.. can do anything to improve the fuel consumption?

16th Jun 2011, 23:12

How can this car be "Simply Better"?

Feels more like it was simply made.

If air-conditioning was the priority, one hasn't really owned another car make today.

The car is more suited for town use or short A-to-B distances, as it can get very uncomfortable during long journeys.

29th Mar 2015, 03:12

Still...the Myvi is horrible if you were sitting in the back seat... bad suspension... not to mention it's prone to accidents due to its lightness, plus it's a cheaper version of the Toyota Passo. Cut and paste, but cheaper.

The Saga BLM is a Malaysian product design for Malaysians who don't complain much...