2002 Proton Wira Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2002 Proton Wira 1.5GLi 1.5 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance41000 kilometres

Summary:

CRAP!

Faults:

Back seat not properly assembled when first got it.

Car interior start rattling (noise) within first month of normal road use.

Air conditioner failed within first 2 months.

All four power windows failed within first 2 years even at very low usage rate.

Reverse sensor failed within first 2 years.

General Comments:

Engine noise too loud.

Poor acceleration.

Soft and noisy back absorber.

Hard and noisy gear change.

Very poor workmanship.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2005

11th Jan 2006, 20:02

I have to agree, I had a Wira (renamed weary because it was so awful to drive).

Absolutely the worst car I can imagine owning and how they can ask 40,000 RM for these cars is beyond me, I would say maybe this car should sell for about 4,000rm. Dangerously slow, noisy, wobbly, very poor driving position, far too low for Malaysian roads, awful interior. This car failed on me so many times in the end I just wanted to kill it or blow it up. It became something to hate. The gearbox failed, the air con failed etc etc, eventually the engine failed in a spectacular cloud of steam and oil smoke. excellent, the Wira is dead!!

2002 Proton Wira Gli 1.5 from Malaysia

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 940

Summary:

Engine reliable, but other small parts fail easily

Faults:

Brake failure due to fluid leak on 3rd day of driving.

Driver seat split and tore after one year.

Changed all Power window motors.

Changed 2 power window winders.

Faulty meters, including tachometer, fuel and temperature.

Both Headlamps and brake lights have been replaced.

General Comments:

This car is comfortable to drive, and accelerates reasonably well for city driving.

The engine has not given major problems so far.

The interior parts quality is very questionable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th February, 2005

1st Dec 2005, 12:09

Hi.

Why did you switch to a proton wira after having a good car like volvo 940?

9th Dec 2005, 08:16

I dun have a good comment on any proton products. product with a low quality, unreliable, urgly external and internal look : (

1st Jun 2006, 08:42

I totally agreed with your comments and I am facing the same problems too and even worst... real bad quality cars interior and exterior as well.

2002 Proton Wira SALOON 1.5GLi from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5GLi Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1 kilometres
Most recent distance14500 kilometres

Summary:

Car with low quality

Faults:

Strange noise appeared during driving; wear off noise from seat.

Dashboard has vibration during driving.

Rear sunshade create noise.

Vibration or damping of shock absorber is no good, damping is too HARD.

Power window not functioning properly after 9 months.

Bolt or screw loosen!

Service center could not trace the problem which i'd issued! they only receive the money and say thank you or claims that the problem is common!

Bad handling in sharp corner, unbalance!

Horn not function and damage after 9 months! cause me to replace at other service center for RM30!

Front passenger's safety belt being placed wrongly. This cause the belt to twist when the passenger pull the belt. What the heck are PROTON DOING?

This car is not a good car! Low quality, need to improve and lot of modification! Don't ever buy this car unless you has a little budget. The price is expensive also!

General Comments:

Air-cond is OK.

LOW QUALITY!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th September, 2003

22nd May 2004, 11:18

The Gen 2 is supposed to be a Wira replacement model, but ironically it has turned into a Wira replaced model. This is because of the slow production, the higher price.

So the Gen 2 is definitely going into another disaster, as it faces challenge from its own Perodua and Wira. Others will go for the more reliable Waja. At the same time, we don't know how much Mitsubishi contributes to the Gen 2. It is coincidental when Mitsubishi pulled out of Proton, Gen 2 production slowed.

On the other hand, Thailand is becoming the car centre of the east, and ironically, they don't even need a national car.

2002 Proton Wira GLi 1.3 1.3L Manual from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3L Manual Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance58000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Low quality car

Faults:

Seriously under power. Transmission is vibrating & making noise when shifting at 3rd 0r 4th gear position. Remote sensor is a piece of junk, press more than 5 times to activate it.

General Comments:

Even Proton machanics will tell you that Proton shouldn't build this model. It's not for me or everyone else to complain about the performance. Just accept it!

For the transmission problem, Proton machanics will advice you taken for granted. It is build like this!

Lastly, Proton Machanics explained that you left your car at frequency interference area, that's why you're having problem with the remote sensor!

My only commment is, hopefully at 2005 Malaysia open market year, they really build a good quality car...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th June, 2003

12th Jun 2003, 22:22

I agree all he said. Indeed, Proton should build a good servicing team first. Their own staffs shouldn't just pointing finger at their own company, & do nothing to improve it. All this should be noticed by the top management of Proton, consumers are shifting away from you!

10th Jan 2004, 00:42

Agree with the comments above. I purchasde a new Proton Wira in Jan 2001. the moment I took the car, I noticed that my reverse sensors and lights were not workings. Following to that after two month, my horns were not working all of a sudden, it was replaced with warranty, but failed again after the warranty period. After a year the water pump was leaking and I have only done 25,000 KM. When I asked the Proton guys, they smile at me and say that it all depends on your luck. After 2 years the mechanic told me that my clutch had worn out advised me to use Mishubishi Parts. These is the end Product quality that a person gets at the end of the day. If I ever to buy another car... it would not be a PROTON.

Average review marks: 4.7 / 10, based on 6 reviews