2002 Qvale Mangusta 4.6 from North America

Summary:

Looks great, runs great, great support from the dealer, just needs another 100 ponies under the hood

Faults:

From what I understand just the normal, mostly weatherstripping, and having a hard time getting a replacement.

Squeaky breaks.

Bottoming out under moderate driving conditions.

General Comments:

The car overall is a great car, and the dealer in San Francisco has been the best thing to happen to the automotive world in a long, long time. The people at the dealer have bent over back wards to help me out, and even though I could not afford to buy one of there $100,000 plus lambo's, they treat me like I did.

The car is very good from the start, And on smooth flat roads it will out handle most everything else. But when you toss in a elevation change or a slight dip, you'll see sparks coming out the back in your mirror.

(I wounder what they did on there race car a few years back to avoid grinding a hole in the oil pan)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2004

2nd Mar 2005, 20:33

Is there a solution for the "bottoming out" issue. What is a 2001 with 5,000 miles worth?

3rd Oct 2006, 16:40

Actually these cars routinely go for around $40,000 USD, plus or minus $5000. Most of the ones I have seen listed are automatics, making the manual a little rarer, but it doesn't seem to affect the price.

2001 Qvale Mangusta gas 4.6L SVT Cobra V8 from North America

Summary:

Truly a high performance bargain

Faults:

There has been several seals that have ripped: Front top windshield, rear roto-top seal, trunk seal. There is some leaking around the front seals. I have experienced a clunking noise in rear end that was fixed by tightening all the bolts in the rear-end. Squeaky brakes fixed by beveling brake pads in front. The car is very stiff and bottoms out easily when encountering pot holes. Front Hood rubs on sides of 1/4 panels, and can be adjusted.

General Comments:

The car is truly unique and makes owners of other exotics very envious because of the exclusivity. Mine is Santorini Blue with Tobacco interior, stunning. The leather is beautiful, but is wearing at driver seat on side from rubbing on it as I enter the car. The car is relatively fast, but has a very tall third gear. Frame: Vacari & Bosi, Brakes: Brembo, Shocks: Bilstein (adjustable). Just a neat conversation piece and car. I get stalked regularly by other motorists asking what the car is and where it is made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th October, 2003

2001 Qvale Mangusta 4.6 DOHC 320 hp from North America

Summary:

A masterpiece

Faults:

Ripped seals when installing top, the Air cleaner very difficult to replace.

General Comments:

Ripped seals when installing top, Air cleaner very difficult to replace.

The seats are the best fitting then any other car I have had.

The car handles better than any other car out there.

I have installed a supercharger and now it's faster and quicker then any car out there.

I installed OZ rims and larger tires and it did wonders to the handling of this car.

I personally think this car is the best car made ever; I have people who tell me this everyday.

I am making a lot of improvements and when done will have one the best cars in the world.

Parts are not hard to get for the car; I have it serviced regularly at a Lincoln Mercury dealer because the Ford dealer will not touch it.

Only a true driver can enjoy the car, I will never sell the two I own.

Look! I know I am biased on this, but really the problems with the car are easily fixed, I have never had a perfect car from the factory, you always have to redo something to make it right.

With only 290 or so cars ever built, I have an instant classic even with the fact that cars are getting better from the factory every year; never will you have one built like this.

If you owned one you would know what I am talking about, even the ones that have sold theirs will say one thing, the car drives wonderfully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2003

5th Jul 2003, 09:25

Yeah man, finally another Mangusta driver! Good choice and good luck with her!

10th Aug 2003, 22:07

I have owned my Mangusta for one year now. no major mechanical problems, just minor issues with seals around the windows and top. who performed your supercharger installation and what does that cost? I'm in the San Francisco Bay Area. I love the car, no regrets.

20th Jul 2004, 07:30

To Steve, or anyone that can help

I am the happy owner of #69 and living in the bay area. I am looking for help on which superchargers will fit in the motor compartment, I would prefer a roots type, but cannot get an answer from any dealers if it will fit. Also has anyone had luck finding weatherstripping for the windshield?

Please contact me at m.j.email@att.net

Thank's

Matt J.

9th Mar 2005, 19:37

Steven.

I just bought a 2001 Mangusta. Can you tell me who did your supercharge kit, the cost and how high did it bring the HP?

Tim Cummings

httjc@huber.com.

18th Jul 2006, 16:31

I have owned a mangusta since 2002 in the bay area of california. I am curious if anyone has any knowledge of any shops that have experience with installing superchargers for this car in the state of california. thanks, Nev.

8th Oct 2006, 11:18

Hi

There is a company out of Los Angeles CA that installs superchargers on the Qvale. Extreme automotive and the owners name is Sean (818) 883 8184. If anyone knows of any other shops that install superchargers, please post!