Renault 16 Reviews

1969 Renault 16 TS petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1969
Year of manufacture1969
First year of ownership1977
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carRenault 16

Summary:

Great car, wish there were more about

Faults:

Head gasket blew at about 100,000 miles.

Problems with electrical wiring, possibly previous owner?

General Comments:

This was my first car I bought after 5 previous owners.

After motorcycles, it felt like driving a tank.

The Renault 16 was a 'poor man's Rolls Royce.

Comfort was out of this world, beat all other cars.

My TS was very reliable, clocking up about 80,000 miles.

I've had seven 16's in all over the years, last 1994, TX.

She's been 'off road' for 27 odd years.

Now undergoing full, detailed re-build, 3 years so far.

Welding 90% done, still lots to do, 2011 finish maybe?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th December, 2010

1966 Renault 16 GLS 1.5 from Netherlands

Model year1966
Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 kilometres
Most recent distance178989 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Charming french comfort

Faults:

Very little.

Starting engine went down, some cooling problems.

General Comments:

True French comfort. Especially with the TX 5-gear box I've built in it. My children prefer the R16 very much above the Volvo 740 or the Mercedes W123 230 TE.

The R16 brings a smile on the face.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2008

1970 Renault 16 TL 1.6 petrol from Croatia

Model year1970
Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership1970
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 4

Summary:

Comfortable. Very comfortable

Faults:

There was a constant leak somewhere in the coolant system... found that it was an O-ring in the heating valve.

Handbrake wire stuck. Installed another one (used) and the problem came back after few months.

Rear brakes leak.

General Comments:

Most comfortable car I ever drove.

Nice engine sound.

Constant problems with handbrake lever.

The car still sits in my grandma's garage (she is the first owner) and is in original (driving) condition. Rust showed at front left wing (upper front corner). All chrome parts are still shining. It will be a nice oldtimer... :-) ) )

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2005

1972 Renault 16 ts petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1975
Most recent year of ownership1977
Engine and transmission petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Previous carHolden HJ

Summary:

The best car I've ever owned

Faults:

Not a lot really, replaced front tyres. rear ones will go on forever.

General Comments:

The 16 is has to be one of the most comfy cars on the road.

I did the trip Melbourne to Perth twice and it was brilliant.

I got around 30mpg overall which is not bad for an auto car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2004

22nd Dec 2004, 14:22

So in 27 years nothing you've owned since measures up to the Renault 16TS?

That doesn't say much for the cars you had since then.

I owned a US-market '71 R16 for a while back in the early '80's and while it was in the vanguard of fwd cars in the US, it was hardly a stellar example of construction quality. It did have a lot of features that were unusual for the time. It was hard to find anyone who wanted to work on it, and even back then, parts were hard to find, too. I think the few actually sold here have long since vanished from the roads.

1971 Renault 16 TX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1971
Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carMorris Minor

Summary:

Comfortable, spacious, reliable: a really good car

Faults:

The engine cut out several times, but my local garage fixed it for a pittance and gave excellent service.

The brake cable snapped after 107,000 miles and was replaced by my local dealer, again at a low price and with excellent service.

Body parts started to show their age after more than 20 years, especially the bumpers.

General Comments:

In 1990 paid £75 for a 19-year-old Renault 19TX 1.6 litre petrol. It was an extremely spacious and comfortable car. Very good to drive too.

A few body parts started to show their age, but even after 25 years the car ran as smooth as silk.

Finally sold it to a neighbour for £25.

They did a few D.I.Y modifications on it and then sold it on to a workmate for £40.

The Renault 16 lasted 30 years, covering 156,000 miles, before it was finally written off by joyriders in the summer of 2001. The owner's insurers paid them £20 for it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2004

1977 Renault 16 TL 1.6 (type821) from Finland

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 (type821) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres

Summary:

Safe and nice old car

Faults:

Just normal service nothing broke up.

General Comments:

This car is safe. I Have been in 3 car-accident with it and I haven`t had any injuries.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2003

1975 Renault 16 TL 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired161000 kilometres
Most recent distance202500 kilometres

Summary:

Grandfather for all modern hatchback front wheel drives

Faults:

One CV joint failed.

Head gasket blew at 189,000 kilometres.

Two front tyres used in whole time I have had the car.

New brake pads at 189,000.

General Comments:

Possibly the most comfortable car I have ever driven / been driven in.

Always gets strange looks from people who do not understand what it is - but admiration from those who know and have been in it. Fantastic. Also very versatile, being a large hatchback.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2001

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 10 reviews