2002 Proton Waja Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2002 Proton Waja M 1.6 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance22000 kilometres
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Very disappointed

Faults:

1st (less than 7 days) the petrol tank leak.

The funniest thing is that I was pumping petrol and heard sound of water pouring out from somewhere. Sound like water leaking.

The next thing I knew I was standing in a pool of petrol. What a joke man!...Proton...you have to do something with your machine. I will get kill if anybody is smoking near my car. I will be a dead dog.

General Comments:

Always got a lot of sound as now it is only 20,000km do not know where the sound comes from.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2003

2002 Proton Waja MT 1.6 gas from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 gas Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance8720 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A wrong buy

Faults:

The gear box was dismantled 3 times for backlash noise & the differential gear was replaced.

Gear box has oil leak.

Drive shaft oil seal has oil leak.

Front cross-member unit rubbed at car body creating vibration noise when releasing cluth.

Right & left drive shaft was replaced due to knocking noise.

Engine mounting was replaced due to vibration noise.

Brake light was not functioning when the car was delivered.

Power window main switch has electrical contact problem & failed.

Rear seat cushion reinforced spring protruded out from the seat cushion.

Air conditioner insufficient gas pressure when the car was delivered.

The rear boot lock had a missing plate when the car was delivered.

General Comments:

This car has a serious parts quality issue and assembly problem. The after sales service is extremely poor. Do you still want to buy?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

11th Jul 2003, 04:06

Offers a very comfortable ride. Very stable at high speeds. Good engine sound-proofing. Didn't even realize I hit 120km/hr on a 90km/hr highway, engine was so smooth.

I expected the car to be a bit sluggish due to the weight (1,200+ KG) but it gave good pick-up.

Interior design is well thought of, with three cabin lights (one in front and two rear - left and right).

A good family car, value for money.

The rear boot was a bit difficult to close when delivered, but was rectified by the dealer.

2002 Proton Waja GX 1.petrol from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired400 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

A good car for its price

Faults:

The glove box lever broke, but Proton had it replaced immediately.

Left rear door was a bit hard to open and close, but rectified immediately.

It initially consumed more petrol, but after the service center tuned the car, the consumption was good.

General Comments:

This car handles superbly and is very able to take hard corners. The ride is very comfortable. There was talk that the engine was underpowered, but my car seem to have adequate power.

Long distance driving is very comfortable even with four of us from Penang to Kuala Lumpur.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

2002 Proton Waja 1.6 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Low cost, low quality, high maintenance

Faults:

The downshift of gears 3 to 2, 2 to 1st is awful, they stick and you almost have to force the gears.

The petrol gage is bad, it take ages to move from full to half and before you know it the tank reports empty hence you have to refil as soon as the tank reached half.

Reverse sensor does not function correctly, does not work until you are a few inches from any object behind you.

Anything rubber or plastic is in real danger of falling off as soon as you touch them.

General Comments:

This is a cheap car with NO quality control I strongly recommend that nobody buys this model until Proton recognise that the model is sub-standard quality. The sooner Malaysia opens the market to external manufactures and reduces the costs of these the sooner Proton will go out of business (and one less piece of junk on the road)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

13th Jun 2003, 22:43

Totally agreed. I own a Waja, and I will never buy another one again. I don't expect new car to have no issue, but this car just have too many and it doesn't seem to have an end to it. The after sales service is very poor too.

28th Aug 2003, 07:31

I bought this Waja on August. My last option after Honda. But this car is really not worth it. We can get a better deal with an extra 10-15k with the new Toyota/Honda. I really hope Proton will read all of this reviews. No more Proton.

22nd Apr 2006, 01:49

I owned a Proton waja 1.6mt year 2002, the problems are gear shifting from 1st upwards. It seems that something locking when shifting the gear. The other problem is 1st gear has no power or pick up at all, something blocking the fuel pump. And the last one, it jerks when I accelerate the fuel. please advise. thank you.

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews