Qvale Mangusta Reviews

2000 Qvale Mangusta from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles

Summary:

A truly unique machine and experience

Faults:

Problem: Stock radio was working intermittently. Solution: New sound system installed.

Problem: Hood shocks were weak. Solution: New units purchased at PepBoys for $20 each.

General Comments:

A well built car, that is very misunderstood by the general public (those who actually know about the car). At current used prices, a phenomenal value.

If someone on the West Coast wants to have an owners meeting, I propose gathering at the annual "Best of France & Italy" car show held in Van Nuys, California. I went last year, but unfortunately I was the only Qvale there. This year it will be held Sunday, November 2, 2008 - 9am to 4pm. It's a very relaxed setting, on the grass in Woodley Park. For more info on the show see: http://www.franceanditaly.com/

If there is any interest in a nice drive after the show, I could arrange that also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2008

23rd Jul 2008, 18:53

I have just heard about this car, and became very interested in purchasing one, I live in Estero fl, which is on the west coast and close to Naples, and the car seems like a car I could drive every day. Any suggestions where I can find a good value example? I see them from in the 20's and 30's. I'm looking to pay in the low 20's for a manual.

Chuck

239 989 1101

Chuck@YourNeighborsRealtor.com

2001 Qvale Mangusta 320HP from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 320HP Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

A dream to drive!

Faults:

Roto top motors failed at around 55000 miles.

Door lights failed within a few months of purchase.

Seals around the convertible roto top were in poor condition when purchased so we had them completely replaced.

The battery failed at around 60000 miles. Replaced battery, but are now having some trouble with the alternator.

Several plastic vents for the air conditioner broke. Easily replaced and not pricey.

General Comments:

This car is really fast and you feel it when you step on the accelerator. We've hit close to 90mph in second gear!

Car seats and interior are tight. "Back seats" are really for show. We did manage to cram our teenagers into them, but with a lot of complaints about no leg space, etc.

The paint job is superb!

Tire rims are hard to find. Have stockpiled some because we had one rim get hit and found out that no one has anything like it on the general market. They are truly custom-made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th June, 2007

8th Dec 2007, 15:12

ROTO TOP MOTORS>>>ATTENTION ALL OWNERS!

The roto top motors are housed in a plastic well which will fill with water causing ultimate failure of the electric motors.

A small drain hole drilled at the bottom of the plastic wells will solve this problem easily.

2001 Qvale Mangusta Qvale 320 HP V8 Ford Cobra from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 320 HP V8 Ford Cobra Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17500 miles
Most recent distance42789 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

I'll never own anything like it again

Faults:

Roto top rattled, but the company fixed it.

Dash leather upholstry separated, but the company replaced it.

Some paint issues, but company repaired paint.

Roto top currently needs service, as it will not operate.

Battery lasted 4 years.

General Comments:

I never realized that people react to the car you drive so strongly. This car is a head turner. People follow you into parking lots to ask about it. It is beautiful in its lines and a thrill to drive. Corners seem like straight lines for this car. It is rare and I can't believe I was fortunate to get one. The previous owner's loss was my gain. My students think even I am cool because of it. I've had two longer trips in it and it is very reliable. Just watch for cops.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2005

2001 Qvale Mangusta 4.6L 32 valve from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6L 32 valve Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carLexus SC430

Summary:

If you don't own one, chances are you'll never see one!

Faults:

Tiny hole in a plastic valve cover within 300 miles. The check engine light went on and I thought to myself, "oh no, here we go!" The counter was that I was about to put to the test, what the dealer had stated as fact, that I could bring it to any Ford dealer and they could plug it into their OBD2 computer and figure it out. I did, and after a few minutes of hesitation to do it, they did and within 90 seconds the service guy was under the hood and replacing the 5 cent piece and didn't even charge me (or Qvale). It was that simple and off I rode.

Just like others wrote, there are some minor issues with leakage around the seal where the window meets the 'A' pillar. There is a free recall on this scheduled for June, 2005 which will fix this problem.

General Comments:

WOW! Designed by Lamborghini's Gandini & hand built in Modena, Italy, a concept fostered by Mr. Qvale & Mr. De Tomaso (70's Pantera Fame), hard top - targa top - full cabriolet all in the same car with 2+2 seating, with a Ford Cobra engine and an American reliability (over Italian) & serviceability in any Ford dealership with a bumper-to-bumper, unlimited mileage 1-yr warranty (3 more years purchasable for $1000), all in a package that had only 289 ever built, looks like $150K car, known to have $100K of parts and sells for much less... This is IT!

Leather everywhere inside & on the outside, this car is seriously fast and handles like it's on rails.

If you want to be anonymous, do not by this car! Owners from Lexus to Lambos, Fords to Ferraris, Mercs to Mazdas will all want to know what it is!

And the dealership will stand behind this car with ANYTHING you need!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2005

5th Apr 2005, 21:41

I would just like to say that if you didn't notice, the car uses plenty of 1999-2004 Ford Mustang parts, which goes to say it doesn't have the $100,000 worth of parts you say they are, but instead the same parts from a $17,000 car. Oh, and by the way, my new 2005 Mustang GT automatic can make it it's daddy in the 1/4 mile and 0-60 times (Qvale-6.0 sec Mustang GT auto-5.1 sec), all at about 1/3 the price, depending on what you paid of course. None the less, glad to see you are happy with your purchase, that's all that matters.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews