1995 Renault 19 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1995 Renault 19 16V Executive 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova SR

Summary:

Excellent performance per pound

Faults:

Radiator blocked and caused the head gasket to blow. £750 repair bill!!

Basic components - battery, discs, tyres.

Front end very prone to stone chips.

General Comments:

Great car. Reasonable costs to run considering the great performance, although you do have to push them to get the best out of them. It's easily as quick as an RS, but looks much better.

I've only had one major problem, apart from that it's been really reliable. Mine has got ABS and leather seats on top of the basic spec, and the seats are the most comfortable I've ever sat in. They give great support.

I would definitely recommend one to someone who wants a cheap fast car. Mind you it's not as quick as its replacement... the 306 GTi-6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

25th Apr 2005, 05:08

The 306 GTI-6 is a Peugeot you wally! The 19's replacement is the Megane.

17th Aug 2005, 08:28

I love my renault 19 executive. its fast and very comfortable (leather interior is soft like silk).

...but its costing me a bomb to run (especially when I drive at relative speed), and in the rain, I was sliding all over the place. still, its retro fun, I love my beast.

1995 Renault 19 16S 1.8 16V from Venezuela

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 16V Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21 kilometres
Most recent distance94000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 19 TXE

Summary:

A cheap sporty hatch

Faults:

Only a few minor details.

It has new brake discs.

The dealer changed the camshaft rubber belt 2 months ago.

The clutch cable almost snapped once.

The fan valve in the radiator failed at 88k kms.

It has two new exhaust silencers.

When new it needed a respray on the rear bumper, the black paint peels off easily.

General Comments:

Great car, very powerful above 2500 rpms.

The back seat is almost useless.

If you treat it well, it is a very reliable car. It's my second R19 and my fourth Renault in a row, they have bad reputation here, I think people doesn't know how to maintain a European car.

It can easily outrun any Celica or Eclipse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2000

1995 Renault 19 16V (16S) 1.8 16v from Argentina

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 kilometres
Most recent distance74000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 25 TXi

Summary:

Renault fever forever....

Faults:

* The clutch cable snapped once.

* The radiator fan switch failed but it's the same for most Renaults.

* Bulbs behind the LCD display.

* Left fog lamp replaced under warranty because it had water inside.

General Comments:

Great car, the engine is near perfect, it needs to be pushed to 3700 rpms to unleash the power but it can easily run over most "performance cars" like Cavalier Z24s and Tiburons.

The gearbox is a little notchy when cold but an oil change solved this.

Petrol consumption is around 10 l/100kms.

Rear seat access is not so great as the trunk space, maybe because my last car was a R25.....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2000

1995 Renault 19 RT turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6750 miles
Most recent distance58662 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Wish I could buy another 19 RT turbo diesel

Faults:

Not any major faults but a few minor ones, such as the battery blew out the alternator.

Boot lock broke.

Mobiliser lock unscrews often in the glove compartment.

General Comments:

Very economical, loves motorways and open roads to drive on.

The most comfortable car I have ever driven apart from a SAAB.

Very reliable especially in wet weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2000

1995 Renault 19 RT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carRenault 11 TXE

Summary:

Extremely poor build quality

Faults:

Brakes at 12,000, not due to braking hard.

Renualt garage people create problems like the exhaust which was meant to have gone at 14,000 miles and we still have after 3 years. High service costs with lot of unnecessary parts being changed.

General Comments:

Lacks acceleration.

Very poor round corners.

Very noisy even at 70mph.

Uncomfortable.

No build quality.

But economical and only good for shopping and DIY shops due to the big boot and rear space when the seats are folded down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th July, 2000

8th Mar 2001, 08:27

I can't understand your review. I own a 19 1.4 Rti and I have had no complaints from it whatsoever. In my opinion your comments on the lack of handling are totally unfounded. I can keep up with most larger cc engined cars around the lanes quite easily. The only difference between my car and a stock model is the tyres. I fitted Pirelli 3000's all round and they are great in all weathers. I suggest you experiment more with your cars throttle and steering wheel to find it's full capability!!!

17th Jan 2002, 03:10

I agree with the first review. I had the same model and it did lack handling and had no power whatsoever. The person that wrote the comment saying it was powerful must not have driven any other cars. I have a Citroen ZX now, despite being one year older than my old M reg Renault, it is much more powerful with a 1.4i engine and reaches 60 in 11 seconds. Rather than half an hour like my old Renault.

5th May 2004, 13:01

I drive A 19 1.8 RTi and I have had a few problems. Handling problems are the result of 13" alloys on an average family size car, I upgraded to 16" at a price and now it handles very well. As lack of power goes, it is missing bottom end performance, change your spark plugs and HT leads to split fire and it will go very well indeed. As for comfort, my 1992 K plate car is the most comfortable car I have ever driven for £900, I can go for three hours with out stopping and feel nothing, a very good car apart from a drain on the battery which is caused by the boot interior light, disconnect the relay and all problems solved.

6th Oct 2008, 15:00

Citroen ZX; what an ugly car that was. You're better off with a horse and cart.

Give me a R19 any day.

2nd Nov 2009, 12:00

Yes it is, you just said it gets to 60, 1 second faster than the ZX, and by the way, I've never driven either of them, just going by the figures you have published.

7th Dec 2009, 20:26

NO, I said the ZX is 1 sec faster, but in the real world that's nothing and they top out at 108 mph.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 22 reviews