2005 Proton Waja Reviews

2005 Proton Waja 1.6 Mitsubishi from Malaysia

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Mitsubishi Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance166556 miles
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

A good car. Should improve on the durability of its fittings

Faults:

Power window mechanism failed after 2 years on the driver's side.

Reverse sensor failed after 2 years; had it replaced.

Brake pump started leaking after 130,000km; replaced for a whopping RM380.

Brake disc rotors; all 4 replaced after 80,000, charged 200 per disc by the thieving Proton service center, then after another 60,000km was asked to replace the front 2 disc rotors; this time RM235 per piece.

Replaced radiator after developed overheating problems in 166.000km. Also replaced thermostat, temperature sensor, and both radiator and condenser motors. All in cost was about RM800. Was done with a mechanic near my home; Proton would have charged a bomb, as they seem to have the blessing of the authorities to rip off the Malaysian Public.

General Comments:

Generally this is a very reliable car, other than the problems mentioned above, and is a pleasant and stable car to drive.

It has covered many Km in relation to its age, just touched 5 years about 1 month ago.

Parts cost should be made cheaper, shame on you Proton.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2011

2005 Proton Waja 1.6 from Malaysia

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carPerodua Kancil

Summary:

Perfect

Faults:

No problems whatsoever.

General Comments:

Love the handling. Feels firmly planted on the road, compared to other makes. Interior is nice and spacious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2007

2005 Proton Waja 1.6 MT petrol from Malaysia

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

Waja... could be a malaysian sportcar

General Comments:

The car is great and it can drift and turn at the speed of 70 km/h without skidding and the brakes are great... it can accelerate fast and the rpm and gear response are quick... it's possible to do a j turn with a Waja...

I drove my 2005 Waja at the speed of 170 km/h without any problem... If Proton created a Waja with a turbo, DOHC engine, 16" disc brakes, 17"sport rims 215/45R17, ABS and sport springs it would be a MOST WANTED Proton car in the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2006

8th Oct 2006, 20:55

Wow.that must be powerful car. Need lots of modification. By the way, saw earlier comment when you mentioned drift, does it apply to front wheel drive car like Waja?.

7th Nov 2006, 10:58

Proton Waja can drift??? A front wheel car can drift??? Seriously you must be joking. I think you mean power-slide dude. Waja's a nice car except for the cheap plastic interior and lousy door handles which is common among all Protons.

13th Mar 2007, 09:43

YES...Waja can drift... u just know how to control your speed and handbrake... if honda civic can drift why not waja...

6th Jul 2007, 06:40

Yes, WAJA can drift! just look at Tengku Djan Ley Waja's... it's overwhelming! although he using RB20 engine (nissan) and convert from FF to FR, it's still a WAJA...

2005 Proton Waja 1.6 from Malaysia

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance2200 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz W124

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

Nothing went wrong with the car.

General Comments:

Love the handling. Lotus did a good job in tuning the suspension. Stiffest chassis in its class also did the trick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2006

13th Apr 2006, 01:01

After read few comments from 2005 to 2006 model, I have found out Waja has improved. My 2003 model may not be as good as recent model, but I guess problem rectification has been improved. I heard other proton models was rectified it's problem in less than a year.

Good engine, but need to keep up with the quality.

1st May 2006, 20:23

Proton Waja has improved. The car is reliable. Persistence schedule maintenance will make the car longer last. I have encountered no problem in the engine and transmission. A correct fluid type will protect these parts.

11th Jun 2006, 06:02

My 2005 WAJA has been a very good car for my family and I. It has enough acceleration to merge well with traffic. The seating accommodations are comfortable for all five of us. This is a good looking car. The Goodyear Eagle tires are a good fit for the handling and performance of this car. I've enjoyed the vehicle. It has served me well.

8th Nov 2006, 20:18

Of course there are big differences between Toyota Vios 1.5G and Proton Waja AT 1.6 (with airbag and ABS). In comparison of prices between these two types of car, you will notice that the different is over RM 20 K. That is a lot of money. No wonder Proton Waja used cheap materials for the interior.

14th Nov 2006, 00:31

I bought Waja because of it's specifications and handling suits my needs.

For me, although it is a cheap plastics, as long as it is safe enough to protect driver and passengers is sufficient enough.

I have a friend who upgrade the plastic not by covering it with leather, but spray it. I was surprised it looks upmarket.

20th Jul 2007, 14:47

I'm Fathy Fikry from Alexandria, EGYPT, I got my new Auto-WAJA one month later and I'm really proud of it.

Good price, Excellent Technologically advanced & smooth handling, please do not believe any lies about WAJA unless you test it.

You can compare its tech. with many famous cars, but you cannot compare its good price, well it was the best price for me.

Regards...

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews