1994 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1994 Renault Clio Williams 2 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Much better than a 1.8 16 valve Clio any day!!!

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

This car is quite fast. Very easy to drive at both low speeds and at high speeds. The car is very comfortable, and the seats are purpose built to stop you getting thrown around, when you start driving fast.

I lowered my car 50mm at the front, so the tyre is just inside the front wing, then lowered the rear torsion bar to just above the rim of my alloy. I changed my alloys to 16" gold alloys to keep the Williams look.

The car now handles a lot better than standard, the rear end twitch's out now and then, but it all adds to the excitement of the drive.

Reliable car just now, unlike my Peugeot 205 1.9 GTI which was so unreliable. But I have been warned that this car me end up being costly in the long run. Fingers crossed it's just rumors!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th June, 2001

1994 Renault Clio 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

No.1 for reliability

Faults:

Leaking sun roof which hasn't been fixed properly by the dealer.

Rattling noise at the back of the car.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable car suitable for people of all ages. There have been very few problems with the car since I had it 3 years ago, I've only had to spend around £600 total on repairs.

It's a very good runner on long journeys and on the motorway, it'll do a good constant speed with no problems. The 1.2L engine responds well with decent acceleration, it'll get to 60mph in about 12 secs, it drives nicely but the gear stick is too bulky for me.

The seats are quite comfortable but they are quite low down in the car and make you feel small.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2001

1994 Renault Clio Williams Clio 1 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carRenault 5 GT turbo

Summary:

Excellent piece of kit... :O)

Faults:

Bad earth in the ECU, new ECU cost £312 @ 86000 miles :o (

General Comments:

The car handles a lot better than the R5 turbo, it has a very high 'looks' factor, as there aren't many about.

No bad points, apart from it could have done with a turbo.

Insurance is a bit high, in comparison to other cars in the same group.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2001

1994 Renault Clio Williams 2 2.0 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50800 miles
Most recent distance62763 miles
Previous carBMW M3

Summary:

Brilliant enough to be a grown-ups Mini Cooper S!

Faults:

The factory fit Cobra alarm failed leaving the car immobilised.

The original exhaust is now ready to be replaced. (lasted 62763 miles so far!)

The oil temperature gauge sensor has failed (after engine steam cleaned @ 50800 miles).

General Comments:

Handling is brilliantly balanced and communicative. You can feel where each wheel is on the road. Fantastic!

Noisy at motorway speeds due to reduced sound deadening.

Insurance Group 17? Ouch!

Longest I have ever owned any car.

Peugeot 205 GTi beaten at last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2001

1994 Renault Clio 16v 1.8i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8i petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Swift GTi

Summary:

Good when it's going!

Faults:

This car has been a nightmare. The exhaust was blowing, the ECU packed up, a head gasket blew, the head warped, the driveshaft boot leaked, the clutch slipped, and the gearbox seized up.

I've also had 4 new engine mounts, 4 wheel bearings, and a new alternator. This car has cost me thousands.

General Comments:

The car handles very well and completely out performs 205's, GTE's, SRi's etc. The car goes very well now and looks awesome - mines got 17s, seriously low, chipped, filtered and exhaust, but it can't handle being abused and will drop to bits.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2001

29th Aug 2001, 09:30

Chipped, air filter and exhaust, slammed, and he woundering why he's had so many problems??..

I think this review speaks for itself.

1994 Renault Clio 16v 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A flawed but fun pocket-rocket

Faults:

Throttle potentiometer needed replacing. Main Renault dealer charged me 65 pounds just to find this out, and wanted another 120 to replace it! So I won't be going back there...

Electric windows are a bit temperemental, but a quick clean of the switches sorted that out.

Oil pressure warning light started coming on, but seemed to fix itself.

General Comments:

Despite having a fair few problems with the car, I don't regret buying it. If you're looking for build-quality and reliability then look elsewhere, but for me the way the car drives more than makes up for it.

Not many cars will keep up off the mark, and I love the way the engine surges from about 4500 revs. Handling was good to start with, but after having it lowered, it glues itself to the road, and I would definitely recommend having this done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 34 reviews