1995 Renault 19 Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1995 Renault 19 RL 1.4e from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4e Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Unusual choice, but better than anything else for the money

Faults:

Front o/s wheel bearing gone at 70000.

Front o/s spring snapped new shock and spring required.

Small rust patch on drivers door.

General Comments:

For a 1.4 engine it is quite quick, acceleration from still isn't brilliant, but once it gets past 40mph, it can beat my mates 1.4 Golf easily.

Handling is nice and predictable, even when it starts to slide you know where it's going.

Some people have said it looks like a shed, but I think it looks good in a subtle kind of way.

Everyone that's been in it however, says they're the most comfortable seats they've ever sat in, especially now I've put the leather seats out of a 16v in it.

If you use Renault dealers, then the service costs can be astronomical, but if you look around, most parts can be found cheaply at scrap yards or on eBay even.

Once my insurance premium drops a bit, I definitely want to get the 16v version.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2006

1995 Renault 19 RNi 1.4 Energy from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Energy Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Summary:

Wish Renault still made these cars - would love to buy another one new

Faults:

My catalytic converter failed at 55,000 miles.

General Comments:

A very comfortable and smooth ride.

It handles very well and is very quick for a 1400cc engine.

Very economical.

A great car to drive, even at ten years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2005

1995 Renault 19 RN Biarritz 1.4 from Finland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired158000 kilometres
Most recent distance178000 kilometres

Summary:

Comfy and practical

Faults:

Rear brake cylinder leak.

Exhaust pipe renewed.

Steering system components replaced.

Minor rust problems.

General Comments:

Good fuel economy and cheap to repair

Handles well on bad roads

Comfortable seats and plenty of space in the back, also the luggage compartment is very big, still the car lacks central locking, power windows, etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2005

20th Jun 2005, 05:49

I have just bought my first Renault and it is a Renault 19.

This is my holiday car in Cyprus and although it is 10 years old it is in absolutely prim condition.

The only parts that I have had to replace are the speaker grills which with the intense heat became brittle and crumbled. These cost me £35.00cyp. Apart from this the car is superb.

1995 Renault 19 RL 1.4e from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4e Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

What a well kept secret

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car. Amazing considering it's age.

General Comments:

I bought the car as a stop gap whilst pondering my next purchase and have ended up really enjoying the vehicle.

It's fuel economy is quite staggering-I regularly exceed 50mpg.

The car is very comfortable and has got loads of space inside for family, fishing gear and dogs.

The interior is very plain, but everything works and nothing has dropped off yet.

It handles well and can easily keep up with modern traffic.

An excellent runaround/first time buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2004

1995 Renault 19 RTi 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A good first car

Faults:

Heated Rear Windscreen wiring, Creaky Drivers door, small patches of rust on bodywork.

General Comments:

A good performer for a 'family' car, a bit heavy on petrol for a 1.4 tho.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2004

1995 Renault 19 RL 1.4 from Hungary

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance138400 kilometres
Previous carTrabant 601

Summary:

One of the best and most beautiful cars in the world

Faults:

The battery is still the original one, sometimes only starts the second time.

I had to replace the water pump, which was already replaced with 3000 km in 1995.

General Comments:

I could make these 75 horses go 190 kph in the autobahn. I love it, cause it is really comfortable, even though there are nearly no extras in it.

Big seats. Although it's a coupe it is comfortable even in the back seats.

Doesn't drink a lot, 8.5 l in the city, 5.7 l in the autobahn around 130.

When a motor biker crashed it in the city with around 60-80 kph from the right side, I did not harm at all. I had no one sitting on the right seat, but he could have only harmed only because the tough biker broke the glass. No ABS, no airbag, nothing, but it is still safe. And these things I'm not saying because of my previous car, I tried many others, too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2003

1995 Renault 19 RT 1.4 Energy petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Energy petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

Nice to drive, comfortable and reliable

Faults:

Speedometer broke when a few months old, fixed under warranty.

At 60k miles a metal coolant pipe leaked due to internal corrosion and was replaced.

New Catalytic Converter needed after 75k.

Water pump started to weep at 85k and was replaced.

Wheel bearings - rear N/S at 90k and front N/S at 115k.

Rocker cover gasket was replaced.

Windscreen washer pump failed. Very expensive for such a small simple part. I bought a new one from Renault which was a mistake - should have looked in a scrap-yard for one.

Front anti-roll bar bushes have been replaced several times.

General Comments:

Great car. Very practical. Space inside quite good, big boot. Extremely comfortable with great seats and supple ride.

Fun to drive with good steering and handling. Performance is very good for a 1.4 8 valve.

Car is noticeably quicker than modern Ford Focus 1.4, Golf 1.4 and Peugeot 307 1.4.

Very economical.

Generally reliable and long lasting. Car is very well equipped with electrical gadgets, all of which have been totally reliable.

Uses no oil after 125,000 miles and is still on its original battery and clutch.

Cooling systems seem to be a weakness. Metal pipes, radiators, and heater matrices can leak due to internal corrosion. Coolant needs to be changed every 2 years so that corrosion inhibitors remain effective.

High quality "iceberg silver" paintwork on my car, still looks new after 8 years.

Car has a lot of character, is an enjoyable drive and in my opinion it looks good with neat styling.

Car is OK for DIY servicing and maintenance. Some parts can be very expensive from Renault dealers.

Overall I've really enjoyed my Renault 19 and don't plan on selling it anytime soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2003

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 22 reviews