1995 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1995 Renault Clio RT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

The best small car ever made!

Faults:

The car felt a little sluggish in the rain one time. It only happened once though.

I had to replace the rear exhaust box.

The rear window wiper would not work in the morning if the car was left out in the rain all night. It always fixed worked after I had driven a few miles though.

General Comments:

This car is great.

It's quick, good on fuel (doesn't use much), is well made, and goes round bends better than any other car I have been in.

I have driven: Vauxhall Nova & Corsa, Audi 100 & A4, Ford Fiesta, Toyota Hi-Lux, Fiat Panda, Hyundai Lantra, Nissan Bluebird, Ford Sierra, Chevy Cavalier and a Ford Escort. So you know I know what I'm talking about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2001

1995 Renault Clio 16v 1.8i 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8i 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

A fun, quick car!

Faults:

The rear brake pad fell off and caused the discs to be scratched.

It has a number of rattles that are quite annoying!

General Comments:

Apart from a few minor things, I love this car!

It is deceptively quick and great fun to drive.

The interior is lovely (I have the leather version), and the seats hold you in place well!

An altogether fun, quick car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2001

1995 Renault Clio Williams 2.0 16v from Argentina

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42323 kilometres
Most recent distance45980 kilometres
Previous carFiat 147

Summary:

Fast, secure and very aggressive looking

Faults:

Electric failure.

Spare parts.

No air conditioning.

Noisy when you are going 215.

General Comments:

This car is really quick and handles very well on turns. When you push your right foot to the floor you go really fast. Very comfortable, the seats and driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2001

21st Jul 2001, 12:37

Hi! I am 14 living in the UK... my cousin has just bought a Williams 1 and it is a VERY quick car... it isn't as tuned as most but it has got a 6000 quid sound system and alarm. It has recently been de-locked and re sprayed, all in all it is a quick and fun car.

1995 Renault Clio Williams 2 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106 GTi

Summary:

This car is a joy to drive

Faults:

Exhaust back-box sometimes rattles at idle.

General Comments:

Good handling, fairly quick and great to drive! Everything is perfect.

Only bad thing about the car is the ridiculously high insurance premiums. Group 17? Get real...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2001

7th Jun 2001, 06:16

I just recently bought a Clio Williams 2, but the torsion bar at the back has been lowered to just above the rim of my alloys, and the front has been lowered 60mm, there is no gap left at the front.

The car handles like a dream, apart from the rear end starts to twitch out when you attack corners and hit the accelorator, great fun. I recommend that you lower the car, it makes a great car even more fun.

1995 Renault Clio Williams 2 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 GTi 1.6

Summary:

Sexy, fun, but costly to run

Faults:

Horn worked intermittently from about 30,000 miles and new unit replaced recently.

Rev counter became faulty around 20,000 miles and springs back into life occasionally when on long journeys. I have noticed it works more often when the outside temperature is high.

General Comments:

This car handles like a total dream around corners and has a safe and solid feel when driving at speed.

Easy to drive in a heavy traffic situation, it doesn't need a lot of clutch work as my previous Peugeot 205 GTi did when moving slowly in traffic (easy and smooth in 1st gear and doesn't mind that at all).

Very comfortable to drive, like putting on a pair of made to measure shoes! Left leg can ache on long drives due to the foot rest. Dash too similar to standard Clios, apart from the gorgeous blue dials.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th March, 2001

1995 Renault Clio RL 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

A brilliant car, worth every penny!

Faults:

Nothing at all, I just get people damaging the car, i.e I have had two recent hit and runs recently, possible because the car looks very nice, because I have modified it!

General Comments:

Very reliable and beautiful car!

Very nippy, I can always step on the pedal and know that I will get full performance!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2001

1995 Renault Clio RT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance53500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo CL

Summary:

A fast, comfortable, reliable, hot hatch!

Faults:

When I first bought the car, I found out that the rear wiper wasn't working, but seen as it had 12 months warranty, it cost me nothing to get it fixed, the garage showed me a receipt from Arriva though, cost them £160, thank god for warranties!!!

General Comments:

Fantastic car, very fast for a 1.4 although it has been modified slightly by the previous owner which means that 0-60 is 10 seconds and I've had it doing 120mph... on a track of course, not on open roads because that'd be breaking the law! ahem...

Anyway, the car's really comfortable, decent stereo but that's getting changed soon, probably keep the 4 speakers as they sound top notch.

Need some alloys.

Drives good and sticks to the road.

Good equipment level with mine having PAS, E/W electric heated wing mirrors, R/C/L, 4 speaker R/C, 1.4i, side impact bars, driver's airbag, rev counter and loads of over little gadgets which are cool!!!!

Overall it's a fantastic car and everyone that's been in it loves it, especially my lady friends, but that's another story :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2001

14th Mar 2001, 13:28

Whatever you do mate, do not put alloys or any of the works on it as it'll just attract thieves. It's happened to me one time too many. Not all that fast either, what did you used to drive? A Robin Reliant???

22nd Jul 2001, 15:17

The RT comes with a 6 speaker stereo that kicks ass!

The 1.4 unit will kick the ass of any 1.4 Corsa SRI.

I must say, I wouldn't put alloys on one before I fit it with a Cat 1 alarm.

11th Sep 2002, 19:58

I've given many a VTR a run for their money and the six speakers are brilliant.

20th Sep 2002, 03:41

Clios are definitely cool cars and I have oz super T alloys on mine. The stereo was naff and I replaced it with a JVC stereo and uprated speakers. fairly fast car though.

3rd Oct 2006, 10:09

Dead true 16v clio's are the only way to go I upgraded from an RT to a '95 1.8 and they are amazing cars. However I could never fault the reliability of the smaller clio's mine went from 60 to 100,000 miles with barely 500 pounds spent on repairs. Considering this cost 800 quid to buy I'd choose it over a 106 anytime.

1995 Renault Clio RSi 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Side fins on sports seats have collapsed, back windscreen wiper motor had to be replaced, front brake hose pipes have cracked, other than that, nothing else.

General Comments:

Nice car to drive, quick and quite fast. Worth spending money on adding a few extra performance parts. Performance exhaust etc...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

1995 Renault Clio Williams 2.0 petrol from Monaco

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Seats very uncomfortable for those of a larger build - early models without aircon very hot - otherwise handles like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 1998

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 39 reviews