Proton Savvy Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2005 Proton Savvy from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carProton Waja

Summary:

Not a driver's car

Faults:

Problems with the AMT version immediate after purchase: bad gear change and slow response.

Problems with the AMT version after 2 yrs: unstable rpm, fluctuation rpm during idle, difficult to start.

General Comments:

No matter how great its handling and the advantages are, avoid this car at all cost.

There are many more choices out there with less problems and at the same price bracket.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th June, 2009

16th Jul 2009, 21:26

Why is my AT Savvy free from defects until now?? Yeah.. this not a driver's car.. it's a pilot's car for someone like me.. fast and furious...

29th Jul 2009, 19:22

I bought a secondhand 2005 Savvy MT from my neighbour who used it trouble free. I enjoy driving it.

12th Aug 2009, 00:48

Unstable RPM could be due to faulty ignition coil.. Replace it and everything will be fine...

2008 Proton Savvy Lite 1.2 from Malaysia

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.2 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 kilometres
Most recent distance27800 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Cultus

Summary:

Great ride and handling for the money

Faults:

Overall good.

Sometime difficult to start from the first crank, but on the next crank it started.

General Comments:

Great handling; can easily cover corners and bends faster than rival products, especially compared to the MYVi.

Comfortable and pliant ride. Not a single complain from any passenger so far. (A lot better ride than any MYVi will ever be).

Responsive engine, but out of breath after 5000 rpm.

Gearing ratio is good for enthusiastic driving.

Great fuel economy around town and driving at legal speeds.

However, fuel economy is just average if driving faster than 120kmh on highway.

Dashboard layout is practical to use and driving position is spot on. (I am 177cm tall).

Interior plastic need to be a lot better if Proton wants to compete with the big boys. (Hard edge plastic and not so good fit and finish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2009

11th Feb 2011, 00:26

I agree with you about the driving and road holding quality.

I have used an AMT for 6 years now - love driving it.

But I can't say the same for the cost of maintaining it - like maintaining a luxury compact.

Transmission finally gave way two days ago after 2 years, showing the common symptoms of going neutral for no reason at all while driving. Cost of replacement - RM 5-figures - 10% of the cost of the car - CRAZY.

It's a great car - but Proton (previous leadership) were not ready for it - lack of expertise, spare-part availability.

The Savvy was supposed to be a lower income car - but maintaining it is luxury we cannot afford.

Good luck to you!

2007 Proton Savvy Lite 1.2 from Malaysia

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance6000 kilometres

Summary:

Great handling car and best value

Faults:

Pedal light switch got off from its place. I sent it to the dealer and it's rectified immediately. The car is perfect, nothing gone wrong other than that so far.

General Comments:

The car handling is superb! I bought this car because I drove my friend's savvy and that's how I fell in love with this car. I straight away trade my old car with savvy. I never regret my decision buying this car. The fuel consumption is very economical. You could travel 450++km with only 26 litre.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2007

13th Jan 2008, 08:52

The Proton Savvy reliable and comfortable, petrol consumption much better than Perodua MyVi. Certify by (TUV) and (Sirim). The body hardness and interior material is very good grade.

24th Apr 2008, 11:10

Last week me and my Wife just doing test drive off Proton Savvy AMT. During the test drive we pass medium flood because no more choice, the water high is 1 tire of 14" rim.

Fantastic the car easy crossed the flood without any issue. The higher car's watching what we do, the Savvy pass through the flood, its said the Savvy is Street Opener, salute for Proton Savvy.

After arrived at Proton Showroom at Jakarta, Slipi; we directly book 1 Proton Savvy.

Andy, Indonesia (pprs_mpr@yahoo.com)

28th Apr 2008, 01:14

I am proud when heard a comment from Indonesia about Proton Savvy.

It is a good car. A complete with bodykit looks much aggressive.

5th Jul 2009, 04:55

My 2006 Savvy already done 45,000 kms.. No problem so far. Great little car with superb handling. It is really small car, but with continental (read Renault) driving experience.

I am sure it will give me more kms, hassle free.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 12 reviews