2002 Proton Waja Reviews

2002 Proton Waja GX 1.6 MT petrol from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 MT petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance216500 kilometres
Previous carPerodua Kancil

Summary:

Don't expect too much from a Proton

Faults:

The main problem of my car is the car's components that they manufactured locally such as power window, door lock, easily blown headlamp bulb (faulty electric circuit design??), premature failure of shock absorber and alarm system. They need to rectify problems with their vendors.

Other than that, issues such as fuel pump faulty at 177,000km, clutch pump faulty at 210,000km (wear and tear?).

The Mitsubishi 4G18 engine and gearbox are doing well so far.

General Comments:

This is an average car, strong in some departments such as ride and handling, but poor in the others such as reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th July, 2008

2002 Proton Waja WAJA 1.6X 1.6 from Malaysia

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Lousy, Lousy, Lousy

Faults:

The automatic gearbox oftens slipped when engaged to D mode. I have to engage to gear 3 in order to drive the car. After many attempts to repair the fault at appointed Proton workshop, it is still not resolved. Each time I have to spend $ 400.00 to $ 500.00 to repair. I had since send to the workshop more than four times already.

To drive the car at gear 3 mode all the time, it will be petrol consuming and cause stress to the engine.

What I have to do to solve this problem??? Can someone, anyone in Proton HELP???

General Comments:

This is the worst experience I have in owing a car I have being owing car for more than 35 years. I would have strongly the Proton people to stop manufacturing this model, if it cannot resolve the gear slipping issue in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2007

8th May 2007, 02:40

I guess you bought 2nd hand based on your details.

I have one, but no problem so far because I asked for the proton service history.

Now I realised, Proton charged slightly higher in order to maintain the standard of the car.

11th May 2007, 20:25

Get a brand new waja with the new facelift. Premium if possible.

As per gearbox, do not hesitate to spend extra for an original gearbox fluid from proton. Even other automatic car required to use a proper fluid.

2002 Proton Waja from Malaysia

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Previous carProton Waja

Summary:

Good

Faults:

My absorber is making a strange noise. Does anyone know how long is the warranty for the Proton Waja year 2002? Please send me feedback to jsmuriel@yahoo.com

General Comments:

The Proton Waja is a well designed car, especially the engine. Unfortunately the accessories of the car are the ones that bring a bad image for the car, especially the power windows, absorbers etc.

But until now, the Waja is still number one in my list. Thus the Waja has a very huge space for the driver, and the steering is very comfortable in handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2004

15th Dec 2004, 01:57

I agree. Waja also have problem on the remote central locking. I have just replaced new after using the car for 2 and the half years.

I had also replace new both front and back absorber.

The rest o.k.

23rd Dec 2004, 23:50

When I visited malaysia I realised how much of a rip off the proton car is. For the price of the saga it should have many safety features.

13th Jan 2005, 06:02

I bought a new Proton Waja 1.6 MT in Nov 2002 and so far I have traveled around 75k km. So far few things had been replaced; rear shock absorber and rear left door handle. Another problem was vibration noise at lower part of dashboard. Proton Edar managed to solved it. (It found out to be a gear cable in contact with dashboard component) I installed Micro-compressor to improved the engine performance and petrol consumption and it works tremendously.

13th Feb 2005, 06:32

I bought the Waja 1.6 enhanced model (Auto) and found that the car is giving good performance. I get more than 600km for a full tank of fuel. The car us very spacious and 3 adults can sit at the back seat comfortably. Handling of the car is superb. For a 1.6 model it can really match the Toyota Altis 1.6 and the Nissan Sentral 1.6. I pay RM66,800 for a Waja which is RM40,000 less than the Toyota Altis 1.6. Malaysia Boleh.

8th Jul 2006, 07:55

My fuel meter failed. When I start the engine, it gives a reading, but less than a minute it will go down. I have sent it to Proton Edar for check, they said it was due to a floater which come together with fuel pump. Replacement cost above RM500. Has anyone come through this same problem, please advise?

Thank you.

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews