1992 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1992 Renault Clio RT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carToyota Corrolla

Summary:

A good car for its size and year, but back luck has given me a mixed view towards Renault

Faults:

The computer had gone, new coil pack, starter motor and the Head Gasket has blown; all of this within 2 months of having brought the car private. The total repair costs came to a huge approximate figure of £1500.

General Comments:

It is a good car, compared to other cars in the same year, size and shape it comes well equipped and handles superbly well for a small car. The engine is very nippy too, though having the car full of 4-5 passengers does show on the petrol needle and performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st December, 2002

1992 Renault Clio Baccara 1.4 from Greece

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres

Summary:

Luxurious and Very Comfortable

Faults:

I am owner of this car for a year and nothing really gone wrong. Probably the ex-owner make good work with services.

General Comments:

In this car I love to drive, especially in a road full of turns. The brakes are marvelous.

The specific model has full of extra equipment, such as leather, automatic gear, air condition, wood in tableau and rim (disk wheel) from aluminium. A little Rolls Roys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

1992 Renault Clio 16V 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Ageing legend!

Faults:

Dodgy electrics including dial lights, interior lights and heater.

Drivers side seat a little worn.

General Comments:

Quick, but not as fast as I was expecting! More like 8.5 to sixty than 7.7 as broadcast. Handles great and with new pads the brakes are superb!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st July, 2001

16th Dec 2001, 08:49

Don't know whats up with your Clio, but mine feels faster than 7.7, and keeps up with a GT Turbo once it reaches 30mph.

1st May 2005, 08:38

I agree, I bought my Clio about two years ago and it goes like stink!! The engines been slighty moded but it keeps up with my mates TR8 (Triumph TR7 with a V8 and twin hollies) and new Clio 2.0 16v.

Have had a few minor problems with it, idle speed controller going and a new steering rack (Very Expensive!!) but apart from that no complaints.

1992 Renault Clio 16v 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Best all round hot hatch - by far!

Faults:

Oil temperature gauge has stopped working.

Rear wiper only works sometimes.

General Comments:

140bhp, 130mph, 0-60 in 7.7secs and only insurance group 12. My kind of car.

It drives like a much bigger car, as it is very comfortable.

I love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2001

1992 Renault Clio 16v 1.8 injection (F7P) from Sweden

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 injection (F7P) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired111700 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 242olvo Volvo 242

Summary:

A seriously fun car

Faults:

Badly aligned gear shift.

2x oil gauges malfunctioning.

Water leak from the roof aerial.

Worn hydraulic brake cable.

Fire/heat-proof protection loose.

General Comments:

At 138 bhp and 7.8 seconds this car is a real Q car!

The builtup seats are the best I've sat in... real good support!

A good clean body shape with no extra fairings and stuff to ruin the clean lines!

Great performance both in town and on the motorway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2001

1992 Renault Clio RT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Showing it's age now

Faults:

Suspension was awful on purchase but replaced.

More rust than I expected there to be.

Renault radio/tape runs slow, speakers vibrate.

General Comments:

Without PAS they are very difficult to manouver at parking speeds and a pain round tight corners and roundabouts.

It is noisy at speed and rattly on bumpy roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2000

1992 Renault Clio RT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.4
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

I bought this car second hand and got it when I was 17. For the first couple of months it was fine, then the gearbox just completely went on me. I had to therefore replace the gearbox which cost me a lot of money. Poor drive in the mornings when cold. Brakes are also shockingly bad on this car, you will need to keep a close eye on them!

General Comments:

Nice car for the first few thousand miles but my advice is if the car has done more than 50,000 stay well clear!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2000

14th May 2001, 08:39

I also bought a Clio CRT as my first car at age 18, granted the car had 77k miles but after only a couple of months the heater went. Then another month or two latter the radiator started leaking.

The most expensive repair to date was replacing the automatic gear box which cost a third the price of the car. So I definitely agree that an older one is going to be too much hassle, however when it is working fine then it is fun to drive and very smooth so make sure if you buy one it is in good condition.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 33 reviews